GPS integration

This forum is dedicated to software development related to MultiWii.
It is not the right place to submit a setup problem.
Software download

Re: GPS integration

Postby Crashpilot1000 » Wed Feb 27, 2013 5:30 pm

Hi, gabe!
As far as i know the 3drobotics 1.9 FW is just available for mtk3329 chipsets branded by globaltop. Flashing this fw on mtk3339 (like yours) will probably brick it. It shoud be no problem for globaltop to "make" such a FW for mtk3339 as well. I wonder why they haven't already, or is it already somewhere available?
User avatar
Crashpilot1000
 
Posts: 631
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 7:38 pm

Re: GPS integration

Postby Gartenflieger » Wed Feb 27, 2013 7:06 pm

I can confirm :oops: that uploading the 3329-1.9 FW into the 3339 will brick it _FOREVER_ .

P.S. Or maybe not so forever? If someone knows a way to reanimate it, let me know, I still have the brick lying around somewhere...
User avatar
Gartenflieger
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 10:07 pm
Location: Dortmund, Germany

Re: GPS integration

Postby Crashpilot1000 » Wed Feb 27, 2013 8:13 pm

Ohhh.. perhaps you can email with your retailer or global top. I am pretty sure that there must be a software way to "unbrick" it. Perhaps they have a tool or FW for you?
User avatar
Crashpilot1000
 
Posts: 631
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 7:38 pm

Re: GPS integration

Postby Gartenflieger » Fri Mar 01, 2013 8:30 am

Yes indeed, as the MTK is a Drotek unit, I might actually get something sensible out of the vendor.
User avatar
Gartenflieger
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 10:07 pm
Location: Dortmund, Germany

Re: GPS integration

Postby mahowik » Sat Mar 02, 2013 12:48 am

Hi guys!

Could someone share optimal GPS pids for position hold? It seems default pids for this too soft... on the wind it keeps position in window of 10-15m

Also this doc (in terms of pid tuning) already obsolete I suppose?
https://code.google.com/p/i2c-gps-nav/d ... c&can=2&q=

thx-
Alex
mahowik
 
Posts: 331
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 6:26 pm

Re: GPS integration

Postby dramida » Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:39 am

Hi Alex, you are right about pids.

I usualy increase VelP to 0.2 and PosP to 3 and this give me a better positioning on wind. See this clip http://youtu.be/fbEMrn7NMhU?t=3m24s on 3:28 i was doying GPS pos hold and the weather was a little windy.
You could test inflight with a BT device and EZ-gui different values. I recommand to do the test on a windy day because i had the surprise that on a calm weather the settings were deadly accurate and on wind, the copter was all over the place.
best regards, Mihai.
User avatar
dramida
 
Posts: 473
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Bucharest

Re: GPS integration

Postby mahowik » Sat Mar 02, 2013 4:00 am

Thanks Mihai !

I will try it. Any other recommendations? Prediction filter make sense?
Code: Select all
#define GPS_LEAD_FILTER


Also question about long range connection beetwen bluetooth and x-copter (on video below). You are using 3DR modem + BT?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qpoPanmVa9Y

Android device+BT <==air==> BT_module<-->uart<-->long range modem (like 3DR roborics) <==air==> 3DR modem<-->uart<-->copter

thx-
Alex
Last edited by mahowik on Thu Mar 14, 2013 9:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
mahowik
 
Posts: 331
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 6:26 pm

Re: GPS integration

Postby dramida » Sat Mar 02, 2013 1:04 pm

I use only BT devices from RCTimer, here is the pictures where you can see the BT antenna (hacked from frsky 40cm antenna - HK) hanging by landing gear. This gives me a BT range of about 180-200m with a samsung galaxy smartphone.
And i bet that if you do the same antenna mods of BT device on ground (for wingui), range would double again, at least.

The antenna details can be seen in the third picture from this album:

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set= ... 459&type=1
User avatar
dramida
 
Posts: 473
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Bucharest

Re: GPS integration

Postby crono » Sun Mar 03, 2013 8:46 pm

in the new dev What should I set for this gps www.drotek.fr - I2C PA6C GPS + LLC breakout board I have activated

# define NMEA
# define I2C_GPS

Is that right??

filter? //#define GPS_FILTERING // add a 5 element moving average filter to GPS coordinates, helps eliminate gps noise but adds latency comment out to disable
crono
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:52 pm

Re: GPS integration

Postby kavehslt » Mon Mar 04, 2013 1:52 pm

HI Everyone
my GPS module is EB-85A from Etek navigation company.
in test when i connect my board(with your i2c-gps-nav Ver:V2-2) to multiwii(dev_r1317) the i2c errors happen i don't know how should i solve this problem my internal pull up is De active and i use two 10K ohm resistor for external pull up .
when i connect the gps alone the errors appear and with other sensors (WMP+NUNCHK) the errors still there but my gyro and accelerometer work good.

it seems my i2c nav board work correctly but in sending data the error happens.
please help me.
kavehslt
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 6:04 pm

Re: GPS integration

Postby crono » Mon Mar 04, 2013 9:49 pm

I activate the GPS on quadricopter starts to oscillate as fast as ever on what value I have to fix? pid?
crono
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:52 pm

Re: GPS integration

Postby kavehslt » Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:00 am

HI Everyone
my GPS module is EB-85A from Etek navigation company.
in test when i connect my board(with your i2c-gps-nav Ver:V2-2) to multiwii(dev_r1317) the i2c errors happen i don't know how should i solve this problem my internal pull up is De active and i use two 10K ohm resistor for external pull up .
when i connect the gps alone the errors appear and with other sensors (WMP+NUNCHK) the errors still there but my gyro and accelerometer work good.

it seems my i2c nav board work correctly but in sending data the error happens.
please help me.
kavehslt
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 6:04 pm

Re: GPS integration

Postby kavehslt » Fri Mar 08, 2013 7:03 pm

Please HELP

would you mind helping me please
kavehslt
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 6:04 pm

Re: GPS integration

Postby Crashpilot1000 » Wed Mar 13, 2013 2:34 am

@kavehslt: Hi!
I think you run into some hardware - issues there caused mainly by your sensors and their lower I2C speed and pullup resistor stuff. I think the I2C gps requires "400" and the original nunchuck/wmp combo only does "100", perhaps the I2C speed is switched between the reads? The GPS function rely on good magnetometer function and a good leveling of the copter. As i recall my nunchuk was bad in that regard. I think it's time for you to upgrade your hardware. The only thing you could try out to get this somehow running is lowering your 10K resistors to 2,2K or 3,x K because 10K is too much from the sources i found.
Greets Rob
User avatar
Crashpilot1000
 
Posts: 631
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 7:38 pm

Re: GPS integration

Postby mahowik » Thu Mar 14, 2013 8:04 pm

crono wrote:I activate the GPS on quadricopter starts to oscillate as fast as ever on what value I have to fix? pid?

Have the same issue with lead filter, i.e. when GPS_LEAD_FILTER define activated... When GPS_FILTERING activated, issue is gone..
mahowik
 
Posts: 331
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 6:26 pm

Re: GPS integration

Postby kavehslt » Tue Mar 19, 2013 8:31 pm

dear crashpilot
I change both speed to same value but the error still here!!!!
I will change the 10k to your suggestion and i will report the the result
kavehslt
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 6:04 pm

Re: GPS integration

Postby Federico » Fri Mar 22, 2013 12:32 am

mahowik wrote:
crono wrote:I activate the GPS on quadricopter starts to oscillate as fast as ever on what value I have to fix? pid?

Have the same issue with lead filter, i.e. when GPS_LEAD_FILTER define activated... When GPS_FILTERING activated, issue is gone..


I don't know if mine it's the same issue, activating gps (pos hold) it starts to vibrate a bit and the corrections are a bit strong, the angles are about 10-15° of corrections and look like it's going to crash. Then I deactivate the gps...
Federico
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 12:32 am
Location: Italy

Odp: GPS integration

Postby ezio » Fri Mar 22, 2013 8:12 am

My vibrates with and without lead filter. The same was with 2.1

Bart
User avatar
ezio
 
Posts: 827
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:03 pm
Location: Paris

Re: GPS integration

Postby KeesvR » Sun Mar 31, 2013 1:19 pm

I have a Flytron Navigator V1 GPS.
I'm trying to get my GPS working with binary protocol, but it's not working.
I've flashed the gps with 1.9 firmware.
With Minigps set it to 115200 and 10hrz also tried 5hrz.

With NMEA protocol it's working fine, but with Binary protocol I see nothing in the GUI.

What am I doing wrong, or is it not possible with my GPS ?
What are the settings for I2C GPS Config.H and MultiWii Config.H ?

Thanks.
KeesvR
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 6:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: GPS integration

Postby felixrising » Tue Apr 02, 2013 12:15 pm

Sounds like some PID tuning is required to reduce the strength of corrections.. there are a few posts on position hold tuning.. use the search and google to find EOSBandi's older but still valuable pdf document on PH and RTH nav tuning.
felixrising
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 12:34 am
Location: Australia

Re: GPS integration

Postby felixrising » Tue Apr 02, 2013 12:40 pm

KeesvR wrote:I have a Flytron Navigator V1 GPS.
I'm trying to get my GPS working with binary protocol, but it's not working.
I've flashed the gps with 1.9 firmware.
With Minigps set it to 115200 and 10hrz also tried 5hrz.

With NMEA protocol it's working fine, but with Binary protocol I see nothing in the GUI.

What am I doing wrong, or is it not possible with my GPS ?
What are the settings for I2C GPS Config.H and MultiWii Config.H ?

Thanks.


Hi,

I'm not sure about binary protocol vs NMEA. As I understand it, if you are using a I2C-GPS-Nav module, you should just modify the config.h file as follows uncomment the "#define I2C_GPS" and optionally "#define GPS_LEAD_FILTER" and configure MAG_DECLINATION (which btw you can get from the Android MultiWii EZ-GUI app under the Dashboard GPS button).

Perhaps I'm misunderstanding your question.. is it the binary mode data transfer between the GPS module and I2C-GPS-NAV module that's not working?

EDIT: I'm looking at the I2C-GPS-NAV_v2_2 code, the two binary mode transfers the GPS supports look like MTK specific stuff. I assume if you set BAUD rate to the 38400 and define NMEA along with INIT_MTK_GPS it should be auto-configured, you could try changing the NMEA define to each of the binary modes and see whether it automagically gets configured and works, if it doesn't work just go back to NMEA. I assume your GPS module is this one? (http://www.flytron.com/osd-headtrackers ... odule.html) which is indeed a MeditaTek unit, but I can't find any information about switching it to use MTK Binary protocol 16 or 19 manually if the auto define INIT_MTK_GPS doesn't work.. This document indicates it does RTCM(?) and NMEA 0183 v3.01 as well as two others: http://www.flytron.com/pdf/OPA6B.pdf.. if you have a I2C-GPS-NAV board, then unless it's really not keeping up with NMEA sentence parsing as well as the NAV code, then I'd be happy with NMEA at 10hz... Personally I find the NEO-6M module from Crius (CN-06 v2) which talks ublox and can be had for as little as $25 is very easy to integrate and works well. Another interesting thread which mentions your GPS here: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=649&start=1030.
felixrising
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 12:34 am
Location: Australia

Re: GPS integration

Postby scrat » Tue Apr 30, 2013 3:21 pm

Hi guys.

Is this still valid for uBlox GPS from rctimer v2?

from config.h file MWii v2.2 - UBLOX - U-Blox binary protocol, use the ublox config file (u-blox-config.ublox.txt) from the source tree

Thanks.
scrat
 
Posts: 925
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:47 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: GPS integration

Postby Kayle » Tue Apr 30, 2013 8:49 pm

Hello,

i use i2c nav board mit the newest firmware and a PA6C Global Tec GPS. GPS is set to 115k2, 10Hz, NMEA. In GUI i get 3D FIX with 7 SATS. But ALT is shown as "113m". This can´t be correct. ALT is in my tests only 3m. Why shows multiwii 113m ? Can someone help me ?

Kayle
Kayle
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 6:45 pm

Re: GPS integration

Postby EOSBandi » Tue Apr 30, 2013 10:10 pm

Kayle wrote:Hello,

i use i2c nav board mit the newest firmware and a PA6C Global Tec GPS. GPS is set to 115k2, 10Hz, NMEA. In GUI i get 3D FIX with 7 SATS. But ALT is shown as "113m". This can´t be correct. ALT is in my tests only 3m. Why shows multiwii 113m ? Can someone help me ?

