GPS NAV

This forum is dedicated to software development related to MultiWii.
It is not the right place to submit a setup problem.
Software download
Perry
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:09 pm

Re: GPS NAV

Post by Perry »

Hi!
In WinGUI 23pre4 the inversion of the yaw servo seems don't work.
I've tried several times without success.
When I tried I had success with MultiwiiConf2.3.

Thanks for all!

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by EOSBandi »

Perry wrote:Hi!
In WinGUI 23pre4 the inversion of the yaw servo seems don't work.
I've tried several times without success.
When I tried I had success with MultiwiiConf2.3.

Thanks for all!

Yeah, I'm aware of this, a fix is already commited. I'll release a pre5 tonight, it will contain the fix.
Till pre5, you can enter 0 to the rate for disable inversion and 1 to enable, and ignore the checkbox)
(Servo config stuff is simply braindead)

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by EOSBandi »

OK Folks,
Here is the Monday treat. I uploaded second beta to the repo (http://code.google.com/p/mw-wingui/downloads/list)
Changes :
MultiWii_2.3-navi-b2:
Fixed GPS_FILTERING, now it works but only in poshold states (bug pointed out by
Schnupperm)
RTH altitude is set only if we are below it, if we are above the rth alt, then
the current alt is used.
Added new error statuses (NAV_error)
fixed singlecopter type in def.h (apparently nobody uses it :D)
Code cleanup on navi section
Fixed RTH altitude setting when RTH initiated via rcOption
Raise to defined RTH altitude only if we are below it.
Updated gps error handling -
- numSat below 5 - pauses the mission and throws warning to the GUI
- fix lost - aborts mission and throws warning

WinGUI 2.3 pre5 (b2)
Disable Write/Read to file when disconnected (unpopulated aux structure causes
exception)
Fixed issue 47 - Mag and alt/heading sensorgraph did not work
Added gps+vario+altimetet gauges to mission screen (switchable) for larger
screens
Fix tri servo direction. The current unified servo config is a big mess... So
airplanes are not handled correctly yet.
Some code cleanup, removing unused variables
Audible alarm on events when navigation capabilities are compromised

Changes are tested with a many simulated missions, however due bad weather this is not flight tested yet.
From now on, i'll publish an updated version on each Mondays. Once it is stable then I will merge into _shared code around in January.
Please note that a given navi version is compatible with the same version of WinGUI. navi-b2 is compatible with pre5(b2). b3 will be compatible with pre6(b3).

User avatar
howardhb
Posts: 189
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:10 pm
Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Re: GPS NAV

Post by howardhb »

Hello EOSBandi.

Awesome work!
Would it be a lot of effort to have (sometime in the future) the applicable aircraft symbol on the mission / map overlay ?
Specifically, to have the red "heading" line point in the actual "forward" direction of the symbol.

Quad-P-X.jpg
Headingdirection
(9.38 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Attached is a template for easy cut / paste :lol:
Template
Template


H.

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by EOSBandi »

howardhb wrote:Hello EOSBandi.

Awesome work!
Would it be a lot of effort to have (sometime in the future) the applicable aircraft symbol on the mission / map overlay ?
Specifically, to have the red "heading" line point in the actual "forward" direction of the symbol.

Quad-P-X.jpg

Attached is a template for easy cut / paste :lol:
Copter Symbols Small.jpg


H.


Yepp, it was on my list anyway :D If you have some time, the symbol on the map is a 40x40 pixel transparent png ;)

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by EOSBandi »

Meanwhile on the field :
Testing changes of the navigation algorithm (already checked in (r18) )
Testing changes of the navigation algorithm (already checked in (r18) )

Drawing a giant rabbit :D Next time it will be xmas tree :D
Drawing a giant rabbit :D Next time it will be xmas tree :D

User avatar
howardhb
Posts: 189
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:10 pm
Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Re: GPS NAV

Post by howardhb »

If you have some time, the symbol on the map is a 40x40 pixel transparent png

Consider it done ! (In an hour or two) :roll:

User avatar
howardhb
Posts: 189
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:10 pm
Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Re: GPS NAV

Post by howardhb »

I used PaintDotNet (free: http://www.getpaint.net/download.html ) to "chroma Key" the backround to transparent.
Cut / Paste / Saved as 40x40 transparent PNG's.
Copter Symbols 40x40 Transparent.zip
Symbols
(21.34 KiB) Downloaded 268 times


Let me know if I need to change anything.

