GPS integration

This forum is dedicated to software development related to MultiWii.
It is not the right place to submit a setup problem.
Software download
User avatar
dramida
Posts: 473
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Bucharest
Contact:

Re: GPS integration

Post by dramida »

:) i won't be so shure :) anyway it works great with 14 inch props and 320 KV motors
Last edited by dramida on Wed Jan 30, 2013 11:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS integration

Post by EOSBandi »

dramida wrote::) i won't be so shure :)

then i would say, in Hungary... :d

User avatar
Crashpilot1000
Posts: 631
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 7:38 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by Crashpilot1000 »

Thanks for catching it... will update the repo soon... but first I have to finish my cinestar 8 build... i suppose it will be the first MultiWii powered cinestar :D

Hi, Eos!
Why not, at least mwii is more relieable than most other platforms. You will have no fly-aways :) .
Right now I am doing some serious copy/paste action with your current mwii gps code (http://code.google.com/p/multiwii/sourc ... 321&r=1321) and the naze32/baseflight soft :). By doing this i stumbled across a few things.
- The GPS_calc_nav_rate function now deals with unsigned int16 (before: GPS_calc_nav_rate(int16_t max_speed); now: GPS_calc_nav_rate(uint16_t max_speed)) but the "speed" variable in the main gps loop is still a signed int16. Is that correct or a possible source of problems?
- The naze could do "double" floats, do you have a part of your gps code in mind, wich could benefit from that?

Cheers

Kraut Rob

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS integration

Post by EOSBandi »

Crashpilot1000 wrote:
Thanks for catching it... will update the repo soon... but first I have to finish my cinestar 8 build... i suppose it will be the first MultiWii powered cinestar :D

Hi, Eos!
Why not, at least mwii is more relieable than most other platforms. You will have no fly-aways :) .
Right now I am doing some serious copy/paste action with your current mwii gps code (http://code.google.com/p/multiwii/sourc ... 321&r=1321) and the naze32/baseflight soft :). By doing this i stumbled across a few things.
- The GPS_calc_nav_rate function now deals with unsigned int16 (before: GPS_calc_nav_rate(int16_t max_speed); now: GPS_calc_nav_rate(uint16_t max_speed)) but the "speed" variable in the main gps loop is still a signed int16. Is that correct or a possible source of problems?
- The naze could do "double" floats, do you have a part of your gps code in mind, wich could benefit from that?

Cheers

Kraut Rob

The speed in this case is the desired speed, which could be only positive, so uint is OK, and mixing int and uint does not cause any harm, however it is more professional if we clean this up :D
EOS

User avatar
JayBee
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 9:33 pm
Location: Bremerhaven (Germany)

Re: GPS integration

Post by JayBee »

Hi EOSBandi,

at the moment I try to integrate the i2c-gps-nav project with a GTop PA6B module.
During integration I have found two problems:

1.
For the first step I want to use the nmea mode for the MTK Chip, means I use the defines NMEA and INIT_MTK_GPS.
But the system never got a new dataset because the it found no gps3dfix.
For a gps3dfix a GPGSA_FRAME is necessary but inside the GPS_SerialInit() function you will find the following initialization:

Code: Select all

...
#elif defined(INIT_MTK_GPS)                            // MTK GPS setup
...
      #if defined(NMEA)
        Serial.write(MTK_SET_NMEA_SENTENCES); // only GGA and RMC sentence
      #endif     
...
#endif

With this initialization the gps module only sends CGA and RMC frames.
After I delete this initialization, the i2c-gps-nav module works correctly.

2.
The status led has the following blink codes:
Timeout: blinking with 0.5 Hz
gps3dfix found: three blink pulses every second
gps2dfix found: two blink pulses every second
no fix found: one blink pulse every second

But the timeout mode will be leaved only if the lastframe_time value was be updated within the last five seconds.
That's the problem, the lastframe_time will be only updated after founding a gps3dfix with at least five satellites.
I think the update should be placed before asking for the gps3dfix:

Code: Select all

...
       lastframe_time = millis();
       if ((i2c_dataset.status.gps3dfix == 1) && i2c_dataset.status.numsats >= 5) {
...


So you are able to see all four blink codes :D .