Kayle

Are you live in Netherland ? GPS alt is MSL alt....
User avatar
EOSBandi
 
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: GPS integration

Postby Kayle » Tue Apr 30, 2013 10:16 pm

EOSBandi wrote:
Kayle wrote:Hello,

i use i2c nav board mit the newest firmware and a PA6C Global Tec GPS. GPS is set to 115k2, 10Hz, NMEA. In GUI i get 3D FIX with 7 SATS. But ALT is shown as "113m". This can´t be correct. ALT is in my tests only 3m. Why shows multiwii 113m ? Can someone help me ?

Kayle

Are you live in Netherland ? GPS alt is MSL alt....


Hi,

no i live in Germany. Does multiwii zero the alt at arming ?

Kayle
Kayle
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 6:45 pm

Re: GPS integration

Postby scrat » Tue Apr 30, 2013 10:24 pm

scrat wrote:Hi guys.

Is this still valid for uBlox GPS from rctimer v2?

from config.h file MWii v2.2 - UBLOX - U-Blox binary protocol, use the ublox config file (u-blox-config.ublox.txt) from the source tree

Thanks.


EOSBandi neighbour :) pliz help me with this answer.
scrat
 
Posts: 925
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:47 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: GPS integration

Postby snowzach » Wed May 01, 2013 6:06 pm

scrat wrote:
scrat wrote:Hi guys.

Is this still valid for uBlox GPS from rctimer v2?

from config.h file MWii v2.2 - UBLOX - U-Blox binary protocol, use the ublox config file (u-blox-config.ublox.txt) from the source tree

Thanks.


EOSBandi neighbour :) pliz help me with this answer.


Yes, that's probably still true. From within the uBlox control center there's an option where you can send a GPS config.

I know there is this one: http://code.google.com/p/i2c-gps-nav/source/browse/trunk/I2C_GPS_NAV/u-blox-config.ublox.txt

It basically tells the GPS to send at 115200, uBlox binary format.
snowzach
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 4:19 pm

Re: GPS integration

Postby scrat » Fri May 03, 2013 7:11 am

Thanks for answer.

But I just want to know if I still need to upload this file to my GPS with MWii v2.2 or not because GPS on my quad works pretty good.
scrat
 
Posts: 925
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:47 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: GPS integration

Postby tryss » Mon May 06, 2013 10:11 am

Hi guys !!

I'm a bit disapointed because of my GPM MTK (1.9 or 1.6) from DIYDRONES who doesn't work on my AIO PRO V2 (RCTIMER) with Multiwii 2.2
please what i have to do for it works ?
This post is really huge and i'm not so courageous guy to read all the posts.

Another question ? what bring the last R1391 ??? i cannot found any read me file about this release ??

Thanks for your kindly responses.
tryss
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 11:01 am

Re: GPS integration

Postby felixrising » Tue May 07, 2013 4:25 am

Hi Tryss,

Code changes/commits can be found here: https://code.google.com/p/multiwii/source/list

I don't have a MediaTek, so I'm inferring here.
The MediaTek MT3329 (please confirm that is the one you have), talks NMEA (you can try the binary modes though which I think it better than NMEA) you should only have to connect it to Serial 2 and uncomment '#define GPS_SERIAL 2', '#define GPS_BAUD 115200', '#define NMEA', '#define INIT_MTK_GPS'. You may need to update your GPS firmware to get the BINARY modes.

Do some thread searches for your GPS model number. Some more on MTK_BINARYxx here http://www.multiwii.com/forum/search.php?keywords=MTK_BINARY&t=649&sf=msgonly
felixrising
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 12:34 am
Location: Australia

Re: GPS integration

Postby crashlander » Tue May 07, 2013 5:59 am

scrat wrote:Thanks for answer.

But I just want to know if I still need to upload this file to my GPS with MWii v2.2 or not because GPS on my quad works pretty good.

After 2.1 Eos and Alex implemented full NEO configuration directly into MWII (serial version at least). It means no additional configuration of NEO modules is necessary.

Regards
Andrej
Last edited by crashlander on Tue May 07, 2013 8:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
crashlander
 
Posts: 506
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 8:13 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: GPS integration

Postby scrat » Tue May 07, 2013 8:39 am

crashlander wrote:
scrat wrote:Thanks for answer.

But I just want to know if I still need to upload this file to my GPS with MWii v2.2 or not because GPS on my quad works pretty good.

After 2.1 Eos and Alex implemented full NEO configuration directly into MWII (serial version at least). It means no additional configuration of NEO modules are necessary.

Regards
Andrej


Hvala - Thanks.
scrat
 
Posts: 925
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:47 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: GPS integration

Postby tryss » Tue May 07, 2013 10:24 am

Thanks felix for all these infos :)
tryss
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 11:01 am

Re: GPS integration

Postby alll » Tue May 07, 2013 10:55 pm

I played for the first time with UBlox GPS rc-timer v1 (without eeprom). I uploaded the configuration file to it u-blox-config.ublox.txt
Is this one also valid?
http://diydrones.com/xn/detail/705844:Comment:1222521

Thanks,
manu

snowzach wrote:
scrat wrote:
scrat wrote:Hi guys.

Is this still valid for uBlox GPS from rctimer v2?

from config.h file MWii v2.2 - UBLOX - U-Blox binary protocol, use the ublox config file (u-blox-config.ublox.txt) from the source tree

Thanks.


EOSBandi neighbour :) pliz help me with this answer.


Yes, that's probably still true. From within the uBlox control center there's an option where you can send a GPS config.

I know there is this one: http://code.google.com/p/i2c-gps-nav/source/browse/trunk/I2C_GPS_NAV/u-blox-config.ublox.txt

It basically tells the GPS to send at 115200, uBlox binary format.
User avatar
alll
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 9:53 am

Re: GPS integration

Postby alll » Tue May 07, 2013 10:56 pm

I played for the first time with UBlox GPS rc-timer v1 (without eeprom). I uploaded the configuration file to it u-blox-config.ublox.txt
Is this one also valid?
http://diydrones.com/xn/detail/705844:Comment:1222521

Thanks,
manu
User avatar
alll
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 9:53 am

Re: GPS integration

Postby scrat » Tue May 07, 2013 11:10 pm

alll wrote:I played for the first time with UBlox GPS rc-timer v1 (without eeprom). I uploaded the configuration file to it u-blox-config.ublox.txt
Is this one also valid?
http://diydrones.com/xn/detail/705844:Comment:1222521

Thanks,
manu


I don't think so. I've read that for arducopter there is different refresh rate...38400 or something. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.
scrat
 
Posts: 925
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:47 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: GPS integration

Postby crashlander » Wed May 08, 2013 5:53 am

If you select:
#define UBLOX

MWII will try all baud rates to determine GPS current one and than it will set/override whatever was set before with proper settings for ublox binary protocol, refresh rate (5Hz) and speed that you set with:
Code: Select all
#define GPS_BAUD   57600

And for ublox binary 57600bps is enough.

Regards
Andrej
crashlander
 
Posts: 506
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 8:13 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: GPS integration

Postby felixrising » Wed May 08, 2013 7:37 am

I thought ublox ucenter txt config file sets to 115200 and 10Hz update rate, but you say MW2.2 is setting it to 5Hz? I understand that having a higher GPS refresh rate doesn't necessarily give you better accuracy in the numbers coming in from the GPS, on the contrary, but thought that the recommendation was 10Hz for the uBlox NEO-6m stuff....
felixrising
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 12:34 am
Location: Australia

Re: GPS integration

Postby crashlander » Wed May 08, 2013 7:58 am

felixrising wrote: recommendation was 10Hz for the uBlox NEO-6m stuff....

NEO 6 is by spec. 5Hz device that can also send data with 10Hz (twice same data) (was discussed a year ago in this or the thread with name "Neo6 fails to perform on mega...")

Regards
Andrej
Last edited by crashlander on Wed May 08, 2013 6:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
crashlander
 
Posts: 506
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 8:13 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: GPS integration

Postby felixrising » Wed May 08, 2013 9:00 am

Thanks! That explains a lot. I was always a bit confused why ucenter refused to set 10Hz update rate... I assumed that was a ucenter bug and not actually the limitation of NEO-6m.
felixrising
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 12:34 am
Location: Australia

Re: GPS integration

Postby alll » Wed May 08, 2013 5:59 pm

crashlander wrote:
scrat wrote:Thanks for answer.