H. :D

User avatar
ezio
Posts: 827
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:03 pm
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by ezio »

Hi
Could you add the possibility to query how many waypoint the mission has instead of using a flag ?

Bart

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by EOSBandi »

howardhb wrote:I used PaintDotNet (free: http://www.getpaint.net/download.html ) to "chroma Key" the backround to transparent.
Cut / Paste / Saved as 40x40 transparent PNG's.
Copter Symbols 40x40 Transparent.zip


Let me know if I need to change anything.

H. :D


looking Good. It Will be included in the Next release (Monday).
Thanks.

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by EOSBandi »

ezio wrote:Hi
Could you add the possibility to query how many waypoint the mission has instead of using a flag ?

Bart

Hi,
Not really. The Nav State Machine does not use the number of steps, it is not generated anywhere. It is possible to walk through the eeprom to find out the number of steps, but this either requires a bunch of extra variables, or a number of failsafes to not interfere with a possible ongoing mission.

why do you need it anyway ?

User avatar
howardhb
Posts: 189
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:10 pm
Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Re: GPS NAV

Post by howardhb »

Andras, I've modified the symbols to have a light border around the craft...

I think these look better than my first attempt :oops:
H.

EDIT: Deleted the file. Added revised zip with Airplane!
Last edited by howardhb on Wed Dec 11, 2013 4:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PatrikE
Posts: 1976
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:35 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by PatrikE »

howardhb wrote:Andras, I've modified the symbols to have a light border around the craft...
Revised Aircraft Symbols.zip

I think these look better than my first attempt :oops:
H.


Nice
But a symbol for airplane is missing..

User avatar
howardhb
Posts: 189
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:10 pm
Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Re: GPS NAV

Post by howardhb »

But a symbol for airplane is missing..

Doh!

Feel the Airplane love .... :mrgreen:
Attachments
Final Revised Aircraft Symbols.zip
Revised - now includes Airplane!
(45.52 KiB) Downloaded 241 times

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by EOSBandi »

howardhb wrote:
But a symbol for airplane is missing..

Doh!

Feel the Airplane love .... :mrgreen:


Done, it's committed to the svn. It will be included in the release on next Monday.

User avatar
ezio
Posts: 827
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:03 pm
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by ezio »

EOSBandi wrote:
ezio wrote:Hi
Could you add the possibility to query how many waypoint the mission has instead of using a flag ?

Bart

Hi,
Not really. The Nav State Machine does not use the number of steps, it is not generated anywhere. It is possible to walk through the eeprom to find out the number of steps, but this either requires a bunch of extra variables, or a number of failsafes to not interfere with a possible ongoing mission.

why do you need it anyway ?


That's what i thought. Never mind, I can live without it.
( I needed it for know how many WP I have to query before I query them and also to make a progress bar )

But there is one thing which annoys me.
In waypoint we have lat, lon and action (there a also other fields but it is not important at the moment)
So logic behind this should be:
1. go to point lat and lon
2. do some action
And it works for WAYPOINT, POSHOLD_TIME and POSHOLD_ULIMITED.
But RTH is different. Here ( as I can see ) is just action.
Would not be more logical when the copter first go to RTH Waypoint and then go home ?

