How do I calibrate the channels on my TX?

Post Reply
shaymus
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 10:07 pm

How do I calibrate the channels on my TX?

Post by shaymus »

When I look at the GUI, all my channels are centered around 1500. However, the minimum values I get are around 1200 and the max is around 1800. I can't arm the control board unless I use the trims to lower the throttle and increase the yaw to the right. I am also not able to disarm the board / motors.

I've tried to increase the travel on my radio (Hitec Aurora) to 150%, but that does not have any effect. Is this something that I need to edit in the sketch?

Thanks!

PatrikE
Posts: 1976
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:35 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: How do I calibrate the channels on my TX?

Post by PatrikE »

If you can't fix it in the radio.
Modify in Multiwii Tab.

Code: Select all

// ******************
// rc functions
// ******************
#define MINCHECK 1100
#define MAXCHECK 1900

shaymus
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 10:07 pm

Re: How do I calibrate the channels on my TX?

Post by shaymus »

Thanks, I'll try that next. Will that one setting apply to all the channels, or do I need to do that for each?

shaymus
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 10:07 pm

Re: How do I calibrate the channels on my TX?

Post by shaymus »

I just checked and this is what is in the sketch and uploaded to my WMC:

// ******************
// rc functions
// ******************
#define MINCHECK 1100
#define MAXCHECK 1900

When I have the GUI loaded I can only see values between 1200 and 1800.

PatrikE
Posts: 1976
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:35 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: How do I calibrate the channels on my TX?

Post by PatrikE »

Try to set 1250 & 1750.
It will apply on all channels.

shaymus
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 10:07 pm

Re: How do I calibrate the channels on my TX?

Post by shaymus »

This worked, and after some experimentation, it seems that the lowest value I can use that still arms the board is 1150.

Now, however, I have another problem. When the board arms, the motors spin up and I can't make them stop unless I disarm the board. No amount of down trim on the throttle has an effect.

If I plug the speed controllers directly into the receiver, it operates normally.

Another issue I have is the one of the motors is making more power than the others. I have recalibrated the ESCs but that does not have any effect. Any ideas? See attached image.

Thanks in advance.
Attachments
motors.png
(4.65 KiB) Not downloaded yet

KeesvR
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 6:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: How do I calibrate the channels on my TX?

Post by KeesvR »

This is normal, you can use the motorstop function to stop the motors at low throttle.
/* motors will not spin when the throttle command is in low position
   this is an alternative method to stop immediately the motors */
#define MOTOR_STOP


shaymus
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 10:07 pm

Re: How do I calibrate the channels on my TX?

Post by shaymus »

That worked, thanks!

Getting closer. It flies ok. Need to tune now.

Post Reply