GPS integration

This forum is dedicated to software development related to MultiWii.
It is not the right place to submit a setup problem.
Software download
MicroRaptor
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 1:56 am

Re: GPS integration

Post by MicroRaptor »

I've always inserted this in gps.ino beginning line 43 ever since it was removed so hompos can be set while in flight.

Code: Select all

 if (rcData[AUX1]>1800) {        
          GPS_I2C_command(I2C_GPS_COMMAND_SET_WP,0);     
          nav_takeoff_bearing = heading;               
          GPS_fix_home = 1;                                                       
       }


I hover for a few sec before hitting the switch to insure a good fix.

Thanks to everyone specially Eosbandi for the gps code. Works incredible.

User avatar
mgros
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 12:32 am

Re: GPS integration

Post by mgros »

warthox wrote:setting homepos during gyrocal is not better. in this case i would prefer setting homepos while arming.
an universal solution would be the use of an aux channel switch. so u can set homepos wherever and in which situation ever your copter is.


As I know we have only 4 AUX channels, majority normal radios only have one three positions switch.
We have stable/acro, mag, head free, level, camera(pitch, roll, stab, trig), GPS (HOLD, RTH, set home pos), ...
It's almost impossible to configure.

Sugestions???

dr.tom
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 4:46 pm
Location: Croatia
Contact:

Re: GPS integration

Post by dr.tom »

slider or turning knob... maybe?
and modify the code to have more than 3 steps per aux ch.
something like this?
http://diydrones.com/profiles/blogs/6-p ... 082&page=1

Image

P.S. someone here managed to push some binary data through 1 channel via atmel and trainer port, and decode it back at model side,
so it's possible to make as many switches as you want on a separate board attached to your TX, and with flip of a finger, you could activate all sort and mixes of functions.

found it :)
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=1698&p=14220&hilit=binary#p14220

luckily aurora9 has 2x 3-way switches, so it works ok for now...
for mega board with 4aux-in, I'm planing to activate the 2 sliders also, they have middle position groove, so they stop there if needed.
but sure it would be more elegant to have a switch for every function, so you can combine it in air, not only grounded in gui before flight.

Tommie
Posts: 438
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 9:50 am

Re: GPS integration

Post by Tommie »

dr.tom wrote:P.S. someone here managed to push some binary data through 1 channel via atmel and trainer port, and decode it back at model side,
so it's possible to make as many switches as you want on a separate board attached to your TX, and with flip of a finger, you could activate all sort and mixes of functions.

Not via the trainer port, but by desoldering a switch. In the meantime I put the entire stuff into my own TX controller.

https://github.com/wertarbyte/multiwii- ... les_bucket

And the transmitter project:

https://github.com/wertarbyte/funkenschlag

I am using this right now to push 3 AUX channels (could be up to 8 or even more) through one single RC channel. I can even send dedicated commands to the copter not limited by 3-way-swichting AUX channels, like "change blinking sequence to -.-.-..." or "set home coordinates to X/Y".

msev
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 11:49 am

Re: GPS integration

Post by msev »

Is that guy using that 6 position switch on 9x on some custom firmware? Does it have to be wired to more pins on the atmega64 than the typical 2 position switch?

LuFa
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 7:56 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by LuFa »

Hi Eosbandi :)

is it also possible to get the GPS Position Hold distance with

Code: Select all

I2C_GPS_WP_DISTANCE
?

thanks :)

wilco1967
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 6:04 pm
Location: Winterswijk, Netherlands

Re: GPS integration

Post by wilco1967 »

rollinolin wrote:Hello all,
I bought a gps module from AREA52MOSFETS on the seeduino mega thread about a year ago.
Image

Image

I know nothing about it and was wondering if anyone here could help. I think i need a BOB for the GPS and i dont know where to get one and how to connect it to the seeduino mega? can anyone point me in the right direction?

thanks


From the picture, it looks exactly like the GPS receiver I just bought from flyduino.net.
http://flyduino.net/FMP04-GPS-Modul
It fits on this:
http://flyduino.net/Flyduino-FMP04-GPS-Bob

It works marvelous with with my flyduino mega... for the mega, you will also want to order the small connector. Not sure if this is also required for the seeduino
http://flyduino.net/GPS-Kabel-20cm

The FMP04 is apparently the same as a MTK 3329.... I flashed it with the 115200 10 hz code posted here by EOSBandi (I think it was already at exactly the same firmware before), and it works perfectly !
http://code.google.com/p/i2c-gps-nav/downloads/list

BTW, there are two very small solder pads at the bottom left corner.... the 2nd can be connected to a led, and is used for position lock (blinking if still searching, solid when locked). See also the pictures linked here http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showpost.php?p=21650308&postcount=3655
"R weglassen" means, do not install the resistor (if you're not very good in German).