But I just want to know if I still need to upload this file to my GPS with MWii v2.2 or not because GPS on my quad works pretty good.

After 2.1 Eos and Alex implemented full NEO configuration directly into MWII (serial version at least). It means no additional configuration of NEO modules is necessary.

Regards
Andrej


Is this "native" implementations also available for the i2c nav module (serial to i2c)?

manu
User avatar
alll
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 9:53 am

Re: GPS integration

Postby crashlander » Wed May 08, 2013 6:23 pm

@alll
Never used I2C version and can not comment on that.

Regards
Andrej
crashlander
 
Posts: 506
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 8:13 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: GPS integration

Postby Crashpilot1000 » Sat May 18, 2013 12:29 pm

Hi! I have a proposal for extending the original ublox init block.
What do you think of it?

Cheers
Kraut Rob

Code: Select all
#if defined(UBLOX)
/*
 Think about the dynamic model of your ublox.
 Interesting for us is PEDESTRIAN and may be PORTABLE.
 http://www.diydrones.com/forum/topics/ac-2-9-1-vs-2-8-1-gps-accuracy?commentId=705844%3AComment%3A1131867
 If you are using http://code.google.com/p/ardupilot-mega/source/browse/libraries/AP_GPS/config/3DR-Ublox.txt?name=ArduPlane-2.50
 for ublox configuration, you might want to force the Pdestrian dynamic model here because it is otherwise preset to AIRBORNE_4G.
 Here is the chart:
Ublox dynModel     Velocity m/s    Vertical Velocity m/s    Altitude m    Position Deviation
PORTABLE    = 0         310                50                 12000          Medium
STATIONARY  = 2          10                 6                  9000          Small
PEDESTRIAN  = 3          30                20                  9000          Small
AUTOMOTIVE  = 4          84                15                  6000          Medium
SEA         = 5          25                 5                   500          Medium
AIRBORNE_1G = 6         100               100                 50000          Large
AIRBORNE_2G = 7         250               100                 50000          Large
AIRBORNE_4G = 8         500               100                 50000          Large
*/

#define ForcePedestrian

prog_char UBLOX_INIT[] PROGMEM = { // PROGMEM array must be outside any function !!!

#ifdef ForcePedestrian
0xB5, 0x62, 0x06, 0x24, 0x24, 0x00, 0xFF, 0xFF, 0x03, 0x03, 0x00,
0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x10, 0x27, 0x00, 0x00, 0x05, 0x00, 0xFA, 0x00,
0xFA, 0x00, 0x64, 0x00, 0x2C, 0x01, 0x00, 0x3C, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x4F, 0x82,
#endif

0xB5,0x62,0x06,0x01,0x03,0x00,0xF0,0x05,0x00,0xFF,0x19, //disable all default NMEA messages
0xB5,0x62,0x06,0x01,0x03,0x00,0xF0,0x03,0x00,0xFD,0x15,
0xB5,0x62,0x06,0x01,0x03,0x00,0xF0,0x01,0x00,0xFB,0x11,
0xB5,0x62,0x06,0x01,0x03,0x00,0xF0,0x00,0x00,0xFA,0x0F,
0xB5,0x62,0x06,0x01,0x03,0x00,0xF0,0x02,0x00,0xFC,0x13,
0xB5,0x62,0x06,0x01,0x03,0x00,0xF0,0x04,0x00,0xFE,0x17,
0xB5,0x62,0x06,0x01,0x03,0x00,0x01,0x02,0x01,0x0E,0x47, //set POSLLH MSG rate
0xB5,0x62,0x06,0x01,0x03,0x00,0x01,0x03,0x01,0x0F,0x49, //set STATUS MSG rate
0xB5,0x62,0x06,0x01,0x03,0x00,0x01,0x06,0x01,0x12,0x4F, //set SOL MSG rate
0xB5,0x62,0x06,0x01,0x03,0x00,0x01,0x12,0x01,0x1E,0x67, //set VELNED MSG rate
0xB5,0x62,0x06,0x16,0x08,0x00,0x03,0x07,0x03,0x00,0x51,0x08,0x00,0x00,0x8A,0x41, //set WAAS to EGNOS
0xB5, 0x62, 0x06, 0x08, 0x06, 0x00, 0xC8, 0x00, 0x01, 0x00, 0x01, 0x00, 0xDE, 0x6A //set rate to 5Hz
};
#endif


