CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

This forum is dedicated to software development related to MultiWii.
It is not the right place to submit a setup problem.
Software download
klaudius666
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 5:59 pm
Contact:

CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by klaudius666 »

Hi All.

first of all, many greetings for the developpers of Multiwii, it's a good piece of code !

I'm new to multiwii world and arduino programmation, it's cool, i love flying machine and programmation ;-) .
I ve build a mini Xquad and all is working fine. amazing flying skills.

my actual configuration is

CRIUS SE BOARD. Level on AUX1 and BARO ON aux2.
using multiwii 2.0 release and arduino 1.0.

The problem is CRIUS 3 WIRE LCD (please don't say it's shit even if it's true... but it was just simply working with 1.9).
Something wrong is happenning with communication with main board :

weird characters, offseted etc... bu you can guess it's not random cause you seen partial right text

I tried to fix the bug by changing BITDELAY but it's not the solution : it's worst if i go far from 102 BITDELAY VALUE, more much weird characters.
I made a file diff between 1.9 and 2.0 version. for LCD3WIRE type, it seem the sending serial code is not changed. idem for clearscreen command.

Notice something : when if connect both LCD and USB interface... when i upload the new program, the LCD receive many characters (i suppose they are on the same pin ? it's normal ?)

I know the code 2.0 is working fine on original 3 wire Sparkfun LCD, so my opinion is that someting 'non standard' is implemented in crius LCD to achieve serial reception....

i think that between 1.9 and 2.0, the protocol was not changed... so there is something about timing and crius LCD software must be sensitive to this.
Perhaps an interrupt that push bad values on PINOUT, or make jamming in timing ? perhaps the code is not compiled in the same way ?

was thinking of disabling all interrupts before sending the whole screen refresh and reenabling all after, but it's sound like the delay() func need interrupts to work.

is there a reliable method to do this ?

There are many users of Crius LCD and it would be cool to manage to solve this bug.
Thank you for your suggestions

User avatar
dramida
Posts: 473
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Bucharest
Contact:

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by dramida »

Same bug bothers me also, here is a video with MWC 1.9 working and MWC2.0 malfunctioning.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L7TtpjYjvGo

klaudius666
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 5:59 pm
Contact:

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by klaudius666 »

I read on some forum that there are some problem with lastest arduino 1.0 with some serial LCD... i'll try to compile MW2.0 with arduino 023 just to see..... the strange thing is that it was working on 1.9 and not noticable change in 2.0.... more strange the sparkfun LCD work (more robust serial read coding i think)

If an experienced arduino coder read this. help or suggestions is welcome ;-)

kalle123
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 10:07 am

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by kalle123 »

Can confirm that bug.

Arduino uno with LCD keypad shield

sketch "LiquidCrystal Library - Serial Input"

Alexinparis
Posts: 1630
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 9:07 pm

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by Alexinparis »

klaudius666 wrote:I read on some forum that there are some problem with lastest arduino 1.0 with some serial LCD... i'll try to compile MW2.0 with arduino 023 just to see..... the strange thing is that it was working on 1.9 and not noticable change in 2.0.... more strange the sparkfun LCD work (more robust serial read coding i think)

If an experienced arduino coder read this. help or suggestions is welcome ;-)


I agree, this problem is strange.
The debate is not about the quality of this LCD, but rather why there is a change between 1.9 and 2.0.
The LCD code for bit banging is identical.
Between 1.9 and 2.0, there are mainly:
- new output for ESC and servo, with direct timer definition and port access
- new serial functions with home made interrupts
- 1.0 Arduino
I suppose the problem comes from one of those.
It's identification will probably help to solve other issues in the future.

User avatar
UndCon
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 2:10 pm

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by UndCon »

"new serial functions with home made interrupts"

And the LCD is serial...don't you think that is the problem?

make a small sketch and try with arduino IDE 023 or similar and then with IDE 1.0 and see if there is any change

klaudius666
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 5:59 pm
Contact:

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by klaudius666 »

I'll try to compile 2.0 with arduino 023... i'll give you news about the result...

klaudius666
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 5:59 pm
Contact:

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by klaudius666 »

not working even with 023 arduino IDE....

tested this code :

for(uint8_t i='0';i<255;i++)
{
//
// LCDprintChar("\r\n");
LCDprint(0xFE); LCDprint(0x01) ;
//LCDprint(0xFE);
//LCDprint(48);
delay(200);
line1[0]=i;
line1[1]=0;
LCDprintChar(line1);
delay(500);
}

command 0xFE is not recognised... 0xFE and 0x01 are displayed as weird char, then normal char are displayed... missing something ?