Give it a try.... if it's indeed the same, inside and outside, as the flyduino one, it should work. But it might just be a similar housing with something else inside
Mine worked flawless with the EOSbandi R33 version (haven't tried Alex's latest dev yet).

FYI: Noticed some less than positive comments about area52mosfets on RCgroups.
In comparison, I can only recommend paul's shop (Flyduino.com). Always have had perfect response & delivery from him. Highly recommended ! :!:
Last edited by wilco1967 on Wed May 30, 2012 6:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Alexinparis
Posts: 1630
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 9:07 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by Alexinparis »

I confirm, I did some GPS test with this config and it's perfect.

wilco1967 wrote:
rollinolin wrote:Hello all,
I bought a gps module from AREA52MOSFETS on the seeduino mega thread about a year ago.
Image

Image

I know nothing about it and was wondering if anyone here could help. I think i need a BOB for the GPS and i dont know where to get one and how to connect it to the seeduino mega? can anyone point me in the right direction?

thanks


From the picture, it looks exactly like the GPS receiver I just bought from flyduino.net.
http://flyduino.net/FMP04-GPS-Modul
It fits on this:
http://flyduino.net/Flyduino-FMP04-GPS-Bob

It works marvelous with with my flyduino mega... for the mega, you will also want to order the small connector. Not sure if this is also required for the seeduino
http://flyduino.net/GPS-Kabel-20cm

The FMP04 is apparently the same as a MTK 3329.... I flashed it with the 115200 10 hz code posted here by EOSBandi (I think it was already at exactly the same firmware before), and it works perfectly !
http://code.google.com/p/i2c-gps-nav/downloads/list

BTW, there are two very small solder pads at the bottom left corner.... the 2nd can be connected to a led, and is used for position lock (blinking if still searching, solid when locked). See also the pictures linked here http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showpost.php?p=21650308&postcount=3655
"R weglassen" means, do not install the resistor (if you're not very good in German).

Give it a try.... mine worked flawless with the EOSbandi R33 version (haven't tried Alex's latest dev yet).

Alexinparis
Posts: 1630
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 9:07 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by Alexinparis »

mgros wrote:Could be better set home pos in other moment. Think if you are doing FPV, land, stop motors, arm and take off, you get a diferent home pos.

I have read a good idea in this forum, set home pos at first 3d Fix and reset every time you calibrate gyros.

See this post http://www.multiwii.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=649&p=11123&hilit=gyro#p11123


It is implemented exactly like this at the moment.

Code: Select all

      if (rcData[YAW] < MINCHECK && rcData[PITCH] < MINCHECK && armed == 0) {
        if (rcDelayCommand == 20) {
          calibratingG=400;
          #if GPS
            GPS_reset_home_position();
          #endif
        }
      }

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS integration

Post by EOSBandi »

Alexinparis wrote:
mgros wrote:Could be better set home pos in other moment. Think if you are doing FPV, land, stop motors, arm and take off, you get a diferent home pos.

I have read a good idea in this forum, set home pos at first 3d Fix and reset every time you calibrate gyros.

See this post http://www.multiwii.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=649&p=11123&hilit=gyro#p11123


It is implemented exactly like this at the moment.

Code: Select all

      if (rcData[YAW] < MINCHECK && rcData[PITCH] < MINCHECK && armed == 0) {
        if (rcDelayCommand == 20) {
          calibratingG=400;
          #if GPS
            GPS_reset_home_position();
          #endif
        }
      }


Nope, in the latest shared, it's overwritten by the GPS code. (both serial and i2c)

Code: Select all

       
 if (GPS_fix == 1 && GPS_numSat >= 5) {         
    if (armed == 0) {GPS_fix_home = 0;}
    if (GPS_fix_home == 0 && armed) {
             GPS_fix_home = 1;
             GPS_latitude_home  = GPS_latitude;
             GPS_longitude_home = GPS_longitude;
             GPS_calc_longitude_scaling(GPS_latitude);  //need an initial value for distance and bearing calc           
             nav_takeoff_bearing = heading;             //save takeoff heading         
      }


We need an agreement or a config def for this... both method has it's advantages.....

