Special acrobatic mode by code

Post Reply
hexjump
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 1:47 pm

Special acrobatic mode by code

Post by hexjump »

I'm thinking with my partner to add some code to realize many acrobatic movements. Everyone will be able to play easily and have no chance to crash his quad. We're adding some new acrobatic movements and searching an ergonomic way to activate them. Here's a video of the first outdoor test. What do you think about this idea, guys ?
PS: we're doing this for beginners but not experienced pilot.
http://youtu.be/__nsEghC-U8

Arf
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 10:48 pm

Re: Special acrobatic mode by code

Post by Arf »

Sounds interesting. What kind of movements have you tried to automate so far?

User avatar
kos
Posts: 286
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 4:51 am
Location: Fr

Re: Special acrobatic mode by code

Post by kos »

hexjump wrote:We're adding some new acrobatic movements and searching an ergonomic way to activate them.


Image

Katch
Posts: 280
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 1:44 pm

Re: Special acrobatic mode by code

Post by Katch »

I was thinking about the possibility of doing something like that. Would raise the problem of there being X number of different frames, motors, props etc - tuning it could be a scary/expensive process.

It would be nice to be able to activate flips and rolls from Level mode - so the when you press the switch it switches to acro then performs the flip then switches back to level. That would go some way to making it noob proof.

As for ergonomic triggers. You could replace a couple of the toggle switches on your Tx with momentary switches. That should be an easy enough mod for anyone that can build a quad.

Federico
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 12:32 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Special acrobatic mode by code

Post by Federico »

This idea is way too cool !!!!

miniquad
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 8:17 pm

Re: Special acrobatic mode by code

Post by miniquad »

I like the idea. What Katch said makes it safer for beginners to try with.

User avatar
kos
Posts: 286
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 4:51 am
Location: Fr

Re: Special acrobatic mode by code

Post by kos »

you can do flip / flop

Code: Select all

switch1 = your condition on rcData[yourchanne]

if (switch1  &&  AcroCombo1.isCompleted() ){
  startAcroCombo1 = true
}

...

if (startAcroCombo1){
    startAcroCombo1 = false;
    AcroCombo1.begin(switch1);
}



Code: Select all

if (switch1){
    this.beginNormal();
  }else{
    this.beginReverse();
  }

Post Reply