Bart

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by EOSBandi »

Hi !
My reasoning is twofold:

1. There are two types of commands, one is a so called waypoint, which defines a point and an action to do at that point. It is important that there is only one point. When executing these type of command copter will navigate to the given point, then do the action. RTH is an action that navigate the copter to a specific position. I think it could be confusing if the RTH command gives a coordinate to go to then go to another place (home).
(The other type of command the immediate action. This usually does not give a coordinate, but defines an action to execute immediately. These commands are the JUMP, RTH, SET_POI, TRIGGER, SET_ALT, SET_SPEED etc. (last four will be implemented later) )

2. Home position never ever set in the mission. It always set on the field when copter is armed. So an RTH command having a position could be misleading.

So, in my logic the immediate RTH command does fit, but if there is a common demand then it could be changed.

User avatar
ezio
Posts: 827
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:03 pm
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by ezio »

Understood.
BTW
Do I have to set longitude and latitude to 0 in RTH waypoint?

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by EOSBandi »

ezio wrote:Understood.
BTW
Do I have to set longitude and latitude to 0 in RTH waypoint?


Nope, it is ignored. I zeroing them out just for the consistent display.
Btw, I'm planning to add three more parameters to the WP structure to allow future devs, so please be prepared.
(it will be three 16 bit integer).

-ralf-
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 7:08 pm

Re: GPS NAV

Post by -ralf- »

@András,

can you please upload a screenshot of your 3DRadio config .... thanks.

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by EOSBandi »

-ralf- wrote:@András,

can you please upload a screenshot of your 3DRadio config .... thanks.

Sure! Here you go
sik-mw23.JPG

-ralf-
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 7:08 pm

Re: GPS NAV

Post by -ralf- »

Thanks ..... ok, I'm using 433MHz ....

You have different settings for TX-Power .... 11 for groundstation and 20 for the aircraft.
Is this necessary?

Only 10 hopping frequencies? Mayby some more rises the safety?

No ECC?

Sorry for my stupid questions .... but I'm new to 3DRadio .....

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by EOSBandi »

-ralf- wrote:Thanks ..... ok, I'm using 433MHz ....

You have different settings for TX-Power .... 11 for groundstation and 20 for the aircraft.
Is this necessary?

Only 10 hopping frequencies? Mayby some more rises the safety?

No ECC?

Sorry for my stupid questions .... but I'm new to 3DRadio .....


No problem. 11 power for GS is a leftover from testing. it should be 20.
10 hopping freq. is OK as long as no other 433Mhz transmitters around, but you can raise it.
ECC halves the available bandwidth, MSP has it's own CRC checking and invalid packets are discarded, so no need for ECC IMHO.

-ralf-
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 7:08 pm

Re: GPS NAV

Post by -ralf- »

Thank you ....

User avatar
ezio
Posts: 827
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:03 pm
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by ezio »

could you change in private bool loadMission(string filename)
the way how double is parsed. Due to cultural differences double can be saved as "1.23" or "1,23". And Windows does this based system settings.

so please change the way lat and lon are parsed to:

Code: Select all

double.TryParse(reader.GetAttribute("lat").Replace(',', '.'), NumberStyles.Any, CultureInfo.InvariantCulture, out lat);
double.TryParse(reader.GetAttribute("lon").Replace(',', '.'), NumberStyles.Any, CultureInfo.InvariantCulture, out lon);

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by EOSBandi »

ezio wrote:could you change in private bool loadMission(string filename)
the way how double is parsed. Due to cultural differences double can be saved as "1.23" or "1,23". And Windows does this based system settings.

so please change the way lat and lon are parsed to:

Code: Select all

double.TryParse(reader.GetAttribute("lat").Replace(',', '.'), NumberStyles.Any, CultureInfo.InvariantCulture, out lat);
double.TryParse(reader.GetAttribute("lon").Replace(',', '.'), NumberStyles.Any, CultureInfo.InvariantCulture, out lon);

Done

User avatar
ezio
Posts: 827
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:03 pm
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by ezio »

Could you explain what JUMP does?

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by EOSBandi »

ezio wrote:Could you explain what JUMP does?

It is in the first post;

The fifth type of command is a JUMP command. With this we can create loops in the mission. There are two parameters for JUMP command. A mission step number to jump to, and the number of repeats. The -1 value of the number of repeats means infinite loop.

There are two restrictions with the JUMP command, first for safety reasons you can jump only backwards (step number is less than the JUMP command) not forward, and second you cannot create nested loops.

Imen
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 5:11 pm

Re: GPS NAV

Post by Imen »

Thats awesome EOS,

SiK-mW 2.3 - A customized firmware for 3DR radio telemetry modules to use with MultiWii.


Hi, about your customize firmware for 3DR radio, is it possible to flash using 3DR Radio Config ?
thanks

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by EOSBandi »

Yeah, use the upload custom firmware button.
You can use the config program to config your radio, the only change that the MavLink option now means MultiWii :D

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by EOSBandi »

Hi !
This week's release is uploaded. I think this will be the latest pre release before publish it to the masses :D
Changes in WinGUI:
    Copter indicator in Mission tab now shows the real type of copter (thanks
    Howardhb for the graphics)
    Red indicator line means actual heading, orange indicator line means target bearing.
    Updated gmap.net library version to latest
    Waypoint adding moved to ctrl+click
    Added two more columns to the mission step
    number of jumps moved to the second parameter
    Add SET_POI and SET_HEADING mission steps
    Added context menu to the mission map, allows easier mission planning
    Added drawing of a circle
    Disable context menu on the map when GotoClick is enabled (both function uses right click)
    Add Bulk altitude change
    Added delete waypoint command to the context menu
    Fixed missing copter track in non autopan view (refresh issue)
Changes in MultiWii 2.3-navi
    Rework nav_rate calculation and crosstrack error calculation.
    Nav code cleanup - decomission nav_bearing variable
    target bearing now send back in nav_status packet
    added two more parameters to the WP command struct
    Added SET_POI and SET_HEADING mission steps
    During poshold allow user changes in altitude
    Fixed rth heading when set_poi was set

-ralf-
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 7:08 pm

Re: GPS NAV

Post by -ralf- »

Thank you, András .... one question ...

what does Set_POI ?

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by EOSBandi »

-ralf- wrote:Thank you, András .... one question ...

what does Set_POI ?

Sets Point of Interest, your copter will face towards that point during the mission...

-ralf-
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 7:08 pm

Re: GPS NAV

Post by -ralf- »

EOSBandi wrote:
-ralf- wrote:Thank you, András .... one question ...

what does Set_POI ?

Sets Point of Interest, your copter will face towards that point during the mission...


Wow ....very nice :o

Noctaro
Posts: 280
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 11:15 am
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by Noctaro »

Thats great EOSBandi! Very clever idea to implement a POI!!!
If weather is ok, i will give it a try tomorrow! Did you implement the gps-speed reduction on low sat recieption?
Would it be possible to set travel speed independent for each waypoint?

Keep in mind, i do not want to stress or force anything with my questions. I am just snoopy :)
You do VERY nice developments and i am :shock: how fast you do.

Greetz Noc

felixrising
Posts: 244
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 12:34 am
Location: Australia

Re: GPS NAV

Post by felixrising »

Hi András,

Perhaps a slightly OT, however it seems applicable to your GPS Nav code, specifically Nav controlled altitude changes.

There appears to be some overlap with NHAdrian's changes, and as was pointed out in that thread, adding the option for a controlled rate descent Failsafe makes a lot of sense and is more favourable than a fixed PWM as a Failsafe throttle IMO.

Would you consider some ability to trigger certain GPS Nav functions on failsafe, such as descent rate altitude change or RTH with descent, etc?

Rust
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 8:39 am

Re: GPS NAV

Post by Rust »

felixrising wrote:Hi András,

Perhaps a slightly OT, however it seems applicable to your GPS Nav code, specifically Nav controlled altitude changes.

There appears to be some overlap with NHAdrian's changes, and as was pointed out in that thread, adding the option for a controlled rate descent Failsafe makes a lot of sense and is more favourable than a fixed PWM as a Failsafe throttle IMO.

Would you consider some ability to trigger certain GPS Nav functions on failsafe, such as descent rate altitude change or RTH with descent, etc?


