TX won't arm quad

TX won't arm quad

Postby websiteguy » Sat Mar 09, 2013 10:18 pm

Hi all,
Newbie problem here. This is my first build and I am stuck on this. I have my quad assembled, wired, TX/RX successfully bound and when I connect it to my PC using the multiwii software I can see the control movements are being recognized. Also, when I power it up the ESCs sound off their usual song when they power up. I can't seem to get it to arm. I have scoured through various boards and posts and can't seem to find anyone who has had this problem, so I am posting here.
Here are my specs:
HoverThings HT-450 frame
MultiWii PRO 2.0 Flight Controller w/ GPS Option (purchased here: http://witespyquad.gostorego.com/flight ... oller.html )
Turnigy Plus 18A ESCs
T-Motor MS2212-13 motors
Flysky TH9x TX and FS-98B RX
I tried following the stick configs here but had no luck: http://s1263.beta.photobucket.com/user/ ... 0.jpg.html
I really hope someone can help me out here. I don't know what to do next!
Thanks in advance!
websiteguy
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:59 pm

Re: TX won't arm quad

Postby scrat » Sat Mar 09, 2013 10:47 pm

websiteguy wrote:Hi all,
Newbie problem here. This is my first build and I am stuck on this. I have my quad assembled, wired, TX/RX successfully bound and when I connect it to my PC using the multiwii software I can see the control movements are being recognized. Also, when I power it up the ESCs sound off their usual song when they power up. I can't seem to get it to arm. I have scoured through various boards and posts and can't seem to find anyone who has had this problem, so I am posting here.
Here are my specs:
HoverThings HT-450 frame
MultiWii PRO 2.0 Flight Controller w/ GPS Option (purchased here: http://witespyquad.gostorego.com/flight ... oller.html )
Turnigy Plus 18A ESCs
T-Motor MS2212-13 motors
Flysky TH9x TX and FS-98B RX
I tried following the stick configs here but had no luck: http://s1263.beta.photobucket.com/user/ ... 0.jpg.html
I really hope someone can help me out here. I don't know what to do next!
Thanks in advance!


Do you have all sticks set between 1000 and 2000?

I have set my mwii fc the first time with this manual: http://www.multiwiicopter.com/pages/multiwiicopter-wiki
scrat
 
Posts: 925
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:47 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: TX won't arm quad

Postby Peter » Sun Mar 10, 2013 12:48 pm

I use a switch to arm, works always. If you want to arm with the sticks, check your transmitter endpoints. Try to set them up to 125%, but assure in the gui that they stay between 1000 and 2000. Also check your config.h that arming via sticks is enabled.
Peter
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 2:09 pm

Re: TX won't arm quad

Postby websiteguy » Mon Mar 11, 2013 12:39 am

That did the trick! Thank you! now that I got it armed 3 of the motors respond and one just goes on and off quickly. (Ugh! It seems like I'm never going to get this thing in the air!) I switched one of the other ESCs to that motor and it worked fine. Turns out one of the brand new ESCs is not working properly. Do I need a new one or can this be fixed by reflashing it? Can the Turnigy Plush 18a Escs be flashed?
websiteguy
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:59 pm

Re: TX won't arm quad

Postby Peter » Mon Mar 11, 2013 4:13 pm

Glad that it worked.

You probably need a new one. They can be flashed, but I don't think it is a software problem.
Remove the shrinkwrap and check the soldering.

Did you calibrate the escs? That might be your last simple solution. http://code.google.com/p/multiwii/wiki/ESCsCalibration
Peter
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 2:09 pm

Re: TX won't arm quad

Postby subaru4wd » Mon Mar 11, 2013 4:33 pm

You need to perform a "throttle range calibration" on all your ESC's.
subaru4wd
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 2:16 am

Re: TX won't arm quad

Postby websiteguy » Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:53 pm

Thanks. I will calibrate them later tonight. How do I assign a switch to arm? I would like to do that, as it seems safer than using the sticks. My next task is also to assign switches for altitude hold, gps hold, return home, etc. Can you point me in the right direction to do this? I have no clue where to begin.
websiteguy
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:59 pm

Re: TX won't arm quad

Postby scrat » Tue Mar 12, 2013 7:49 am

websiteguy wrote:Thanks. I will calibrate them later tonight. How do I assign a switch to arm? I would like to do that, as it seems safer than using the sticks. My next task is also to assign switches for altitude hold, gps hold, return home, etc. Can you point me in the right direction to do this? I have no clue where to begin.


For me is not safer to arm quad with switch. You can accidentally turn switch off and quad will fall from the sky like a rock.
scrat
 
Posts: 925
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:47 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: TX won't arm quad

Postby Peter » Tue Mar 12, 2013 7:51 pm

For me is not safer to arm quad with switch. You can accidentally turn switch off and quad will fall from the sky like a rock.[/quote]
That is not true, you first have to put your throttle all the way down. And I have never accidentally flipped a switch during flight.
I did however armed it accidentally when feeling with the sticks...

@websiteguy: You can configure what the switches do in the GUI, MultiWiiConf. By configuring the checkboxes for AUX1 to 4.
Peter
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 2:09 pm

Re: TX won't arm quad

Postby websiteguy » Thu Mar 14, 2013 1:50 am

Everything calibrated. AUX switches set up. Set up rotation direction on motors for quad x. I put the props on to try it out. Even at full throttle it just sits there. Any ideas on what I need to change or do differently so I can finally get this thing to fly?
I do have one other question. I would like to assign the 3 way switch and it is not listed in my options. It only lists 2 switches and 3 knobs to assign on the 9x. Any way to access the other 5 switches on the TX?
websiteguy
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:59 pm

Re: TX won't arm quad

Postby scrat » Thu Mar 14, 2013 8:58 am

websiteguy wrote:Everything calibrated. AUX switches set up. Set up rotation direction on motors for quad x. I put the props on to try it out. Even at full throttle it just sits there. Any ideas on what I need to change or do differently so I can finally get this thing to fly?
I do have one other question. I would like to assign the 3 way switch and it is not listed in my options. It only lists 2 switches and 3 knobs to assign on the 9x. Any way to access the other 5 switches on the TX?