User avatar
Hamburger
Posts: 2578
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 2:14 pm
Location: air
Contact:

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by Hamburger »

maybe it might help to consult the crius lcd documentation for supported command set, if such doc does exist? anyone have such doc?
For MWii the minimum requirement to support currently is
- clear screen (could be handcoded with printing spaces?)
- set cursor to beginning of line N
- print chars

klaudius666
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 5:59 pm
Contact:

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by klaudius666 »

Hi.

Looked for a doc for crius LCD.... but none....

klaudius666
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 5:59 pm
Contact:

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by klaudius666 »

the minimum to display on LCD are :

setline(n);
LcdPrint();

Looked at documentation of sparfun serial LCD cause crius lcd seem to be a clone of this.

Perhaps my LCD is bad configured.... there are special command to set number of line and number of char per line, and it's possible to reset baud rate at 9600 during boot splash screen display (it's 9600 during boot splash screen, then can change according to setup in eeprom)....

i uploaded code to MW board when lcd was connected and it was printing a lot of weird character during this... perhaps it sended a command that change configuration of my screen (0x7C followed by 1 or 2 or 3,4,5,6... it possible in the size of the MW code)
therefore... when a boot LCD, it display 20 char (16 on first line and 4 on second line... ) but no chars after.....

User avatar
shikra
Posts: 783
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by shikra »

I left my lcd in during upgrade and it would only show bad characters after.

I had to read documentation and reprogram it to correct defaults....

Dellow
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 12:38 am

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by Dellow »

I think that is probably what's caused the problem, as I did the same with mine.

Come on then, Shikra, give us a clue! Where did you find the documentation, or better still, how did you reprogram your LCD?

User avatar
UndCon
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 2:10 pm

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by UndCon »

How do you leave it connected when you upload new firmware?

I use the Sparkfun FTDI adapter and the LCD uses 3 of the same pins - I cannot connect 2 at the time without soldering a separate connector for 1 of them...
(can you post a picture please)

//UndCon

Dellow
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 12:38 am

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by Dellow »

I use the same adaptor, but on the CRIUS board there are seperate pins for FTDI and TTL. The LCD connects to the TTL pins.
See picture -

Crius SE Pins.jpg


I've also tried the following (from the Sparkfun serial LCD datasheet), but I get odd characters where the control codes should be, and only 21 characters fill the screen.
i.e. the first line is filled with 16 characters, and the second line then has 5 characters.
The clear screen command is ignored as well.

void setup()
{
Serial.begin(9600);

}

void loop()
{

Serial.write(0x7C); //put lcd into setup command mode
Serial.write(0x04); // send command for 16 character
delay(100);
Serial.write(0x7C); //put lcd into setup command mode
Serial.write(0x06); // send command for 2 line lcd
delay(100);
Serial.print("Hello"); // Print 'Hello' (the only bit that works!!)
delay(1000);
Serial.write(0xFE); //put lcd into enhanced command mode
Serial.write(0x01); // clear the screen
delay(1000);

}

klaudius666
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 5:59 pm
Contact:

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by klaudius666 »

For information i Disassembled my crius LCD :

the LCD is a LCM1602C V2.0

the serial to LCD if managed by an AMTEL MEGA48PA

....

User avatar
shikra
Posts: 783
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by shikra »

I think I used arduino terminal or maybe hyperterminal, then typed following:

<control key>r when LCD splash screen displayed. Gotta be quick!

http://www.sparkfun.com/datasheets/LCD/SerLCD_V2_5.PDF

Dellow wrote:I think that is probably what's caused the problem, as I did the same with mine.

Come on then, Shikra, give us a clue! Where did you find the documentation, or better still, how did you reprogram your LCD?