JayBee

User avatar
Crashpilot1000
Posts: 631
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 7:38 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by Crashpilot1000 »

Hi, i need some help understanding the gps code!
In this part of the gps.ino the distance and bearing between 2 GPS points is calculated:

Code: Select all

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
// Get distance between two points in cm
// Get bearing from pos1 to pos2, returns an 1deg = 100 precision
void GPS_distance_cm_bearing(int32_t* lat1, int32_t* lon1, int32_t* lat2, int32_t* lon2,uint32_t* dist, int32_t* bearing) {
  float dLat = *lat2 - *lat1;                                    // difference of latitude in 1/10 000 000 degrees
  float dLon = (float)(*lon2 - *lon1) * GPS_scaleLonDown;
  *dist = sqrt(sq(dLat) + sq(dLon)) * 1.113195;
 
  *bearing = 9000.0f + atan2(-dLat, dLon) * 5729.57795f;      //Convert the output redians to 100xdeg
  if (*bearing < 0) *bearing += 36000;
}

The distance/Pythagoras thing might be ok (1.113195f should be 1.11194940f according to this: http://www.movable-type.co.uk/scripts/latlong.html it should be the average earth radius pi/180 * 637100078,5/ 10^7) but I am lost with the bearing. atan2 is fed with pure gps difference in degrees*10^7 and puts out rad, it is then converted back to degree by PI/180. Than a magic +90 degree comes in to play to correct things (i omitted the *100 factor in my description). My poor brain can not assimilate this. Could the whole stuff be done in rads, perhaps the +90 deg wouldn't be necessary as well? Please help me!

Greetings
Kraut Rob

alexia
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 10:23 pm
Contact:

Re: GPS integration

Post by alexia »

i neeed you help
this thread is so big so it s difficult to find everything..
i have crius aio pro and crius v2 gps
i am going to upload latest dev

http://code.google.com/p/multiwii/downl ... p&can=2&q=

could you help me to comment the right thing for my gps
does i need to change my baud rate?
i hope you could help me

scrat
Posts: 925
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:47 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: GPS integration

Post by scrat »

alexia wrote:i neeed you help
this thread is so big so it s difficult to find everything..
i have crius aio pro and crius v2 gps
i am going to upload latest dev

http://code.google.com/p/multiwii/downl ... p&can=2&q=

could you help me to comment the right thing for my gps
does i need to change my baud rate?
i hope you could help me


Try this post: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=2166&start=130

alexia
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 10:23 pm
Contact:

Re: GPS integration

Post by alexia »

thanks a lot scrat

gabe
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 10:27 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by gabe »

Hi guys,

Im using this i2c GPS board with NMEA protocol:
http://www.drotek.fr/shop/fr/88-i2c-gps-pa6c-llc.html

Would it be more efficient to use it with MTK binary 19 protocol?
This GPS board is based on PA6C chip. Can I update it with the Dec 28th 2012 firmware?
http://code.google.com/p/i2c-gps-nav/downloads/detail?name=AXN1.51_2776_3329_384.1151100.5_v19.bin&can=2&q=

It seems this firmware is built for PA6B chipset.
I haven't found a firmware update tutorial. O you have an idea where I could find the procedure?

Many thanks!

User avatar
Crashpilot1000
Posts: 631
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 7:38 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by Crashpilot1000 »

Hi, gabe!
As far as i know the 3drobotics 1.9 FW is just available for mtk3329 chipsets branded by globaltop. Flashing this fw on mtk3339 (like yours) will probably brick it. It shoud be no problem for globaltop to "make" such a FW for mtk3339 as well. I wonder why they haven't already, or is it already somewhere available?

User avatar
Gartenflieger
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 10:07 pm
Location: Dortmund, Germany

Re: GPS integration

Post by Gartenflieger »

I can confirm :oops: that uploading the 3329-1.9 FW into the 3339 will brick it _FOREVER_ .

P.S. Or maybe not so forever? If someone knows a way to reanimate it, let me know, I still have the brick lying around somewhere...

User avatar
Crashpilot1000
Posts: 631
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 7:38 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by Crashpilot1000 »

Ohhh.. perhaps you can email with your retailer or global top. I am pretty sure that there must be a software way to "unbrick" it. Perhaps they have a tool or FW for you?

User avatar
Gartenflieger
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 10:07 pm
Location: Dortmund, Germany

Re: GPS integration

Post by Gartenflieger »

Yes indeed, as the MTK is a Drotek unit, I might actually get something sensible out of the vendor.

mahowik
Posts: 332
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 6:26 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by mahowik »

Hi guys!

Could someone share optimal GPS pids for position hold? It seems default pids for this too soft... on the wind it keeps position in window of 10-15m

Also this doc (in terms of pid tuning) already obsolete I suppose?
https://code.google.com/p/i2c-gps-nav/d ... c&can=2&q=

thx-
Alex

User avatar
dramida
Posts: 473
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Bucharest
Contact:

Re: GPS integration

Post by dramida »

Hi Alex, you are right about pids.

I usualy increase VelP to 0.2 and PosP to 3 and this give me a better positioning on wind. See this clip http://youtu.be/fbEMrn7NMhU?t=3m24s on 3:28 i was doying GPS pos hold and the weather was a little windy.
You could test inflight with a BT device and EZ-gui different values. I recommand to do the test on a windy day because i had the surprise that on a calm weather the settings were deadly accurate and on wind, the copter was all over the place.
best regards, Mihai.

mahowik
Posts: 332
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 6:26 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by mahowik »

Thanks Mihai !

