Page 4 of 20

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Sun Dec 22, 2013 8:32 pm
by EOSBandi
copterrichie wrote:Please, EOSBanbi, may I ask for the addition MP_GPS_TIME to the protocol or to expansion the MSP_SET_RAW_GPS to include the GPS Time? Reason being, the Raspberry Pi does not have a realtime clock as well as many OSDs. I can set the time zone in my application.

Thank you.

It's not only the question of the protocol. GPS time does not used and not decoded.

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Sun Dec 22, 2013 11:59 pm
by copterrichie
EOSBandi wrote:It's not only the question of the protocol. GPS time does not used and not decoded.



Sorry, I saw the following and assumed it was.


Code: Select all

struct diyd_mtk_msg {
        int32_t  latitude;
        int32_t  longitude;
        int32_t  altitude;
        int32_t  ground_speed;
        int32_t  ground_course;
        uint8_t  satellites;
        uint8_t  fix_type;
        uint32_t utc_date; <---
        uint32_t utc_time; <---
        uint16_t hdop;
    };

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Mon Dec 23, 2013 10:48 pm
by EOSBandi
Hi Folks !
Here is something for XMAS !
MultiWii 2.3 navi beta4 and WinGUI 2.3pre7

NOTE !!!! Save your settings, because there are changes in the eeprom structure, so your settings will reset to default....

Changes :
MultiWii
Moving all GPS related settings to EEPROM, and make them updatable via GUI.
Fixing GPS lead filter (should not be used in bearing calculation)
Minor changes in distance calculations
Added header byte to naviSim protocol, to prevent misaligned packets
Removed GPSfromOSD - use NaviSim instead.

WinGUI
Added NAV related settings to the FC tuning panel.
WP_radius setting now honored in the mission map drawings
wp-radius and max_wp_number is saved to gui settings after first connect or any
changes
Added spoken notifications
Remove telemetry link quality indicator use 3dr rssi instead
Reworked waypoint markers

I also uploaded a MultiWiiNaviSim program. It is the GPS simulator what I'm using for testing during development.
When enabled in config.h, the multiwii code sends the lat and lon banking information to the gps simulator and it translates it to movement, then sends back the updated gps coordinates in a standard NMEA packet. (No altitude and heading simulation!)

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Tue Dec 24, 2013 8:57 am
by Von.B
Thanks for the XMAS release! Unfortunately they predict rain the next few days over here to try out quickly.

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Tue Dec 24, 2013 5:02 pm
by BeringBullet
looks like the MultiWii 2.3 navi beta4 is a bad upload only a 2,567k file

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Tue Dec 24, 2013 8:20 pm
by EOSBandi
BeringBullet wrote:looks like the MultiWii 2.3 navi beta4 is a bad upload only a 2,567k file

Yeah, sorry. It's a rar file....
I'll upload it again...

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Wed Dec 25, 2013 7:47 pm
by Perry
Hello!
I tried to load the firmware
radio ~ hm_trp.ihx
on the two radio modules 3dr
but I do not understand how you must do.
I might have a little help?
thanks

Perry

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Wed Dec 25, 2013 7:51 pm
by Perry
Hello!
I tried to load the firmware
radio ~ hm_trp.ihx
on the two radio modules 3dr
but I do not understand how do it.
Where the files should be placed?
I might have a little help?
thanks

Perry

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Wed Dec 25, 2013 11:51 pm
by Imen
Perry wrote:Hello!
I tried to load the firmware
radio ~ hm_trp.ihx
on the two radio modules 3dr
but I do not understand how do it.
Where the files should be placed?
I might have a little help?
thanks

Perry


Hi perry, you should use newest 3dr radio software, then you choose "upload custom fimware" then select hm_trp.ihx from EOS

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:44 am
by EOSBandi
Imen wrote:
Perry wrote:Hello!
I tried to load the firmware
radio ~ hm_trp.ihx
on the two radio modules 3dr
but I do not understand how do it.
Where the files should be placed?
I might have a little help?
thanks

Perry


Hi perry, you should use newest 3dr radio software, then you choose "upload custom fimware" then select hm_trp.ihx from EOS

exactly :)

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:23 pm
by dm571
My MultiWii_2.3-navi-b4-xmas-fix doesnt work with WinGUI_2.3pre7(b4)-xmas. Neither USB nor with BT. Old version of GUI works fine with b4-xmas. Am i doing smth wrong?

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:34 pm
by EOSBandi
dm571 wrote:My MultiWii_2.3-navi-b4-xmas-fix doesnt work with WinGUI_2.3pre7(b4)-xmas. Neither USB nor with BT. Old version of GUI works fine with b4-xmas. Am i doing smth wrong?

did you changed the Serial speed back to 115200 in config.h ? I Think i left It at 57600

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:39 pm
by dm571
Yeah, there was 57600 and both ver GUI didnt work. I changed to 115200 and old version works fine. But x-mas still reports an error. P.S. Sorry for my English..

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:50 pm
by EOSBandi
dm571 wrote:Yeah, there was 57600 and both ver GUI didnt work. I changed to 115200 and old version works fine. But x-mas still reports an error. P.S. Sorry for my English..

I can look into it in this evening. Please send me your config.h and state what kind of board are you using.

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Thu Dec 26, 2013 8:25 pm
by EOSBandi
EOSBandi wrote:
dm571 wrote:Yeah, there was 57600 and both ver GUI didnt work. I changed to 115200 and old version works fine. But x-mas still reports an error. P.S. Sorry for my English..

I can look into it in this evening. Please send me your config.h and state what kind of board are you using.

Ok, I found it. It's a logic error in displaying RTH altitude. It will be fixed in the next release, meanwhile please set an exact RTH altitude (larger than 5 meters) in config.h then clear the EEPROM and upload sketch again.

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2013 4:52 pm
by Norf
Hi,

I tested the Nav Beta too today ( Xmas release )
Works fine so far.
Only thing is if you use a larger distance between 2 ponits it overshots very much.
I try to reduce max navigation speed 150 cm/s.

Tested it with the EZ-Gui Beta and all works fine.
Only when trying the POI function the copter makes crazy stuff :D

Norbert

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2013 4:59 pm
by EOSBandi
Norf wrote:Hi,

I tested the Nav Beta too today ( Xmas release )
Works fine so far.
Only thing is if you use a larger distance between 2 ponits it overshots very much.
I try to reduce max navigation speed 150 cm/s.

Tested it with the EZ-Gui Beta and all works fine.
Only when trying the POI function the copter makes crazy stuff :D

Norbert

First please try with WinGUI since this is the currect dev environment, I cannot guaranty working of any functions with EZ-GUI.
It you experience the same behavior with WinGUI then please report it as a bug :D

for overshoot, enable GPS lead filter and slow naw.

Invaild Data error

Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2013 5:27 pm
by Rcg4scuba
Hello,
I hope this is the place to ask this; I cannot launch WinGui 1.04 or 2.1 an error pops up-

Invalid Data Options files contains invalid data around Line:7
Unable to continue!
I am running Win7 64bit

Thanks for your assistance- before posting here, I have looked/searched through this forum and others for an answer with no success.

I have checked/installed the pre-requisites listed (.Net, etc)

Again- thank you.
RG

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2013 5:33 pm
by Norf
Ok will try next time with your gui and lead filter + slow naw!

Short Video of today ;)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HeN7A-94 ... e=youtu.be

Norbert

Re: Invaild Data error

Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2013 5:36 pm
by EOSBandi
Rcg4scuba wrote:Hello,
I hope this is the place to ask this; I cannot launch WinGui 1.04 or 2.1 an error pops up-

Invalid Data Options files contains invalid data around Line:7
Unable to continue!
I am running Win7 64bit

Thanks for your assistance- before posting here, I have looked/searched through this forum and others for an answer with no success.

I have checked/installed the pre-requisites listed (.Net, etc)

Again- thank you.
RG

Actually this is a wrong forum...
But, redownload the wingui version and extract with WinRAR or winZip. It should work.
Check optionsconfig.xml file for errors.

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2013 10:12 pm
by Norf
Hi again,

is it possible to download a map for offline working on airfield?
If so where do I have to place the Files and where can I download them?

Norbert

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2013 11:26 pm
by EOSBandi
If you want use WinGUI on the field without internet connection, you can cache satellite map images for a given region. To do that, zoom out to show your planned flight zone, then with ALT+left click mark the area you want to cache, then click on the FETCH MAP button. The satellite images for all zoom level are cached to the disk and available offline.

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2013 11:41 pm
by Norf
EOSBandi wrote:If you want use WinGUI on the field without internet connection, you can cache satellite map images for a given region. To do that, zoom out to show your planned flight zone, then with ALT+left click mark the area you want to cache, then click on the FETCH MAP button. The satellite images for all zoom level are cached to the disk and available offline.



Perfect! Thank you very much!
Going to test again tomorow and then post my experience here.

Norbert

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Sat Dec 28, 2013 2:13 am
by haydent
Hi EOS, i have a patch submission i want to give to you, it adds the gps time into the MSP, can you add it in a future MW release ?

currently it just grabs the time you already read out of the ublox protocol, but im guessing you would/could also add the time if using mtk and nmea or binary as well.

also i wasnt sure which part of the MSP to add it, as the GPS_RAW bit is full

thanks,
Hayden.

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Sat Dec 28, 2013 7:06 pm
by Norf
Hi again,

second Testday over - short Video later!

Works fine with WinGui so far only POI Problem is the same as with EZ-Gui :

When I set a POI and the a circle arround ( in my setup today 25m circle 16WP and 1 for direction ) the copter starts to fly to first WP and then does strange things.
The Copter flies big circles and it looks like he can´t find a waypoint.
Nothing else happens. After 2 Minutes crazy flying I canceld the Mission :lol:

Is there a mistake in the code maybe?

I will post the Video later!

Norbert

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Sat Dec 28, 2013 7:09 pm
by EOSBandi
Norf wrote:Hi again,

second Testday over - short Video later!

Works fine with WinGui so far only POI Problem is the same as with EZ-Gui :

When I set a POI and the a circle arround ( in my setup today 25m circle 16WP and 1 for direction ) the copter starts to fly to first WP and then does strange things.
The Copter flies big circles and it looks like he can´t find a waypoint.
Nothing else happens. After 2 Minutes crazy flying I canceld the Mission :lol:

Is there a mistake in the code maybe?

I will post the Video later!

Norbert


Hi, please send the mission file to me for testing....

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Sat Dec 28, 2013 7:25 pm
by EOSBandi
Ohh, I tested it... if your waypoints are closer to each other than the wp_radius then it will not work..... get a larger circle or less wp.... or decrease the wp_radius....

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Sat Dec 28, 2013 7:51 pm
by Norf
Ok that makes sense! Will test a bigger circle tomorrow and keep you updated!

Here is the Video from today.
Have to say very good work so far from you EOS!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mBjITxKK4qA&feature=youtu.be

Regards Norbert

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Sat Dec 28, 2013 11:53 pm
by haydent
EOSBandi wrote:
copterrichie wrote:Please, EOSBanbi, may I ask for the addition MP_GPS_TIME to the protocol or to expansion the MSP_SET_RAW_GPS to include the GPS Time? Reason being, the Raspberry Pi does not have a realtime clock as well as many OSDs. I can set the time zone in my application.

Thank you.

It's not only the question of the protocol. GPS time does not used and not decoded.


it does not necessarily need to be decoded or used by MW, just a common format agreed apon, that could be as it is in the ublox millisecond of week format, in that case it can simply be added to the MSP

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Sun Dec 29, 2013 12:56 am
by EOSBandi
haydent wrote:
EOSBandi wrote:
copterrichie wrote:Please, EOSBanbi, may I ask for the addition MP_GPS_TIME to the protocol or to expansion the MSP_SET_RAW_GPS to include the GPS Time? Reason being, the Raspberry Pi does not have a realtime clock as well as many OSDs. I can set the time zone in my application.

Thank you.

It's not only the question of the protocol. GPS time does not used and not decoded.


it does not necessarily need to be decoded or used by MW, just a common format agreed apon, that could be as it is in the ublox millisecond of week format, in that case it can simply be added to the MSP

OK, I'll see what can I do.

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Sun Dec 29, 2013 2:32 am
by haydent
Thanks. I appreciate your efforts particularly as you are busy with the gps nav work. I would not have bothered you except it seems you are likely the one heading this area of development in mw project.

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Sun Dec 29, 2013 2:06 pm
by copterrichie
haydent wrote:Thanks. I appreciate your efforts particularly as you are busy with the gps nav work. I would not have bothered you except it seems you are likely the one heading this area of development in mw project.


+1 Ditto.

Re: GPS NAV - Failsafe

Posted: Wed Jan 01, 2014 9:07 pm
by mopedcrosser
Hi all,

I just flashed your version successfully and will test it as soon as I get the entire copter reassembled after some changes.. But what came to my mind during flashing is how to handle the loss of signal in waypoint mode.. I believe there may be many users that might use waypoints that are out of the RC range for whatever reasons (far away, buildings, hills, canyons...). Right now we assume for failsafe that there is a real failure and it is probably safer to just go down slowly and shut off engines.. which is not my favorite solution but plausible. However... in case of waypoint navigation it might be more dangerous and very annoying (besides the costs for spare parts and time to find the copter ;) )to use the standard failsafe. Therefore id suggest a "ignore all singal losses as long as in mission mode" option or a RTH failsafe. I couldnt find anthing about this topic yet but think its important.. Are there plans yet ?

Best regards

Seb

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 8:34 pm
by Norf
+1 !!

Mission Mode till last waypoint or RTH would be very important!

RTH when signal is lost would be very nice too in all kinds of normal flying.