Did you check your props 2CW and 2CCW.
scrat
 
Posts: 925
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:47 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: TX won't arm quad

Postby websiteguy » Thu Mar 14, 2013 4:47 pm

Yes, I did when I set it up. If that is the only thing it could be, I will have to double check again tonight when I get home. I am almost positive that I had them set up correctly.
websiteguy
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:59 pm

Re: TX won't arm quad

Postby websiteguy » Sat Mar 16, 2013 12:05 am

I checked the rotation of the props and it was correct. It turns out that i had the 2 ESCs at the rear of the quad plugged in to the board wrong. I swapped them to the correct spots, checked rotation again and everything seemed in order. I tried to fly it and just wants to flip over to its right. Any ideas on what to do next?
websiteguy
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:59 pm

Re: TX won't arm quad

Postby scrat » Mon Mar 18, 2013 7:53 am

websiteguy wrote:I checked the rotation of the props and it was correct. It turns out that i had the 2 ESCs at the rear of the quad plugged in to the board wrong. I swapped them to the correct spots, checked rotation again and everything seemed in order. I tried to fly it and just wants to flip over to its right. Any ideas on what to do next?


Try to reflash your board and do esc cal again.
scrat
 
Posts: 925
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:47 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: TX won't arm quad

Postby austntexan » Wed May 22, 2013 8:55 pm

Are the props rotating in their correct directions and are each ESC plugged into the correct spot on your FC? I'm new here, moving from KK to MultiWii. Very interested in this topic.
austntexan
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 9:40 pm

Re: TX won't arm quad

Postby chris_kmn » Sun Jun 09, 2013 5:05 pm

Try to search the constant "MINCHECK" in multiwii.ino . By default it is set to 1100. but the min thrownof some rx/tx is above that value. Try to set it to 1120-1180 (check min throttle value in the GUI). Then the copter should arm.

To make it easier to adjust you can move MINCHEKCK and MAXCHECK to the config.h
chris_kmn
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 11:11 am

Re: TX won't arm quad

Postby crashlander » Sun Jun 09, 2013 7:23 pm

Always do post setup/pre flight check:
1. proper rotation of motors
2. while connected to GUI do level and compass calibration (if you have one)
2.a. set endpoints of your TX for ALL channels to be from 1000 to 2000 with 1500 in the middle.
3. check in the GUI for proper rotation/response of multi (tilt in GUI should correspond to real life)
4. check in the GUI for proper response of motors when armed and some TH applied (preferably without props.)
5. above check should be done for stick input and without stick input (try to tilt multi and it should fight back in gyro and level/horizon mode)
6. balance and mount props on proper position
7 repeat check from 5. this time firmly holding multi in your arms
8. if the above works try to fly (it should fly nicely)

9. If it will not lift or it will try to do some crazy stuff check again for vibrations (those are in most cases the culprit)
10. if you have unavoidable vibrations (multi flyes but kicks randomly) lower the LPF factor in config.h re-upload sketch and try again.

Regards
Andrej
crashlander
 
Posts: 506
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 8:13 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: TX won't arm quad

Postby johna136 » Wed Jun 26, 2013 1:07 pm

How would I go about setting this up to arm via a switch since I can not get mine to arm via sticks? I am sure I am missing something but now I just want to see if the board even works. Thanks!
johna136
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 11:59 pm

Re: TX won't arm quad

Postby Ringo42 » Thu Apr 09, 2015 1:58 am

I have a flip 1.5 board and I use a taranis radio.
The flip won't arm. The taranis says min throttle and rudder is 988us. But multiwii configuration says the min reading for both is around 1024. I don't have a spare switch to dedicate to arming. Any thoughts on why it won't arm? Can I easily change the code to raise the min values?
Ringo42
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 8:50 pm

Re: TX won't arm quad

Postby waltr » Thu Apr 09, 2015 4:03 pm

Ringo42 wrote:I have a flip 1.5 board and I use a taranis radio.
The flip won't arm. The taranis says min throttle and rudder is 988us. But multiwii configuration says the min reading for both is around 1024. I don't have a spare switch to dedicate to arming. Any thoughts on why it won't arm? Can I easily change the code to raise the min values?


Cross POST. I answered your question in the RCGroup forum.
waltr
 
Posts: 733
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 3:21 pm
Location: Near Philadelphia, Pennsyvania, USA

Re: TX won't arm quad

Postby the pirate » Mon Sep 24, 2018 12:52 pm

if you have the barometer checked in the multiwii GUI quad will not arm in the 2.4 version
the pirate
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 12:48 pm

Re: TX won't arm quad

Postby misba » Sat Jun 15, 2019 7:29 am

I am working on wifi telemetry using ezgui application. Esp8266 is wifi module i am using connecting serially to multiwii. i am able to get the data from multiwii but not able to control the drone from ezgui app as pwm is not continuous. Any changes to be made in multiwii config code? kinldy help
misba
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 29, 2019 11:27 am


Return to ESCs, propellers , servos and radios

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron