Page 1 of 1

Set value of aux channel

Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 9:11 pm
by asti
Hello,

I have a distance sensor attached to the bottom of my copter. Furthermore I have the great EZ GUI for Android, which communicates via bluetooth and displays the sensor values and aux channel values etc. of the MultiWii.
Now I want to read the distance value of the sensor and set it to one of the aux channels, so that I can monitor the value using EZ GUI.

So my question is: Where in the MultiWii code is an appropriate place to read the sensor value and (more importantly) which variable do I need to set to have the distance value show up in aux5?
Of course aux5 is not used otherwise because my remote control has 8 channels.

I hope you can help me.

Re: Set value of aux channel

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 10:08 pm
by asti
I found a solution.
To have the variable show up in the GUI as aux5, set the variable rcData[8]. But note that the value needs to be between 1000 and 2000. Because my distance sensor gives values between 10 and 80, I add 1000 to rcData[8] to have it displayed properly in the GUI.

I put the code to update the distance value in the main loop, which works. However, I'm not sure if it is wise to place it there. The code requires a single analogRead every tick, which takes about 100 microseconds (Arduino documentation). I don't think it is a problem to do this every tick, but it would be nice if some expert here could confirm this.

Re: Set value of aux channel

Posted: Wed Apr 27, 2016 9:55 am
by Metori
I think use of AUX values as debug output is not a good practice. MultiWii have debug[0] - debug[3] variables for your purposes. This values, as I know, viewable in EZ-GUI.