Norbert

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:11 pm
by EOSBandi
OK lets see.

possible failsafe events:
loss of RC control
low battery
copter too far from home
copter is too high

Current failsafe implementation is a joke. All it is doing is a semi controlled crash.
What I think is : selectable options how to handle failsafe situation:
in mission mode then continue
hold position and altitude;
hold position, land and disarm;
RTH at current altitude;
RTH at given altitude;
when @ home : hold pos; hold pos+descent to given altitude; hold pos and land+disarm

Did I miss something ?

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 11:24 pm
by felixrising
Another failsafe scenario. Copter moving away from desired position, not closer. ie. due to high wind, poorly or incorrectly defined MAG, etc, craft should land + disarm or something other than flying further away.

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 11:26 pm
by haydent
go to designated waypoint at current altitude
go to designated waypoint at given altitude

just brainstorming ...

Another failsafe scenario. Copter moving away from desired position, not closer. ie. due to high wind, poorly or incorrectly defined MAG, etc, craft should land + disarm or something other than flying further away.


yes abort flight option, as i have had a fly away in wind too

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 11:34 pm
by EOSBandi
haydent wrote:go to designated waypoint at current altitude
go to designated waypoint at given altitude

just brainstorming ...

Another failsafe scenario. Copter moving away from desired position, not closer. ie. due to high wind, poorly or incorrectly defined MAG, etc, craft should land + disarm or something other than flying further away.


yes abort flight option, as i have had a fly away in wind too


I does not like to copy arduplane/copter functions, but they have things called rally points. These points are defined independently from the mission. And during the mission, in case of failsafe the closest rally point is selected to go to instead of home.

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 11:39 pm
by EOSBandi
I'm going thru the requirements for failsafe functions... it seems it need full autonomy, which means that under certain circumstances the navigation engine must ignore stick movements and override rcOptions. It is quite frightening to me... what safeguards do you recommend to make it safe ?

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 11:42 pm
by copterrichie
Without any type of obstacle avoidance mechanism, the safest in my opinion, go to a safe predetermined altitude then return to home. Anything else, it is just too much of risk.

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 11:46 pm
by felixrising
What situation requires to ignore stick inputs? Personally I think you are right the be frightened, in my opinion sticks should never be ignored under any circumstances.

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 11:56 pm
by -ralf-
felixrising wrote:What situation requires to ignore stick inputs? Personally I think you are right the be frightened, in my opinion sticks should never be ignored under any circumstances.

+1

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 11:57 pm
by -ralf-
-ralf- wrote:
felixrising wrote:What situation requires to ignore stick inputs? Personally I think you are right the be frightened, in my opinion sticks should never be ignored under any circumstances.

+1

but when "Stop Mission" is still avaiible, it's ok

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 12:18 am
by EOSBandi
-ralf- wrote:
-ralf- wrote:
felixrising wrote:What situation requires to ignore stick inputs? Personally I think you are right the be frightened, in my opinion sticks should never be ignored under any circumstances.

+1

but when "Stop Mission" is still avaiible, it's ok


in common cases the throttle input must be ingnored (In baro mode....), but nav should takeover control of baro mode so it will takeover throttle input.
When initiating RTH for failsafe caused by hitting fence distance, you also should ignore stick input. Since you are handling a failsafe caused by wrong stick inputs.....
Switching off from nav/gps mode will always returns control to you.....
If a nav/gps mode is initiated automatically (failsafe) a quick switch to poshold and back will also returns control....

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 2:11 am
by haydent
i like that idea: mode switch to deactivate failsafe

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 5:51 pm
by Imen
Hi EOS

some time (often :) ) when I navigate through mission map I get this error message, not sure if this a bug or not, just close and reopen the WinGUI

Image

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 6:06 pm
by EOSBandi
Imen wrote:Hi EOS

some time (often :) ) when I navigate through mission map I get this error message, not sure if this a bug or not, just close and reopen the WinGUI

Image

Hi Imen,
Please define what do you mean navigate through ? What keys and/or mouse movements are you using.
What is the exact version of the WinGUI ?
Thanks,
EOS

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2014 12:14 am
by Imen
Hi EOS

I just zooming both in and out and sometimes pan the map, like I said, not every zoom or pan event give error message.
I use the newest one b4

thanks

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2014 12:44 am
by EOSBandi
Imen wrote:Hi EOS

I just zooming both in and out and sometimes pan the map, like I said, not every zoom or pan event give error message.
I use the newest one b4

thanks

Good catch... when you have waypoints on the map and you zoom out to a certain level, then the drawing of wp radius circles fails....
fixed now, fix will be included in the upcoming release.
Thank you for your help !
Regards,
EOS

Re: GPS NAV

Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2014 2:15 pm
by Goetz
yesyesyes... ....you're bringing me back to MW for my FPV-Copter, I bought an NAZA after NHadrian left MW and I saw no development on RTH Failsafe here, I was sad about this.

Thank you :-)