Dellow
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 12:38 am

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by Dellow »

Thanks Shikra, I'll give that a try when I'm back home (working away for a few days this week).
I saw the <control key>r sequence in the datasheet, but didn't know how to send the sequence in software. I didn't think of just using a terminal!
I'll let you know if I have any success.

User avatar
Metroid
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 3:17 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by Metroid »

I had a look an the LCD code.
At first the baud rate of 115200 of the serial3w is wrong. This must be 9600.
The seccond I find out is that the Cruis LCD is a one line LCD display. You must write 40 caraters to the screen to fil the compleet screen, on the second line just the 5 characters.
No special comandcodes for the sparfun LCD work with the CRIUS LCD.

If i find out more, I let you all know.

Rob.

Dellow
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 12:38 am

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by Dellow »

Quick update, I've tried the Ctrl-r reset using Hyperterminal and it hasn't made any difference.

Metroid, if you're right about it being a 1 x 40 display this would explain why none of the settings I have tried will work.
Looking at the display, it has two lines of 16 characters, making a total of 32 characters. Would this still relate to a 1 x 40?

My understanding of all this is pretty minimal, but I may just take the LCD apart and use it for something else. It's a pity as it's a nice clear display.

User avatar
Metroid
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 3:17 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by Metroid »

Normal registers of a LCD driver has 40 characters. If you connect the LCD through a TTL UART, like the FDTI programmeren, you can use a terminal to connect to the LCD. You have don this before, I asume. Now you need a terminal program like real term. Whit this you can send one caracter at the time or repead the transmission for more than ones. If you select 40 times the same caracter, the full display will be overwriten by that caracter, exept the first caracter on line 1. There is no clear screen or direct cursor function.
I hope to fined the correct code for this display. The difference of 1.9 or 2.0 is very big. How the line1 and line2 arrays are billd up are very different. I think a complete special LCD library is needed for the Crius LCD.
I also find out that the LCD has a dedicated JTAG 6 pin connexion. A new code can help the interface react like the sparkfun serial LCD. Just an extra to do.
I think to program the ATMEGA to preforme like the Sparkfun is the most easiest way to overcome the problem.

Rob.

User avatar
Metroid
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 3:17 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by Metroid »

It is posible to reprogram the ATMEGA48pa. I have soldert a ISP 6 pin connector on the board. Test a new code and it's working. Not compleet correct yet but where getting there. I have a timing problem with initializing the LCD.

Here a video;

Crius LCD reloaded

Rob

Dellow
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 12:38 am

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by Dellow »

I'm obviously doing something wrong, as I am unable to communicate with the LCD using Realterm, Hyperterminal or the Arduino serial monitor.
I am using gnd, 5v and tx from ftdi to the lcd, but just get occasional garbage.
The only way I have been able to talk to it is by using serial.print through an arduino board.

Edit: Just noticed your video - nice work! I think I'd better leave this to the people with far more expertise than me!

User avatar
UndCon
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 2:10 pm

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by UndCon »

If Metroid posted his code it would be easier :)

User avatar
Metroid
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 3:17 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by Metroid »

Here is the code so fare.
I only have implemented the LCD screen. The next step is the serial communication.

Rob.
Attachments
LCD 4Bit 2.zip
(38.7 KiB) Downloaded 425 times

User avatar
dramida
Posts: 473
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Bucharest
Contact:

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by dramida »

Metroid wrote:It is posible to reprogram the ATMEGA48pa. I have soldert a ISP 6 pin connector on the board. Test a new code and it's working. Not compleet correct yet but where getting there. I have a timing problem with initializing the LCD.

Here a video;

Crius LCD reloaded

Rob

Well done Rob, i only have one of this Crius LCD's and my laptop died this morning.I am hopeing for the best. /Mihai

User avatar
Metroid
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 3:17 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by Metroid »

I'm busy in AVR studio 5. It is easier to include interrupts. I hope to can go on tomorow.

Normally I program in MPLAB IDE with Pic32 processors. The power of those micro controllers are huge in comparison to the AtMega 48 or even the 2560. This is a new learnig curve for me. New type of registers etc. But I will go on till I have a solution.

Rob.

User avatar
Metroid
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 3:17 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by Metroid »

The Crius Serial LCD code is finished. I have a newprogram works like the sparkfun serial LCD.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-iNE7ysb ... rNU1CHY%3D
There is one thing. You can chane the baudrate but not to 115200. This is also not possible on the sparkfun serial LCD.
You must change some code in the multiwii v2.0.

First ad this in the config.h:

Code: Select all

#define LCD_CRIUS


Next, change in the LCD.pde this:

Code: Select all

#if defined(LCD_SERIAL3W)

to this:

Code: Select all

#if (defined(LCD_SERIAL3W) || defined(LCD_CRIUS)


As last, ad some code afther this:

Code: Select all

  #if defined(LCD_SERIAL3W)
    SerialOpen(0,115200);
  #endif

Here:

Code: Select all

#if defined(LCD_SERIAL3W)
    SerialOpen(0,115200);
  #endif
#if defined(LCD_CRIUS)
    SerialOpen(0,9600);
  #endif


Now you can use the new program your Crius Serial LCD. The square solder pad on the bottom side of the LCD is the MISO for the ISP connector.
Image
ou have the options to solder the header 3x2 pins or just connect.

Open the production file Serial_LCD.elf in your program tool and have some fun.

Rob.
Attachments
Serial_LCD.zip
AVRStudio Production file
(15.82 KiB) Downloaded 600 times

User avatar
UndCon
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 2:10 pm

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by UndCon »

Well done!

Can we use the Sparkfun FTDI adapter that we normally program the Arduino with?
And some wires soldered to the 6 pads on the Crius LCD
//UndCon

User avatar
Metroid
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 3:17 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by Metroid »

No, you can not use the FTDI. You must use a STK500 or AVRDUDE like programmer for Atmel chips. These programmers have an ISP interface with 10 or 6 wires.
Use AVRstudio to program the chip. It's like programming a KK flightboard.

Rob.

User avatar
Hamburger
Posts: 2578
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 2:14 pm
Location: air
Contact:

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by Hamburger »

buy a usbasp and use avrdude program from within arduino ide wrapper.

User avatar
UndCon
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 2:10 pm

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by UndCon »

I have an USBASP installed in my TGY9X radio :D but if I remember correctly I bought 2...I have to check in my boxes with electronics.

//UndCon

User avatar
dramida
Posts: 473
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Bucharest
Contact:

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by dramida »

Thank you Rob for the effort of codding this LCD. I'll try this new software on my Crius LCD. Wouldn't be more straight to just simply change the baudrate from 115200 to 9600?

Code: Select all

SerialOpen(0,9600);


Anyway, step by step, i am learning the programing technique that the big boys use.

User avatar
Metroid
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 3:17 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by Metroid »

Nope, tried that, didn't work. You must update the AtMega48pa chip on the second PCB.

Rob

erwinf
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:30 am

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by erwinf »

I have a usbasp programmer that came with my kkboard. Can I use that with avrdude to flash the second pcb? What command line will I use? Will this work?

Code: Select all

avrdude –c usbasp –p m48 –u –U flash:w:seriallcd.hex

User avatar
Metroid
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 3:17 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by Metroid »

I don't use AVRDUDE but i think this is the correct settings:

Code: Select all

avrdude -c usbasp -p m48 -U flash:w:Serial_LCD.hex
avrdude -c usbasp -p m48 -U eeprom:w:Serial_LCD.eep

Don't change the fuses.

I use the AVRStudio programmer tool to program the chip. It doesn`t work with usbasp.

Rob

brerax
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:23 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by brerax »

Thank you Metroid.

I used my USBasp interface and the kkMulticopter Flash Tool 0.60 to flash my Crius LCD.
This combination worked for me and now I can connect this LCD to my Crius SE MultiWii board with 2.0.

The most difficult thing was actually to solder the six pins to the board.

User avatar
Metroid
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 3:17 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by Metroid »

Your welkom.

erwinf
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:30 am

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by erwinf »

brerax wrote:Thank you Metroid.

I used my USBasp interface and the kkMulticopter Flash Tool 0.60 to flash my Crius LCD.
This combination worked for me and now I can connect this LCD to my Crius SE MultiWii board with 2.0.

The most difficult thing was actually to solder the six pins to the board.


What did you select in the flash tool to flash the LCD? DId you also flash the eep file and how?

brerax
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:23 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by brerax »

erwinf wrote:
brerax wrote:Thank you Metroid.

I used my USBasp interface and the kkMulticopter Flash Tool 0.60 to flash my Crius LCD.
This combination worked for me and now I can connect this LCD to my Crius SE MultiWii board with 2.0.

The most difficult thing was actually to solder the six pins to the board.


What did you select in the flash tool to flash the LCD? DId you also flash the eep file and how?

I selected usbasp as the programmer, atmega 48PA as the controller and then Serial_LCD.hex as the file.
No, I did not flash anything more then the the Serial_LCD.hex file.

Image

erwinf
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:30 am

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by erwinf »

brerax wrote:
erwinf wrote:
brerax wrote:Thank you Metroid.

I used my USBasp interface and the kkMulticopter Flash Tool 0.60 to flash my Crius LCD.
This combination worked for me and now I can connect this LCD to my Crius SE MultiWii board with 2.0.

The most difficult thing was actually to solder the six pins to the board.


What did you select in the flash tool to flash the LCD? DId you also flash the eep file and how?

I selected usbasp as the programmer, atmega 48PA as the controller and then Serial_LCD.hex as the file.
No, I did not flash anything more then the the Serial_LCD.hex file.



Ok thanks. Will try it tonight :)

Quad FRITZ
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 11:21 pm

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by Quad FRITZ »

Hi-

Before I reflash my crius LCD- is the new FW downwards compatible to multiwii 1.9 ?

Thanks a lot for all the great work!

(FYI: I am new here- and love Crius SE boards! Working on FPV Hexa with I2C GPS- probably with new 2.0 dev ver... Tons of questions to come ;-). :ugeek:

User avatar
Metroid
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 3:17 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by Metroid »

Its must be downwards compatible. It works on the same protocol as the serial3w. Make sure multiwii v1.9 works with the a baudrate of 9600.

Rob

yokoyoko
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2012 2:55 am
Location: Tokyo Japan

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by yokoyoko »

Thank you Great information Metroid.

My CRIUS LCD renewal came back from dust box.

I used.
USBasp interfase.
kkMulticopter Flash Tool 0.60.
Serial_LCD.hex.

My CRIUS LCD is working very fine with MultiWii 2.0. :D

But I'm a hothead. I already orderd a sparkfun LCD..;;;;;;;;;; :?

User avatar
Metroid
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 3:17 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by Metroid »

@yokoyoko
That's a shame.


But, nice to hear that all of you like the new firmware.

Rob.

Quad FRITZ
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 11:21 pm

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by Quad FRITZ »

I also really like it!
Thank you so much for the effort- much better then before, also with 1.9. :)

raptor30
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 1:38 pm

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by raptor30 »

someone please post the 2.0 sketch with modified LCD code for Crius LITE?
I'm not good in editing sketches :)
thanks in advance

roguel
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 7:53 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by roguel »

@metroid

Great work, any chance on sharing the source? I would like to ad some feature to also use the LCD as a serial monitor for an arduino board I'm working on. ([CR][LF] is not working now, just shows jibrish)

btw, It took me several hours to find out that I actually got my crius LCD delivered with your firmware in it... ? I thought somehow avrdude didn't update. Looks like crius is reading the multiwii forum as well. ;-)

User avatar
Metroid
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 3:17 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by Metroid »

@ Roguel
A LCD screen does not understand Line Feed and Cursor Return. For this you must use the option Set Cursor Position 0x80 + Position.
It's Nice to here that Crius has updated there firmware.

If you want to ad some extra's, here is the solutions for AVRStudio 5.1.

Rob
Attachments
Serial_LCD - AVRStudio 5_1.zip
Serial LCD Solution for AVRStudio 5.1
(68.87 KiB) Downloaded 539 times

roguel
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 7:53 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: CRIUS LCD BUG WITH 2.0

Post by roguel »

Thanks for sharing! Will experiment a little in the weekend.

Post Reply