I was just thinking the same!

Great work EOSBandi!

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by EOSBandi »

Noctaro wrote:Thats great EOSBandi! Very clever idea to implement a POI!!!
If weather is ok, i will give it a try tomorrow! Did you implement the gps-speed reduction on low sat recieption?
Would it be possible to set travel speed independent for each waypoint?

Keep in mind, i do not want to stress or force anything with my questions. I am just snoopy :)
You do VERY nice developments and i am :shock: how fast you do.

Greetz Noc


Hi,
One baby step at a time. It's on the list. :D
At this moment if sat number drops below five, the mission paused and a warning is sent to the GCS, if gps lock lost then the mission canceled and a warning is sent. It is planned to add predicted gps position watching and doing an action based on error. However without inertial navigation, it is more or less placebo.

Travel speed also on the list, I kept the config structure intact till now to minimize possible error points, but now it is time to move all gps related parameters to the EEPROM and get rid of the defines.

msev
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 11:49 am

Re: GPS NAV

Post by msev »

Eosbandi is aeroplane support also on the list, in the pipeline. Maybe you could work together with PatrikE and give some love also to that part of mwii :D hehe,

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by EOSBandi »

felixrising wrote:Hi András,

Perhaps a slightly OT, however it seems applicable to your GPS Nav code, specifically Nav controlled altitude changes.

There appears to be some overlap with NHAdrian's changes, and as was pointed out in that thread, adding the option for a controlled rate descent Failsafe makes a lot of sense and is more favourable than a fixed PWM as a Failsafe throttle IMO.

Would you consider some ability to trigger certain GPS Nav functions on failsafe, such as descent rate altitude change or RTH with descent, etc?


It is possible to invoke nav functions from other parts of the code.
However current failsafe detection is based on detection of the lost rc input, but almost all modern radios has failsafe function which sets rc output to a predefined state. I would rather program my radio to output the desired settings (RTH) instead of hacking the code and tries to adjust it to the failsafe scenarios.
Perhaps an rcOption called FAILSAFE could be a good idea.

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by EOSBandi »

msev wrote:Eosbandi is aeroplane support also on the list, in the pipeline. Maybe you could work together with PatrikE and give some love also to that part of mwii :D hehe,


Patrik is working on the plane code, we agreed that as soon as his code is ready for prime time, i'll include it in the navi code.

Rust
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 8:39 am

Re: GPS NAV

Post by Rust »

EOSBandi wrote:
felixrising wrote:Hi András,

Perhaps a slightly OT, however it seems applicable to your GPS Nav code, specifically Nav controlled altitude changes.

There appears to be some overlap with NHAdrian's changes, and as was pointed out in that thread, adding the option for a controlled rate descent Failsafe makes a lot of sense and is more favourable than a fixed PWM as a Failsafe throttle IMO.

Would you consider some ability to trigger certain GPS Nav functions on failsafe, such as descent rate altitude change or RTH with descent, etc?


It is possible to invoke nav functions from other parts of the code.
However current failsafe detection is based on detection of the lost rc input, but almost all modern radios has failsafe function which sets rc output to a predefined state. I would rather program my radio to output the desired settings (RTH) instead of hacking the code and tries to adjust it to the failsafe scenarios.
Perhaps an rcOption called FAILSAFE could be a good idea.


Well, it's just a nice feature to have.
First - not all receivers have failsafe on all channels and Second - this way gives you limited options. You can't dial a "program" this way. For example - hold position for a minute, then return to home. Or gain altitude first, then RTH.
It is not that it doesn't work, but having all that mission functions already, you can just have a saved "failsafe" mission with all the goodies that come.

-ralf-
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 7:08 pm

Re: GPS NAV

Post by -ralf- »

Rust wrote:
EOSBandi wrote:
felixrising wrote:Hi András,

Perhaps a slightly OT, however it seems applicable to your GPS Nav code, specifically Nav controlled altitude changes.

