Win7 64Bit GUI Problem !

This forum is dedicated to software development related to MultiWii.
It is not the right place to submit a setup problem.
Software download
Post Reply
Fat Tony
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 2:27 pm

Win7 64Bit GUI Problem !

Post by Fat Tony »

Hallo,

I have a Windows7 64Bit system.
When I start the Wii-GUI a white window appears and that’s it :(
The Board is powered on and connected.
The source code is still on the microcontroller.
The Connection between the controller and the arduino-tool works fine.
So is there anyone who can help me ?
Is the 64Bit system the Problem ?
I tried the v7 and v8 from the GUI, it’s the same problem in both versions.

Katch
Posts: 280
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 1:44 pm

Re: Win7 64Bit GUI Problem !

Post by Katch »

I'm using x64 Windows 7 with no problems.

Make sure your Java RE is up to date.

Disconnect your multiwii from your computer and run the GUI and see if it starts.

babelo
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 12:56 pm

Re: Win7 64Bit GUI Problem !

Post by babelo »

Hi,

If you start GUI x86 version then you need to install java 32 bit version on your 64 bit.
If you start GUI x64 version then you need to install java 64 bit version on your 64 bit.

that's all,

Same on linux, as the java code have depends on some system library, you need those library for 64 or 32 bit depend on your java and GUI

Fabrice,

Fat Tony
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 2:27 pm

Re: Win7 64Bit GUI Problem !

Post by Fat Tony »

Ok I have tried to install Java again.
When I install Java x64 (6u27) I get the Error “couldn’t find javaw.exe”
So I reinstall Java x86 (6u27).
Now I don’t get this Err but I still have the same Problem like before.
Processing starts and opens a white window.

And it doesn’t meter if the board is connected or not :(

PatrikE
Posts: 1963
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:35 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Win7 64Bit GUI Problem !

Post by PatrikE »

If you have Bluetooth in your computer the Gui can hang when it's looking for serialports.
I have to disable BT when i start the Gui.

Fat Tony
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 2:27 pm

Re: Win7 64Bit GUI Problem !

Post by Fat Tony »

No there is no BT.

User avatar
jevermeister
Posts: 708
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 8:56 am
Contact:

Re: Win7 64Bit GUI Problem !

Post by jevermeister »

The starting of my GUI also needs a long time since i installed my Bluetooth serial ports:

I connected the flyduino via FTDI2USB adapter and in the process of starting the GUI the buzzer buzzes a few times (the same code that indicates a completed gyro init) how can I change this? since I do not need the bluetoooth connectivity on my PC anymore...

Nils

PatrikE
Posts: 1963
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:35 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Win7 64Bit GUI Problem !

Post by PatrikE »

Hi Nils.

RightClick on BT icon next to the clock.
Select Deactivate Bluetooth in the menu.
The icon will be blue and red when it's Deactivated.

/Patrik

Fat Tony
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 2:27 pm

Re: Win7 64Bit GUI Problem !

Post by Fat Tony »

Is there a way to start the GUI over a Program with a debugger or a console?
Maybe I can see where the program stops

PatrikE
Posts: 1963
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:35 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Win7 64Bit GUI Problem !

Post by PatrikE »

you can run the .pde flie with Processing.
Check the guide.
http://www.multiwii.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=190

Fat Tony
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 2:27 pm

Re: Win7 64Bit GUI Problem !

Post by Fat Tony »

If I follow this manual and run the GUI with processing, everything works fine.
But when I Try to generate a .exe I get the error message:
Could not copy source file: C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Local\Temp\MultiWiiConf1_84647218483702447343temp\MultiWiiConf1_8.java

He only creates two folders (for win x86 and x64).
But when I run this .exe I have the same problem like befor with the white window.

tanasit
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 4:24 am

Re: Win7 64Bit GUI Problem !

Post by tanasit »

I had similar problem. So I tried it with my friend's computer who also runs Windows 7 64 bit and it works on his!
You need to properly uninstall the old Java and choose the proper Java that matchs your internet surfer which is most likely the 32 bit if you use IE.

Fat Tony
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 2:27 pm

Re: Win7 64Bit GUI Problem !

Post by Fat Tony »

I've already tried to reinstall.
Ok I have tried to install Java again.
When I install Java x64 (6u27) I get the Error “couldn’t find javaw.exe”
So I reinstall Java x86 (6u27).
Now I don’t get this Err but I still have the same Problem like before.
Processing starts and opens a white window.

And it doesn’t meter if the board is connected or not :(

User avatar
wareck
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 10:14 pm
Location: Charleville-Mezieres
Contact:

Re: Win7 64Bit GUI Problem !

Post by wareck »

Ok for those have problem with the last version of JAVA
(on my 3 computer gui don't want's to start)

Go in your "program file (x86)" folder and find "java"
Copy :
"java.exe"
"javaw.exe"
"javaws.exe"

Put them in your gui folder...and it works...

Ok I know it's a dirty solution but working for me

User avatar
shikra
Posts: 783
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: Win7 64Bit GUI Problem !

Post by shikra »

From MWOSD FAQ if it helps anyone (also uses processing/java app). Credit to Zagnetsu57 for making me aware of it :

#20 I get unspecified Java or Java patrch error. How do I fix it.

There are many type of Java error. One of the more common ones has a solution in the video below:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=66crhKstr70

Post Reply