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS integration

Post by EOSBandi »

Ok folks,
I just relised that I have commit rights on _shared... :D i'll commit fixes there, so r33 on the i2c-gps-nav repo will be officially depreceated...

Thanks to Alex for the merge.

And a small disclaimer : The gps code is based on the latest Arducopter navigation code, I just ported it to the MultiWii (and added some bells and whistles) so the real genius behind this code is Jason and the arducopter team.

Alexinparis
Posts: 1630
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 9:07 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by Alexinparis »

EOSBandi wrote:
Nope, in the latest shared, it's overwritten by the GPS code. (both serial and i2c)

Code: Select all

       
 if (GPS_fix == 1 && GPS_numSat >= 5) {         
    if (armed == 0) {GPS_fix_home = 0;}
    if (GPS_fix_home == 0 && armed) {
             GPS_fix_home = 1;
             GPS_latitude_home  = GPS_latitude;
             GPS_longitude_home = GPS_longitude;
             GPS_calc_longitude_scaling(GPS_latitude);  //need an initial value for distance and bearing calc           
             nav_takeoff_bearing = heading;             //save takeoff heading         
      }


We need an agreement or a config def for this... both method has it's advantages.....


So yes, it's reset each time the multi is armed.
As suggested we can maybe let the choice to the user via a #define

Tommie
Posts: 438
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 9:50 am

Re: GPS integration

Post by Tommie »

msev wrote:Is that guy using that 6 position switch on 9x on some custom firmware? Does it have to be wired to more pins on the atmega64 than the typical 2 position switch?

That depends whether the firmware is reading from an anlog pin or a digital one. If you are using a custom firmware anyway, one could port my data transfer framework to it (see above). SOmeone is already woking on that, from what I have heard.

Alexinparis
Posts: 1630
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 9:07 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by Alexinparis »

EOSBandi wrote:Ok folks,
I just relised that I have commit rights on _shared... :D i'll commit fixes there, so r33 on the i2c-gps-nav repo will be officially depreceated...

Thanks to Alex for the merge.

And a small disclaimer : The gps code is based on the latest Arducopter navigation code, I just ported it to the MultiWii (and added some bells and whistles) so the real genius behind this code is Jason and the arducopter team.


I will start to dig a little deeper in it now, don't be afraid ;)

We can really thank some brilliant people like Jason for bringing this piece of software in the open source world.
And you for a nice example of a successful port of a feature from an open source project to another one.
And you again for adding cool things like automatic turn in navigation mode.

Sharkcopter
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 3:12 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by Sharkcopter »

Hi

I'm starting with Gps and I have only two switch Aux1 and Aux2.
I have a doubt, is it the following schema correct ?

Thanks in advance
Attachments
Aux1-2.jpg

PatrikE
Posts: 1976
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:35 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: GPS integration

Post by PatrikE »

looks ike a good start.

User avatar
jose_Quad
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 2:57 am
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Re: GPS integration

Post by jose_Quad »

Hi, recently bought this GPS http://ladyada.net/products/ultimategps/ with MTK3339-based module, I can flash the firmware 115200 10hz?
thanks

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS integration

Post by EOSBandi »

Yepp, it should work. But you should check it with miniGPS perhaps it's already has the right firmware and you can save setting to the flash...

mahowik
Posts: 332
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 6:26 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by mahowik »

jose_Quad wrote:Hi, recently bought this GPS http://ladyada.net/products/ultimategps/ with MTK3339-based module, I can flash the firmware 115200 10hz?
thanks

mtk3329 and mtk3339 diff chipsets.. I also bought this (why not 3329? :)) because it's little bit precise (in diff with 3329) having SBAS (Space Based Augmentation System) function... BUT I don't know is it safe to reflash with 3329 firmware? I think not...