User avatar
Crashpilot1000
 
Posts: 631
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 7:38 pm

Re: GPS integration

Postby brm » Sat May 18, 2013 2:12 pm

normally you would use the u-blox config sw to do so.

a copter or fixed wing is 'somewhat' faster than you and your sneakers.
thus defining 'SEA' would also be better suited.
brm
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 12:00 pm

Re: GPS integration

Postby Crashpilot1000 » Sat May 18, 2013 2:24 pm

Yes, but not everybody has easy access to the ublox once soldered and mounted. And not everybody is a ucenter freak. I think it's a nifty "define". Just an idea. Take it or leave it. But interesting to know that the multiwii plane part has full gps support at the moment - i haven't imagined that, because i just fly my slow multirotors (that don't go over 20m/s = 72km/h).
Cheers Kraut Rob
Last edited by Crashpilot1000 on Sun May 19, 2013 12:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Crashpilot1000
 
Posts: 631
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 7:38 pm

Re: GPS integration

Postby alll » Sun May 19, 2013 9:01 am

Hi,

Does the GPS-navigation logic uses the altitude data of the GPS to maintain altitude hold? I ask because i have a tuned baro-alt-hold, and once i engage GPS-hold it starts yoyo.
What are the dependencies/ what is using what?
For example, does baro alt hold uses the z-accelerometer or only the baro?
Level: gyro+acc in complementary mode?
Horizon :
Alt : baro + z-acc?
GPS-hold : x-y coordinates, z?

thanks,
manu
User avatar
alll
 
Posts: 220
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 9:53 am

Re: GPS integration

Postby EOSBandi » Sun May 19, 2013 9:30 pm

alll wrote:Hi,

Does the GPS-navigation logic uses the altitude data of the GPS to maintain altitude hold? I ask because i have a tuned baro-alt-hold, and once i engage GPS-hold it starts yoyo.
What are the dependencies/ what is using what?
For example, does baro alt hold uses the z-accelerometer or only the baro?
Level: gyro+acc in complementary mode?
Horizon :
Alt : baro + z-acc?
GPS-hold : x-y coordinates, z?

thanks,
manu

GPS altitude is untrusted. The alt hold info is coming from the barometer and the Z-acc. But angle throttle correction could should be needed...
User avatar
EOSBandi
 
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: GPS integration

Postby EOSBandi » Sun May 19, 2013 9:32 pm

alll wrote:
crashlander wrote:
scrat wrote:Thanks for answer.

But I just want to know if I still need to upload this file to my GPS with MWii v2.2 or not because GPS on my quad works pretty good.

After 2.1 Eos and Alex implemented full NEO configuration directly into MWII (serial version at least). It means no additional configuration of NEO modules is necessary.

Regards
Andrej


Is this "native" implementations also available for the i2c nav module (serial to i2c)?

manu

in 2.2 beta
User avatar
EOSBandi
 
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: GPS integration

Postby NikTheGreek » Wed May 22, 2013 1:45 pm

Hi.
Im using SKM53 MT3329 GPS module flashed with AXN_1.50 0327 firmware.
10Hz 115200Speed.

There is a better - newer firmware than the one i'm using now ?
Thank you in advance.
User avatar
NikTheGreek
 
Posts: 348
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 4:17 pm
Location: Greece

Re: GPS integration

Postby Gimbal » Wed May 22, 2013 5:58 pm

viewtopic.php?f=8&t=649&start=1540

"Hi!
3drobotics just released a new firmware for MTK 3329 it is called 1.9 or "AXN1.51_2776_3329_384.1151100.5_v19.bin". You can grab it here: http://code.google.com/p/ardupilot-mega ... n&can=2&q=

This FW 1.9 responds in binary mode with one decimal more precision(!)than current mtk binary or nmea and has therefor an altered syncword."

And then un comment "//#define MTK_BINARY19" in config.h
Gimbal
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 7:14 pm
Location: Sweden

PreviousNext

Return to Software development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests

cron