MSP_SET_RAW_RC not working

This forum is dedicated to software development related to MultiWii.
It is not the right place to submit a setup problem.
Software download
Post Reply
anshulsanam
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 4:43 am

MSP_SET_RAW_RC not working

Post by anshulsanam »

Hello everyone,

I am currently working on a quadcopter about the size of your palm. At first I made my own code, and it worked for 2 seconds before utterly failing. Thus, I have resorted to using multiwii. Eventually the quadcopter will be controlled via bluetooth, but right now I am communicating with it through MSP using a cable. I am using this python package -> https://github.com/alduxvm/pyMultiWii with the test-send.py program
I am able to query the current rc values, and the IMU values. The problem arises when trying to send commands through MSP_SET_RAW_RC.

Here is the link to view my current multiwii code, perhaps I haven't configured it correctly or something --> https://drive.google.com/folderview?id= ... sp=sharing

Here's a link to download the same code --> https://www.dropbox.com/sh/uv4158ahjtxp ... MLlca?dl=0


I would really appreciate it if someone can tell me where exactly I'm going wrong.

PatrikE
Posts: 1976
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:35 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: MSP_SET_RAW_RC not working

Post by PatrikE »

Have not looked any closer at your code but...
You must send MSP_SET_RAW_RC repeatedly with a ~20hz timer.

anshulsanam
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 4:43 am

Re: MSP_SET_RAW_RC not working

Post by anshulsanam »

I've tried sending it every 0.05 seconds and even every 0.15 seconds. It doesn't work.

anshulsanam
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 4:43 am

Re: MSP_SET_RAW_RC not working

Post by anshulsanam »

Does anyone have any idea what's wrong?

PatrikE
Posts: 1976
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:35 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: MSP_SET_RAW_RC not working

Post by PatrikE »

I have played around a little before to make a GroundStation/Variometer.
Have a MSP Rc transmitter built in to it.
It's a Arduino project but you might get some Idés from it.
Attachments
MWiiVario.zip
(4.99 KiB) Downloaded 281 times

anshulsanam
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 4:43 am

Re: MSP_SET_RAW_RC not working

Post by anshulsanam »

To use MSP_SET_RAW_RC do you need to have a transmitter? So far I've been trying to get it working without an actual RC transmitter.

PatrikE
Posts: 1976
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:35 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: MSP_SET_RAW_RC not working

Post by PatrikE »

No you can control entirely with MSP_SET_RAW_RC .
Rc gets overridden by MSP_SET_RAW_RC if the channel value is >0.

In fact you can run RC in parallel with msp.
Msp will act as a Dual command master.
ex. handle the flight with RC and AUX with msp.
Send msp channels as zero if you want RC to control the channels.
Send Valid 1000 -2000 to take over with msp.

Ez-Gui have a built in feature for this.

Post Reply