warthox
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 10:05 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by warthox »

gps ph/ch test. r33.
all values default except PosR P 3.6

https://vimeo.com/43211223
Last edited by warthox on Fri Jun 01, 2012 9:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

PatrikE
Posts: 1976
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:35 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: GPS integration

Post by PatrikE »

Great demo video!... 8-)

Sharkcopter
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 3:12 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by Sharkcopter »

Hi Warthox Very great video.. :)
I have two questions about your video.
Is necessary to leave on the barometer when using the RTH?
Help the magnetometer in RTH?
Thanks

GoFaster
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 12:20 am

Re: GPS integration

Post by GoFaster »

Impressive and entertaining video, Warthox!
With all the electronics packed close together in a small volume, do you have magnetometer drift and noise?

mahowik
Posts: 332
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 6:26 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by mahowik »

Guys,

Probably someone know custom/special firmware for mtk3339 to keep 115200 and 10hz? MiniGPS_v1.7.1 can read and change setting of this GPS module but can't to flash that modified settings ((

Actually it's possible to init from Arduino but it's not so useful...

p.s. sometimes new hardware is not the best, because it hard to find software for this...


thx-
Alex

User avatar
jose_Quad
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 2:57 am
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Re: GPS integration

Post by jose_Quad »

mahowik wrote:Guys,

Probably someone know custom/special firmware for mtk3339 to keep 115200 and 10hz? MiniGPS_v1.7.1 can read and change setting of this GPS module but can't to flash that modified settings ((

Actually it's possible to init from Arduino but it's not so useful...

p.s. sometimes new hardware is not the best, because it hard to find software for this...


thx-
Alex

the MiniGPS v1.4 can make changes, I have the same GPS :D

flyrobot
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 3:59 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by flyrobot »

Hi Warthox,

Can you share what GPS do you use on the video?

Thanks,

John

mahowik
Posts: 332
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 6:26 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by mahowik »

jose_Quad wrote:the MiniGPS v1.4 can make changes, I have the same GPS :D

thanks! it sounds strange but i will try... ))
are you sure that after reconnecting the power it keeps the settings? could you check your gps firmware version (located on "About" tab of MiniGPS program)?

i.e. you have used this "write setting into flash" block?
Attachments
1.png

charbot
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 8:37 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by charbot »

Im in the same boat - I just got the mtk 3339 - heh,and Im a mac user, am I gonna have to dig my old windowsXP tower outta the basement to get I2c gps setup?, ughh.

User avatar
mgros
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 12:32 am

Re: GPS integration

Post by mgros »

What problem I can have using a GPS with 1 hz refresh data?

User avatar
mbrak
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 8:08 pm
Location: Germany, Lemgo

Re: GPS integration

Post by mbrak »

mgros wrote:What problem I can have using a GPS with 1 hz refresh data?



well

a dancing position i would say :)

1hz is to slow to calc speed in nav mode. the math is not exact enough to do it right.

Alexinparis
Posts: 1630
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 9:07 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by Alexinparis »

warthox wrote:gps ph/ch test. r33.
all values default except PosR P 3.6

https://vimeo.com/43211223


That's an amazing video !
I'm so happy we have now a good GPS code properly integrated.

User avatar
dramida
Posts: 473
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Bucharest
Contact:

Re: GPS integration

Post by dramida »

500m HD FPV flight with GPS Return - to- Home active and then Position Hold. Must see.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0roD-PZzC0A

rollinolin
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 11:04 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by rollinolin »

anyone know where i can get a usb board to connect my GPS to to flash it? I have the fmp04 (no bob) Is there a place in the states that sells them? and can i connect it directly to the usb board with out a gps bob?

will this board work?
Image

warthox
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 10:05 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by warthox »

Sharkcopter wrote:Hi Warthox Very great video.. :)
I have two questions about your video.
Is necessary to leave on the barometer when using the RTH?
Help the magnetometer in RTH?
Thanks


no u dont need a baro for rth.
gps works only with mag and acc.


GoFaster wrote:Impressive and entertaining video, Warthox!
With all the electronics packed close together in a small volume, do you have magnetometer drift and noise?


i dont know, didnt checked that ;)


flyrobot wrote:Hi Warthox,

Can you share what GPS do you use on the video?