There appears to be some overlap with NHAdrian's changes, and as was pointed out in that thread, adding the option for a controlled rate descent Failsafe makes a lot of sense and is more favourable than a fixed PWM as a Failsafe throttle IMO.

Would you consider some ability to trigger certain GPS Nav functions on failsafe, such as descent rate altitude change or RTH with descent, etc?


It is possible to invoke nav functions from other parts of the code.
However current failsafe detection is based on detection of the lost rc input, but almost all modern radios has failsafe function which sets rc output to a predefined state. I would rather program my radio to output the desired settings (RTH) instead of hacking the code and tries to adjust it to the failsafe scenarios.
Perhaps an rcOption called FAILSAFE could be a good idea.


Well, it's just a nice feature to have.
First - not all receivers have failsafe on all channels and Second - this way gives you limited options. You can't dial a "program" this way. For example - hold position for a minute, then return to home. Or gain altitude first, then RTH.
It is not that it doesn't work, but having all that mission functions already, you can just have a saved "failsafe" mission with all the goodies that come.


An independent section "failsafe" would be good ..... if failsafe and mission is active,
then it jumps to the section "failsafe" and does the steps that are there. We can limit
the failsafe-steps to a max of 5 for example. This can be combined with a rcoption-box,
so that the failsafe-mission can be triggered manually.

User avatar
howardhb
Posts: 189
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:10 pm
Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Re: GPS NAV

Post by howardhb »

I've created the navigation symbols for the new way-point functions, as per Ezio's request.
(It's not easy getting them readable with only 40 pixels!)

Let me know if you need them modified / changed.

H.

EDIT: Updated the graphics...now color coded!

EDIT: EDIT: After seeing the symbols on a map (something I should have done in the first place :oops: ) I have re-created the symbols.
I think they are a big improvement.
Attachments
NEW NAV SYMBOLS.zip
(154.82 KiB) Downloaded 169 times
New NAV symbols
New NAV symbols
Last edited by howardhb on Thu Dec 19, 2013 3:47 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
ezio
Posts: 827
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:03 pm
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by ezio »

howardhb wrote:I've created the navigation symbols for the new way-point functions, as per Ezio's request.
(It's not easy getting them readable with only 40 pixels!)

Let me know if you need them modified / changed.

H.

EDIT: Updated the graphics...now color coded!


Thanks for that :)
markers.jpg

-ralf-
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 7:08 pm

Re: GPS NAV

Post by -ralf- »

Hi András,

what do you think? Could we have a mission called "Failsafe" ?

http://www.multiwii.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=44446#p44446

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by EOSBandi »

-ralf- wrote:Hi András,

what do you think? Could we have a mission called "Failsafe" ?

http://www.multiwii.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=44446#p44446

Yes , but before that, an AutoLand command must be implemented.
I think this will be happen during January.

There will be one more release before new year (tonight if weather permits test flights), then time to do the festive :D

copterrichie
Posts: 2261
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:30 pm

Re: GPS NAV

Post by copterrichie »

Please, EOSBanbi, may I ask for the addition MP_GPS_TIME to the protocol or to expansion the MSP_SET_RAW_GPS to include the GPS Time? Reason being, the Raspberry Pi does not have a realtime clock as well as many OSDs. I can set the time zone in my application.

Thank you.

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS NAV

Post by EOSBandi »

howardhb wrote:I've created the navigation symbols for the new way-point functions, as per Ezio's request.
(It's not easy getting them readable with only 40 pixels!)

Let me know if you need them modified / changed.

H.

EDIT: Updated the graphics...now color coded!

EDIT: EDIT: After seeing the symbols on a map (something I should have done in the first place :oops: ) I have re-created the symbols.
I think they are a big improvement.


Hi,
They are looking good, but I went to another way, and moved the tooltips to the markers... this how they will be look like in pre7
new_markers.JPG

EOS

User avatar
howardhb
Posts: 189
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:10 pm
Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Re: GPS NAV

Post by howardhb »

I agree, that is more intuitive to do it that way. :P

Post Reply