IMU.cpp - Attitude of the Estimated Vector

This forum is dedicated to software development related to MultiWii.
It is not the right place to submit a setup problem.
Software download
FlavioLD

IMU.cpp - Attitude of the Estimated Vector

Post by FlavioLD »

Regards!

I am studying the Multiwii code (v2.3), but I have a doubt that I still could not resolve and would like some help.

The question is,
why, in the code below, att.angle[PITCH] is not calculated similarly to att.angle[ROLL]?

Ex:
att.angle [PITCH] = _atan2 (EstG32.V.Y, EstG32.V.Z);
:?:

The code is at IMU.cpp file, function getEstimatedAttitude, and was changed from version 2.1 to 2.2:

// Attitude of the estimated vector
int32_t sqGX_sqGZ = sq(EstG32.V.X) + sq(EstG32.V.Z);
invG = InvSqrt(sqGX_sqGZ + sq(EstG32.V.Y));
att.angle[ROLL] = _atan2(EstG32.V.X, EstG32.V.Z);
att.angle[PITCH] = _atan2(EstG32.V.Y, InvSqrt(sqGX_sqGZ)*sqGX_sqGZ); :?:
Flaviold is online now Send a private message to Flaviold Find More Posts by Flaviold
Last edited by FlavioLD on Sun Nov 15, 2015 8:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Plüschi

Re: IMU.cpp - Attitude of the Estimated Vector

Post by Plüschi »

FlavioLD wrote:

Code: Select all

Flaviold is online now  Send a private message to Flaviold  Find More Posts by Flaviold

I dont understand that part of the code. /t

Lecostarius

Re: IMU.cpp - Attitude of the Estimated Vector

Post by Lecostarius »

Hi,

this is related to the fact that the angles measure two rotations where one is executed after the other.

The order counts: if you first do the pitch rotation, and then the roll you get a different result than if you first rotate around roll and then pitch.