Thanks,

John


the sensors:

gyro - ITG-3200
acc - BMA180
mag - HMC5883L
baro - MS5611
gps - MediaTek MT3339

User avatar
jose_Quad
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 2:57 am
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Re: GPS integration

Post by jose_Quad »

mahowik wrote:
jose_Quad wrote:the MiniGPS v1.4 can make changes, I have the same GPS :D

thanks! it sounds strange but i will try... ))
are you sure that after reconnecting the power it keeps the settings? could you check your gps firmware version (located on "About" tab of MiniGPS program)?

i.e. you have used this "write setting into flash" block?


I have not tried, but I will and I'll tell you.
sorry for my English I'm using google translator

warthox
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 10:05 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by warthox »

gps ph autolanding ;)

http://vimeo.com/43283971

User avatar
jose_Quad
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 2:57 am
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Re: GPS integration

Post by jose_Quad »

when I try to save, this window appears
Attachments
window
window

mahowik
Posts: 332
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 6:26 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by mahowik »

jose_Quad wrote:when I try to save, this window appears

MiniGPS v1.4 also could not flush settings ((

So I have prepared GPS initialization from sketch:

1. to Serial.ino add this new function:

Code: Select all

void SerialPrint(uint8_t port, String str){
  uint8_t i = 0;
  while (i <= (str.length()-1)) {
    SerialWrite(port, (uint8_t)str.charAt(i));
    i++;
  }
}


2. to config.h add new #define GPS_INIT_BAUD 9600

Code: Select all

#define GPS_SERIAL 2 // should be 2 for flyduino v2. It's the serial port number on arduino MEGA
#define GPS_INIT_BAUD   9600
#define GPS_BAUD   115200


3. In MultiWii.ino replace this:

Code: Select all

SerialOpen(GPS_SERIAL,GPS_BAUD);
    //***************EOSBANDI quick hack to set the MTK gps to 10Hz.
    //$PMTK220,100*2F<cr><lf>
    SerialWrite(GPS_SERIAL,'$');
    SerialWrite(GPS_SERIAL,'P');
    SerialWrite(GPS_SERIAL,'M');
    SerialWrite(GPS_SERIAL,'T');
    SerialWrite(GPS_SERIAL,'K');
    SerialWrite(GPS_SERIAL,'2');
    SerialWrite(GPS_SERIAL,'2');
    SerialWrite(GPS_SERIAL,'0');
    SerialWrite(GPS_SERIAL,',');
    SerialWrite(GPS_SERIAL,'1');
    SerialWrite(GPS_SERIAL,'0');
    SerialWrite(GPS_SERIAL,'0');
    SerialWrite(GPS_SERIAL,'*');
    SerialWrite(GPS_SERIAL,'2');
    SerialWrite(GPS_SERIAL,'F');
    SerialWrite(GPS_SERIAL,'\r');
    SerialWrite(GPS_SERIAL,'\n');


to this:

Code: Select all

SerialOpen(GPS_SERIAL, GPS_INIT_BAUD);
    // 251 PMTK_SET_NMEA_BAUDRATE
    SerialPrint(GPS_SERIAL, (String)"$PMTK251," + GPS_BAUD + "*1F\r\n");
    SerialEnd(GPS_SERIAL);
    delay(200);
 
    SerialOpen(GPS_SERIAL, GPS_BAUD);
    // 220 PMTK_SET_NMEA_UPDATERATE
    //Enable it for 10Hz mode
    SerialPrint(GPS_SERIAL, "$PMTK220,100*2F\r\n");
    delay(200);
   
    // 314 PMTK_API_SET_NMEA_OUTPUT (GGA, GSA and RMC frames)
    SerialPrint(GPS_SERIAL, "$PMTK314,0,1,0,1,1,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0*29\r\n");
    delay(200);
   
    // 300 PMTK_API_SET_FIX_CTL
    // This parameter controls the rate of position fixing activity.
    SerialPrint(GPS_SERIAL, "$PMTK300,100,0,0,0,0*2C\r\n");


Enjoy! ;)

thx-
Alex

mahowik
Posts: 332
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 6:26 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by mahowik »

warthox wrote:gps - MediaTek MT3339


3339? not 3329?
still interesting how you switch this to 115200 and 10 hz? probably you found custom firmware for this?

thx-
Alex

flyrobot
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 3:59 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by flyrobot »

flyrobot wrote:Hi Warthox,

Can you share what GPS do you use on the video?

