Multiwii 2.0 - yaw servo travel

This forum is dedicated to software development related to MultiWii.
It is not the right place to submit a setup problem.
Software download
Post Reply
User avatar
polo_fly2
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 1:12 pm
Location: Munich - Bavaria

Multiwii 2.0 - yaw servo travel

Post by polo_fly2 »

Hello,

I don´t know if this is a bug?
I have just finished building a Tri and put the fresh 2.0. on it ( arduino nano328).
When I came to the servo adjustment (hitec HS-65MG), I cannot see any effect when changing the start, end or midpoint in config.h. the servo ignores my changes simply.


Code: Select all

/* you can change the tricopter servo travel here */
#define TRI_YAW_CONSTRAINT_MIN 1020
#define TRI_YAW_CONSTRAINT_MAX 2000
#define TRI_YAW_MIDDLE 1500 // tail servo center pos. - use this for initial trim; later trim midpoint via LCD




I can adjust the servo travel only in my transmitter . The tricopter flys great but I,m asking if there is any other part/parameter in the code which has to be
enabled additionaly, or is this part of the code inactive ?

If somebody knows what to do, let me know please :)

Georg

PatrikE
Posts: 1976
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:35 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Multiwii 2.0 - yaw servo travel

Post by PatrikE »

The servo offert is stored in Eeprom.
I'm not shure if it works proporly.

It's meant that you should trim via LCD and radio commands.

Test to change
static uint8_t checkNewConf = 152;
In Eeprom tab.

set checkNewConf = to something else and your Eeprom will read the value you have set in config.
All other settings will also be reset to "Factory" .

Not a perfect solution if you dont have a LCD.
Maby a feature for Gui?.

/Patrik

User avatar
polo_fly2
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 1:12 pm
Location: Munich - Bavaria

Re: Multiwii 2.0 - yaw servo travel

Post by polo_fly2 »

Patrik, thank you for reply. Do you think, can it be a problem for the flightcalculation when the yaw servo endpoints are defined in
the radio and not in the eeprom? I have no lcd, but I think I should buy one.

Georg

PatrikE
Posts: 1976
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:35 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Multiwii 2.0 - yaw servo travel

Post by PatrikE »

I have never changed the endpoints on the servo on mine.
The differense is.
Change on radio will only limit the radio inputs.
Gyro is still able to use full throw on servo.

In code will change the total travel on the servooutput.
Gyro and radio will have limited throw on servo.

If your servo don't stall on endpoints you shouldn't need to change it.
Only if you want slower yaw on full throws.

User avatar
Hamburger
Posts: 2578
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 2:14 pm
Location: air
Contact:

Re: Multiwii 2.0 - yaw servo travel

Post by Hamburger »

Use the Gui to check for servo range.
Limits used to work.
Midpoint trim used to work.

Mac9
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Multiwii 2.0 - yaw servo travel

Post by Mac9 »

Hi All,
Have a similar/same problem with a Tri set up. My board is witespy Quadrino and the software is MultiWii 2.0. The yaw servo amount displayed on the GUI, (MultiWii WinGUI version 1.0.4438.4098) is close to 2000 which is almost max right, with the Rudder stick in the centre. The servo input displays 1532. I can fly the Tri, just about but it requires a "boot full " of left Rudder/Yaw to stop the Tri from rotating. I have tried changing the TRI_YAW_CONSTARANTS in the config file MIN, MAX and MIDDLE all to no effect. Changing either the end points or the trim on the transmitter simply masks the effect by changing the servo input.

Any ideas gladly accepted

Regards

John

PatrikE
Posts: 1976
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:35 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Multiwii 2.0 - yaw servo travel

Post by PatrikE »

Same solution as for @polo_fly2.
Reset to "Factory" and it should work.

Mac9
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Multiwii 2.0 - yaw servo travel

Post by Mac9 »

Hi Patrik,
Spot on mate your fix worked, thanks a lot. I haven't flown yet but the GUI shows the same servo output as the Radio input.
Supplementary question : Do I save the sketch with the value static uint8_t checkNewConf = 000; and down load again if I need to, or should I change the value back to 152 for subsequent down loading ?


Thanks

Regards

John

PatrikE
Posts: 1976
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:35 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Multiwii 2.0 - yaw servo travel

Post by PatrikE »

If you change back the value it will reset again..
It's the version of Eeprom structure and will be canged when a new structure is implemented.

It's up to you but i would change back.

/Patrik

User avatar
polo_fly2
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 1:12 pm
Location: Munich - Bavaria

Re: Multiwii 2.0 - yaw servo travel

Post by polo_fly2 »

Hi Patrik,
also for me your instruction worked perfect.
A bit difficult to know about this method. Maybe it should be documented somwhere ?

Thank you very much :-)

Georg

User avatar
Hamburger
Posts: 2578
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 2:14 pm
Location: air
Contact:

Re: Multiwii 2.0 - yaw servo travel

Post by Hamburger »

No. Just a workaround for an error.
We need to increment the eeprom version number in code base.

Post Reply