I am confused, please help!

Post Reply
Viper
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 4:51 pm

I am confused, please help!

Post by Viper »

Hi,

I am a newbie with Multiwii and I need some help, please. I have experiance with quads, but only with KKboards. I liked a Multiwii so I decided to build one. I have some frames with other board but I want to try Multiwii.
I have the following item:
10DOF ITG3205/ADXL345/HMC5883L/BMP085 board
http://www.geeetech.com/wiki/index.php/10DOF_ITG3200/ADXL345/HMC5883L/BMP085_sensor_breakout
Arduino Uno Board
Sparkfun Logic Level Converter
https://www.sparkfun.com/products/8745

After a lot of reading on this forum, but on others also,I am confused about 3.3 and 5V, pullups, etc.
For the start, I would like somebody to help me to clear the following:
Can I connect the 10DOF board directly to Arduino board through 3.3v? I mean SDA to SDA, SCL to SCL, GND to GND and to take 3.3V from Arduino directly to 10DOF board?
Do I need external pullups? If I need, as I understood, is it enough to connect 10DOF board directly to Arduino and place 2 2k2 resistors between SDA and VCC, and SCL and VCC? Or it is not so simple?
I have Logic Level Converter from Sparkfun, is it better to connect the 10DOF board via LLC, and how to do it?

I tried to connect this 10DOF board to Arduino as I described, directly, and seems like it is working but I am afraid not to burn it (or maybe it is too late) and also have strange reading from MAG. When I rotate the board the arrow on mag in GUI rotates as I am rotating the board, but something like with delay, and after a few seconds the the arrow from the mag gets back to the starting position (something about showing South). I can not figure it out what is the problem.

Can somebody help me with this please?
I can take pictures of how it is connected now, and also to make a video of what is going on with the MAG if it is necessary.

Thanks in advance!

tovrin
Posts: 705
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 4:08 pm

Re: I am confused, please help!

Post by tovrin »

most of the BoB's like this one have built in LLC, i couldnt see where it specifically stated that in the docmentation, but i do notice that the diagram shows it connected directly to arduino without LLC, or any mention of enabling the internal pullups.

my guess is that you dont need the LLC or to enable internal pullups.

if you are still unsure, show us a picture of your connections, and a screenshot of the gui acting up. im sure we can figure it out for you.

also, what code do you have enabled?

Viper
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 4:51 pm

Re: I am confused, please help!

Post by Viper »

Thank your reply Tovrin.
I am using MultiWii 2.1 at the moment, the Quad X configuration, no pullups enabled, and I change the address of ADXL345 sensor manually in the sensors.ino to

Code: Select all

#define ADXL345_ADDRESS 0x53
.

I selected sensors as independent in the config.h (ITG3200, ADXL345,HMC5883 and BMP085). I tried several combo boards but with no much difference in behavior.

Here is the picture of the connection:
Drawing1-Model.jpg


I am using the LLC anyway at the moment, but the situation is the same without it.

Here is the picture of readings in GUI:
8-27-2012 22-04-55.png



I am not sure the compass readings are OK, especially with the yaw reading, yellow. I clicked on the calibration button, but the result is the same. I will make the video tomorrow, but the point is that the readings are going like with a big delay, and maybe there is something with axis orientation, do not know at the moment.

Thank you again.

tovrin
Posts: 705
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 4:08 pm

Re: I am confused, please help!

Post by tovrin »

to calibrate the MAG you need to click the button then 'twirl' your copter in 360 degrees on all 3 axis within :30

Viper
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 4:51 pm

Re: I am confused, please help!

Post by Viper »

Thank you again Tovrin.
I have already done this, the picture I have attached is the gui after calibrating. The yellow one, I think, the yaw, is switching from one value to another and I do not know why.
is it possible that one of the axis on magnetometer does not work correctly? I am trying to test only magnetometer now with some HMC5883L example codes, but I can not make it work. I can not compile
the one from https://www.loveelectronics.co.uk/Tutorials/8/hmc5883l-tutorial-and-arduino-library. Do you know some good and verified code to test the magnetometer only?

tovrin
Posts: 705
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 4:08 pm

Re: I am confused, please help!

Post by tovrin »

i do not, but hopefully someone here can help you. I have the same sensor, but had no problems with mine.

Post Reply