Thanks,

John


the sensors:

gyro - ITG-3200
acc - BMA180
mag - HMC5883L
baro - MS5611
gps - MediaTek MT3339[/quote]
Hi warthox,

Thanks for the info, what i meant is do you use serial (FMP04) or I2C (navigatron) ? I have both, but i see the difference in term of the signal reception sensitivity.

Thanks,

John

User avatar
howardhb
Posts: 189
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:10 pm
Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Re: GPS integration

Post by howardhb »

rollinolin wrote:anyone know where i can get a usb board to connect my GPS to to flash it? I have the fmp04 (no bob) Is there a place in the states that sells them? and can i connect it directly to the usb board with out a gps bob?

will this board work?
Image


Yes it will work, bur rather get: http://www.sparkfun.com/products/9873

User avatar
Gaijin
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 8:00 am

Re: GPS integration

Post by Gaijin »

mahowik wrote:
jose_Quad wrote:the MiniGPS v1.4 can make changes, I have the same GPS :D

thanks! it sounds strange but i will try... ))
are you sure that after reconnecting the power it keeps the settings? could you check your gps firmware version (located on "About" tab of MiniGPS program)?

i.e. you have used this "write setting into flash" block?



I may have found the cause of my drift then, I didn't know you had to apply a further save beyond the set button next to the refresh rate, when I checked the GPS had reset to 1Hz.

Can I suggest you add that nugget of Info to the documentation?

More testing to follow

User avatar
jose_Quad
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 2:57 am
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Re: GPS integration

Post by jose_Quad »

now install the firmware 10Hz 115200 bps and my GPS is dead, : ( do not try.
too late and found a German forum 5Hz installer to 38400bps for mtk3339

wingspinner
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 4:26 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by wingspinner »

charbot wrote:Im in the same boat - I just got the mtk 3339 - heh,and Im a mac user, am I gonna have to dig my old windowsXP tower outta the basement to get I2c gps setup?, ughh.



Runs under bootcamp, parallels, or vmware just fine.

CHeers,
ROn

charbot
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 8:37 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by charbot »

Yeah, kinda dont want to have to buy/install windows. my old windows PC is dead( wont boot) so I may be out of options. Flashing/ setting up the mkt3339 is a one time thing, right?, so i may just try to use a friend's PC.

mahowik
Posts: 332
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 6:26 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by mahowik »

I have provided solution for 3339 on prev page... it works... i have checked this...

charbot
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 8:37 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by charbot »

I kinda thought thats what was going on but wanted to wait until the dust settled before asking questions. Good chance Im mistaken, but it appears to me that this solution is for mega/serial gps- as the changes are to MultiWii. --Using a 328 for the FC so Im trying to get I2c-gps with a second pro mini. Is there something Im missing? Sorry for the "preschool" questions.

mahowik
Posts: 332
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 6:26 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by mahowik »

you are right that solution for serial gps (also possible on 328 when GUI off)...

for i2c GPS u can use this viewtopic.php?f=8&t=649&start=610#p14024
actually it's the same but with common Serial lib usage...

warthox
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 10:05 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by warthox »

mahowik wrote:
warthox wrote:gps - MediaTek MT3339


3339? not 3329?
still interesting how you switch this to 115200 and 10 hz? probably you found custom firmware for this?

thx-
Alex



flyrobot wrote:
flyrobot wrote:Hi Warthox,

Can you share what GPS do you use on the video?

Thanks,

John


Hi warthox,

Thanks for the info, what i meant is do you use serial (FMP04) or I2C (navigatron) ? I have both, but i see the difference in term of the signal reception sensitivity.

Thanks,

John


i dont know the update rate. it worked 'out of the box'.

my setting in config.h

Code: Select all

#define GPS_SERIAL 2 // should be 2 for flyduino v2. It's the serial port number on arduino MEGA
#define GPS_BAUD   38400

mahowik
Posts: 332
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 6:26 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by mahowik »

ok... thx.. i suppose u have 3329 with predefined 38400 baud and 5hz update rate accordingly...
to check this u can connect with MiniGPS_v1.7.1 to your GPS module

http://www.adafruit.com/datasheets/Mini ... _1.7.1.zip

Post Reply