GPS on Crius SE board

This forum is dedicated to software development related to MultiWii.
It is not the right place to submit a setup problem.
Software download
PatrikE
Posts: 1976
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:35 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by PatrikE »

To use serial Gps on a 328 FC.
You ust use GPS_PROMINI_SERIAL

Code: Select all

//#define GPS_SERIAL 2 // should be 2 for flyduino v2. It's the serial port number on arduino MEGA
    #define GPS_BAUD   115200
   
    #define GPS_PROMINI_SERIAL    57600 // Will Autosense if GPS is connected when ardu boots!.....


Actually it should ba named GPS_ON_328_SERIAL in stead?..

WhiteGraphite
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 11:46 pm

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by WhiteGraphite »

I have a few more questions and any help would be appreciated.

1. Can I connect the Gps module to the I2C-GPS NAV module and the connect that to the UART port? (Starting to think I can't)

2. What code exactly is needed for serial or I2C connection?

I'm using the connection method from question 1. and the following code:

Code: Select all

#define GPS_BAUD   115200
   
#define GPS_PROMINI_SERIAL    57600 // Will Autosense if GPS is connected when ardu boots!.....


Code: Select all

#define I2C_GPS


I'm sure that I'm missing something.

crashlander
Posts: 506
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 8:13 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by crashlander »

WhiteGraphite wrote:I have a few more questions and any help would be appreciated.

1. Can I connect the Gps module to the I2C-GPS NAV module and the connect that to the UART port? (Starting to think I can't)

2. What code exactly is needed for serial or I2C connection?

I'm using the connection method from question 1. and the following code:

Code: Select all

#define GPS_BAUD   115200
   
#define GPS_PROMINI_SERIAL    57600 // Will Autosense if GPS is connected when ardu boots!.....


Code: Select all

#define I2C_GPS


I'm sure that I'm missing something.


#define GPS_BAUD is for Mega 2560 based boards with 3 serial ports.
#define GPS_PROMINI_SERIAL is for all Atmega 328 boards with only one serial (Pro mini, UNO, Crius SE,...)
#define I2C_GPS is if you have additional navigational board (normally Pro Mini), and can be used with all above setups.

Usually/normaly you can use only one of above defines and in first two cases you must define proper baud rate (115200 or 57600).

WhiteGraphite
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 11:46 pm

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by WhiteGraphite »

I decided to just solder the wires from theI2C-GPS NAV module to the Crius Se and commented #define I2C_GPS. The Gps gets a 3D lock and shows 15 satellites in the Gui, but when the I2C-GPS NAV module + GPS is connected all other sensors stop in the Gui. I also noticed that when the the Nav+Gps are not connected and #define I2C_GPS is still commented the I2c errors are still present in the GUI, but the sensors all work. So... any ideas? :cry:


vpb
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 4:09 pm

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by vpb »

Hi, I want to use both GUI & GPS, so the only solution with Crius SE is soldering an output port for I2C, and no need to use FC I2C-GPS NAV Module. Can somebody confirm that? Is sb using that method successfully?

Thanks!

User avatar
Jonit
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 10:12 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by Jonit »

vpb wrote:Hi, I want to use both GUI & GPS, so the only solution with Crius SE is soldering an output port for I2C, and no need to use FC I2C-GPS NAV Module. Can somebody confirm that? Is sb using that method successfully?

Thanks!

you need to solder I2C wires and then you need to use I2C GPS module. If you have only serial GPS module then you need to place between your Crius board and GPS unit this module: http://rctimer.com/index.php?gOo=goods_details.dwt&goodsid=762&productname=

Jonit.

vpb
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 4:09 pm

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by vpb »

Thank you, Jonit. Is there any difference between i2c & serial gps module? I see some recent boards prefer to use serial port for GPS.

User avatar
Jonit
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 10:12 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by Jonit »

vpb wrote:Thank you, Jonit. Is there any difference between i2c & serial gps module? I see some recent boards prefer to use serial port for GPS.

basically all GPS modules are serial. Many people who own flight controllers with Atmega 328 processor insert I2C modules between GPS and flight controller because flight controllers with Atmega 328 processor have only one serial port. Of course you can connect your GPS via serial port, but then you can't use GUI, because that one serial port is used by GPS at the moment. So solution to this, if you want to use GUI and GPS at the same time is to connect your GPS via I2C port and to do that you need "some hardware" (I2C module, like this one http://rctimer.com/index.php?gOo=goods_details.dwt&goodsid=762&productname=) inserted between your controller and GPS to convert that serial protocol to I2C protocol.
If you have flight controller with more advanced processor (e.g. ATMega 2560), which has 4 serial ports, you don't need to use I2C module because you have four free serial ports, so you can be using GUI, GPS, Bluetooth, ... at the same time.
Hope you understand it now more clearly ;)

Jonit.

vpb
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 4:09 pm

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by vpb »

ok tks you, I see it's clear now.

babz
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 11:04 am

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by babz »

hello,

somebody has pics from soldering i2c GPS nav on crius,i fear to do it :oops:

User avatar
Jonit
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 10:12 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by Jonit »

babz wrote:hello,

somebody has pics from soldering i2c GPS nav on crius,i fear to do it :oops:

No big deal, just simply solder SDA and SCL wires like shown on the picture and connect GND and VCC to any of free pins.
Attachments
IMG_8260.JPG
sku_77994_2.jpg

babz
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 11:04 am

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by babz »

thank's Jonit :P

scanman
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:26 am
Location: Durban, South Africa
Contact:

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by scanman »

thanks jonit, this worked for me, unfortunately "Dr Tom" has posted a different picture with the wires in a different place that doesnt work.

bignose13
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 6:14 pm

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by bignose13 »

Hi
I have a bit of a problem with my Crius GPS antenna
I manage to change the settings in the U Centre software, I:E Baudrate and frequency and all works fine in the monitors to the right of the software
I then plug into the I2C which is attached to the Crius board and open up the GUI and the gps works fine, I even get 8 sats in the house by the window
The problem is, when I leave the GPS off for a couple of hours or say a day, it looses all the settings I put into it in the U Centre software
I defo click send when I change settings and have also checked the battery on the GPS module which reads 1.6v, pretty sure thats correct
Also I dont use the I2C attached to the GPS when changing the settings in U Centre, I use another FTDI which just has the GPS attached to it
All the wires are correct, rx to tx etc
Any help guys before I throw it out the window :x
Cheers

Alexinparis
Posts: 1630
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 9:07 pm

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by Alexinparis »

bignose13 wrote:Hi
I have a bit of a problem with my Crius GPS antenna
I manage to change the settings in the U Centre software, I:E Baudrate and frequency and all works fine in the monitors to the right of the software
I then plug into the I2C which is attached to the Crius board and open up the GUI and the gps works fine, I even get 8 sats in the house by the window
The problem is, when I leave the GPS off for a couple of hours or say a day, it looses all the settings I put into it in the U Centre software
I defo click send when I change settings and have also checked the battery on the GPS module which reads 1.6v, pretty sure thats correct
Also I dont use the I2C attached to the GPS when changing the settings in U Centre, I use another FTDI which just has the GPS attached to it
All the wires are correct, rx to tx etc
Any help guys before I throw it out the window :x
Cheers


The first versions of crius GPS device are not well designed.
That's why there are some init strings for this in multiwii.

User avatar
shikra
Posts: 783
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by shikra »

LOL

I did tell him to get the multiwiicopter.com one! All done ready and just plug it in. Plug and play is what he needs...
But did he listen to me? - no. Too busy with his model reviews to get free planes and motors.


Bignose - I'll catch up with you later see if we can sort this out. You done pretty well to get that far. Impressed me mate.

bignose13
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 6:14 pm

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by bignose13 »

shikra wrote:LOL

I did tell him to get the multiwiicopter.com one! All done ready and just plug it in. Plug and play is what he needs...
But did he listen to me? - no. Too busy with his model reviews to get free planes and motors.


Bignose - I'll catch up with you later see if we can sort this out. You done pretty well to get that far. Impressed me mate.

Why buy something double the price when I got you to sort out, cheeky monkey :lol:

miguel
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 7:10 pm

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by miguel »

After reading the eleven pages of this issue, commented, I programmed the GPS ublox neo 6-m with CRIUS I2c nav gps module, following the instructions of Osbandi, the ublox has an integrated memory, waiting for the new, and the instructions ardupirates loading, the plate is the CRIUS multiwii se soldier I2C connector is with the multiwii rv_v1240 program, two prguntas rookie
1st. - In config.h is NMEA or uncomment # define # define UBLOX
2nd. - To activate RTH, switch is needed? How come?.regards

scrat
Posts: 925
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:47 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by scrat »

1. If you have ublox then ublox.
2. How do you mean how come? It's simple. You must turn the switch to activate RTH otherwise your copter will always stay in the home position :)

miguel
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 7:10 pm

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by miguel »

Thanks scrat, what I meant is how to configure the switch is placed in a channel and the program is recognized or must be configured in Algon site. Sorry but this is google traslate English. regards

miguel
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 7:10 pm

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by miguel »

I have a switch to activate the baro, mag, on the other serious aux 1 to 08 aux plate 2, but as the program recognizes

i3dm
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 4:48 pm

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by i3dm »

Jonit wrote:
vpb wrote:Hi, I want to use both GUI & GPS, so the only solution with Crius SE is soldering an output port for I2C, and no need to use FC I2C-GPS NAV Module. Can somebody confirm that? Is sb using that method successfully?

Thanks!

you need to solder I2C wires and then you need to use I2C GPS module. If you have only serial GPS module then you need to place between your Crius board and GPS unit this module: http://rctimer.com/index.php?gOo=goods_details.dwt&goodsid=762&productname=

Jonit.



did i get this correctly?
in order to use my Ublox Neo6M GPS module on MultiwiiSE board with V2.2 FW i need to:
1. configure the Ublox GPS to 115200 and 5Hz.
2. disable GPS filtering in code.
3. connect GPS module to GPS-I2C-NAV board.
4. solder other side of NAV board wiring to appropriate points on the SE board (as it has no I2C pins)?
5. In config.h uncomment: # define UBLOX
6. possibly flash my NAV board firmware via FTDI - if so to which version?

is that all guys?

rbirdie001
Posts: 178
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:32 pm
Location: Czech Republic, Prague

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by rbirdie001 »

i3dm wrote:did i get this correctly?
in order to use my Ublox Neo6M GPS module on MultiwiiSE board with V2.2 FW i need to:
1. configure the Ublox GPS to 115200 and 5Hz.
2. disable GPS filtering in code.
3. connect GPS module to GPS-I2C-NAV board.
4. solder other side of NAV board wiring to appropriate points on the SE board (as it has no I2C pins)?
5. In config.h uncomment: # define UBLOX
6. possibly flash my NAV board firmware via FTDI - if so to which version?

is that all guys?

Hi,
I think above is not exactly correct, see my recommendation:
1) You need Ublox GPS with serial output. It can be basically configured to (almost) any serial speed and protocol, because I2C NAV MODULE supports wide range of it. I use 5Hz refresh, serial 38400, NMEA but ublox native protocol should work as well.
Read this document and you will get better overview:
https://i2c-gps-nav.googlecode.com/file ... ltiWii.doc

2) You connect GPS module TXD to RXD (and vice versa - so crossed connection) of either dedicated nav. board (linked before) or just simple Arduino Promini. You set the right speed and protocol of your GPS in config.h of this software https://i2c-gps-nav.googlecode.com/file ... a1-r62.rar and load it into the module. When you power it under the open sky, you should get after some minute double blink instead of slow 1 sec blinking - your module has fix and nav. board/arduino reads position from it.

3) You connect SDA and SCL I2C lines on the correcponding I2C lines of your flight controller (be careful to connect 5V I2C to 5V I2C. In MWI 2.2 config.h GPS section just uncomment I2C GPS and rest keep in default. Don't care about serial speed or protocols, because this refers to serial GPS but you already have I2C one.
After powering MWC you should see in GUI GPS as green, have 0 I2C errors and after you GPS gets fix, you should see in GPS part of GUI position, speed, satelites...
Then it's lot of another playing to tune it all but this should be good base.
Good luck
Roman

i3dm
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 4:48 pm

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by i3dm »

rbirdie001 wrote:
i3dm wrote:did i get this correctly?
in order to use my Ublox Neo6M GPS module on MultiwiiSE board with V2.2 FW i need to:
1. configure the Ublox GPS to 115200 and 5Hz.
2. disable GPS filtering in code.
3. connect GPS module to GPS-I2C-NAV board.
4. solder other side of NAV board wiring to appropriate points on the SE board (as it has no I2C pins)?
5. In config.h uncomment: # define UBLOX
6. possibly flash my NAV board firmware via FTDI - if so to which version?

is that all guys?

Hi,
I think above is not exactly correct, see my recommendation:
1) You need Ublox GPS with serial output. It can be basically configured to (almost) any serial speed and protocol, because I2C NAV MODULE supports wide range of it. I use 5Hz refresh, serial 38400, NMEA but ublox native protocol should work as well.
Read this document and you will get better overview:
https://i2c-gps-nav.googlecode.com/file ... ltiWii.doc

2) You connect GPS module TXD to RXD (and vice versa - so crossed connection) of either dedicated nav. board (linked before) or just simple Arduino Promini. You set the right speed and protocol of your GPS in config.h of this software https://i2c-gps-nav.googlecode.com/file ... a1-r62.rar and load it into the module. When you power it under the open sky, you should get after some minute double blink instead of slow 1 sec blinking - your module has fix and nav. board/arduino reads position from it.

3) You connect SDA and SCL I2C lines on the correcponding I2C lines of your flight controller (be careful to connect 5V I2C to 5V I2C. In MWI 2.2 config.h GPS section just uncomment I2C GPS and rest keep in default. Don't care about serial speed or protocols, because this refers to serial GPS but you already have I2C one.
After powering MWC you should see in GUI GPS as green, have 0 I2C errors and after you GPS gets fix, you should see in GPS part of GUI position, speed, satelites...
Then it's lot of another playing to tune it all but this should be good base.
Good luck
Roman



Thank you Roman, your reply is very helpful!
This is the GPS i ordered:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/350849933793?ss ... 1497.l2648

once i get it i will connect it to Ucenter and configure to 115200 Baud and 5hz.
next i will flash my I2C-GPS board - is V2.2 Beta1 r62 stable?
everything else is clear.

just to make sure - the I2C-GPS board is 5V I2C right (NOT 3.3V)?

rbirdie001
Posts: 178
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:32 pm
Location: Czech Republic, Prague

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by rbirdie001 »

i3dm wrote:Thank you Roman, your reply is very helpful!
This is the GPS i ordered:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/350849933793?ss ... 1497.l2648

once i get it i will connect it to Ucenter and configure to 115200 Baud and 5hz.
next i will flash my I2C-GPS board - is V2.2 Beta1 r62 stable?
everything else is clear.

just to make sure - the I2C-GPS board is 5V I2C right (NOT 3.3V)?

Hi,
I use exactly the same GPS module like you. Module is internally 3.3V and serial I/O levels are 3.3V, but you can supply it from 5V, there is onboard stabilizer 5V to 3.3V. I can recommend using this simplified level converter - for me it works fine.
simple LLC between 3.3V and 5V levels. Works only when both sides are pulled up to respective +Vcc!
simple LLC between 3.3V and 5V levels. Works only when both sides are pulled up to respective +Vcc!

Just two 10 cent transistors soldered directly to pads and secured with hot glue. Don't forget to cross RXD/TXD lines!
Roman

i3dm
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 4:48 pm

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by i3dm »

rbirdie001 wrote:
i3dm wrote:Thank you Roman, your reply is very helpful!
This is the GPS i ordered:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/350849933793?ss ... 1497.l2648

once i get it i will connect it to Ucenter and configure to 115200 Baud and 5hz.
next i will flash my I2C-GPS board - is V2.2 Beta1 r62 stable?
everything else is clear.

just to make sure - the I2C-GPS board is 5V I2C right (NOT 3.3V)?

Hi,
I use exactly the same GPS module like you. Module is internally 3.3V and serial I/O levels are 3.3V, but you can supply it from 5V, there is onboard stabilizer 5V to 3.3V. I can recommend using this simplified level converter - for me it works fine.
llc_converter.jpg

Just two 10 cent transistors soldered directly to pads and secured with hot glue. Don't forget to cross RXD/TXD lines!
Roman



since im using the I2C-GPS-NAV board, i dont need to change the voltage level right ?

rbirdie001
Posts: 178
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:32 pm
Location: Czech Republic, Prague

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by rbirdie001 »

i3dm wrote:since im using the I2C-GPS-NAV board, i dont need to change the voltage level right ?

You have to change levels between GPS module (3.3V) and I2C-GPS-NAV board (5V), but then you connect I2C-GPS-NAV board to FC directly over 5V I2C.
Roman

i3dm
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 4:48 pm

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by i3dm »

rbirdie001 wrote:
i3dm wrote:since im using the I2C-GPS-NAV board, i dont need to change the voltage level right ?

You have to change levels between GPS module (3.3V) and I2C-GPS-NAV board (5V), but then you connect I2C-GPS-NAV board to FC directly over 5V I2C.
Roman


are you sure about this? i see msot people are using the GPS modules stock as they come from the factory.
will it run on 3.3V also?

rbirdie001
Posts: 178
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:32 pm
Location: Czech Republic, Prague

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by rbirdie001 »

i3dm wrote:are you sure about this? i see msot people are using the GPS modules stock as they come from the factory.
will it run on 3.3V also?

I'm just writing what I know, I can't do any magic...
UBLOX NEO6M is internally running at 3.3V so for correct connection to 5V system you should have level converter but you can try anything you want.
Some other GPS modules are running at 5V so you can connect them directly.
I don't know what "it" you want to run at 3.3V. If you ment ATmega 328p at 16MHz, then NO, for 16MHz you need 5V.
Roman

User avatar
haydent
Posts: 583
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 1:35 am
Location: NSW, AU

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by haydent »

ive got this problem where if i have the gps connected to serial 0 at bootup, my arduino never finishes booting up, instead just showing solid pin 13 led.

im thinking it is being triggered by the gps serial signal to hang and wait for a new sketch (which never comes)

has anyone experienced this ? any way around it ?

thanks.

User avatar
haydent
Posts: 583
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 1:35 am
Location: NSW, AU

Re: GPS on Crius SE board

Post by haydent »

haydent wrote:ive got this problem where if i have the gps connected to serial 0 at bootup, my arduino never finishes booting up, instead just showing solid pin 13 led.

im thinking it is being triggered by the gps serial signal to hang and wait for a new sketch (which never comes)

has anyone experienced this ? any way around it ?

thanks.


found out this was because i as trying to do it on a mega based board which uses a different bootloader, that doesnt have the code in it the 328 bootloader does that allows it to boot with an active serial0 device attached

Post Reply