I will try it. Any other recommendations? Prediction filter make sense?

Code: Select all

#define GPS_LEAD_FILTER


Also question about long range connection beetwen bluetooth and x-copter (on video below). You are using 3DR modem + BT?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qpoPanmVa9Y

Android device+BT <==air==> BT_module<-->uart<-->long range modem (like 3DR roborics) <==air==> 3DR modem<-->uart<-->copter

thx-
Alex
Last edited by mahowik on Thu Mar 14, 2013 9:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
dramida
Posts: 473
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 12:58 pm
Location: Bucharest
Contact:

Re: GPS integration

Post by dramida »

I use only BT devices from RCTimer, here is the pictures where you can see the BT antenna (hacked from frsky 40cm antenna - HK) hanging by landing gear. This gives me a BT range of about 180-200m with a samsung galaxy smartphone.
And i bet that if you do the same antenna mods of BT device on ground (for wingui), range would double again, at least.

The antenna details can be seen in the third picture from this album:

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set= ... 459&type=1

crono
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:52 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by crono »

in the new dev What should I set for this gps www.drotek.fr - I2C PA6C GPS + LLC breakout board I have activated

# define NMEA
# define I2C_GPS

Is that right??

filter? //#define GPS_FILTERING // add a 5 element moving average filter to GPS coordinates, helps eliminate gps noise but adds latency comment out to disable

kavehslt
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 6:04 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by kavehslt »

HI Everyone
my GPS module is EB-85A from Etek navigation company.
in test when i connect my board(with your i2c-gps-nav Ver:V2-2) to multiwii(dev_r1317) the i2c errors happen i don't know how should i solve this problem my internal pull up is De active and i use two 10K ohm resistor for external pull up .
when i connect the gps alone the errors appear and with other sensors (WMP+NUNCHK) the errors still there but my gyro and accelerometer work good.

it seems my i2c nav board work correctly but in sending data the error happens.
please help me.

crono
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:52 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by crono »

I activate the GPS on quadricopter starts to oscillate as fast as ever on what value I have to fix? pid?

kavehslt
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 6:04 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by kavehslt »

HI Everyone
my GPS module is EB-85A from Etek navigation company.
in test when i connect my board(with your i2c-gps-nav Ver:V2-2) to multiwii(dev_r1317) the i2c errors happen i don't know how should i solve this problem my internal pull up is De active and i use two 10K ohm resistor for external pull up .
when i connect the gps alone the errors appear and with other sensors (WMP+NUNCHK) the errors still there but my gyro and accelerometer work good.

it seems my i2c nav board work correctly but in sending data the error happens.
please help me.

kavehslt
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 6:04 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by kavehslt »

Please HELP

would you mind helping me please

User avatar
Crashpilot1000
Posts: 631
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 7:38 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by Crashpilot1000 »

@kavehslt: Hi!
I think you run into some hardware - issues there caused mainly by your sensors and their lower I2C speed and pullup resistor stuff. I think the I2C gps requires "400" and the original nunchuck/wmp combo only does "100", perhaps the I2C speed is switched between the reads? The GPS function rely on good magnetometer function and a good leveling of the copter. As i recall my nunchuk was bad in that regard. I think it's time for you to upgrade your hardware. The only thing you could try out to get this somehow running is lowering your 10K resistors to 2,2K or 3,x K because 10K is too much from the sources i found.
Greets Rob

mahowik
Posts: 332
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 6:26 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by mahowik »

crono wrote:I activate the GPS on quadricopter starts to oscillate as fast as ever on what value I have to fix? pid?

Have the same issue with lead filter, i.e. when GPS_LEAD_FILTER define activated... When GPS_FILTERING activated, issue is gone..

kavehslt
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 6:04 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by kavehslt »

dear crashpilot
I change both speed to same value but the error still here!!!!
I will change the 10k to your suggestion and i will report the the result

Federico
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 12:32 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: GPS integration

Post by Federico »

mahowik wrote:
crono wrote:I activate the GPS on quadricopter starts to oscillate as fast as ever on what value I have to fix? pid?

Have the same issue with lead filter, i.e. when GPS_LEAD_FILTER define activated... When GPS_FILTERING activated, issue is gone..


I don't know if mine it's the same issue, activating gps (pos hold) it starts to vibrate a bit and the corrections are a bit strong, the angles are about 10-15° of corrections and look like it's going to crash. Then I deactivate the gps...

User avatar
ezio
Posts: 827
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:03 pm
Location: Paris
Contact:

Odp: GPS integration

Post by ezio »

My vibrates with and without lead filter. The same was with 2.1

Bart

KeesvR
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 6:51 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: GPS integration

Post by KeesvR »

I have a Flytron Navigator V1 GPS.
I'm trying to get my GPS working with binary protocol, but it's not working.
I've flashed the gps with 1.9 firmware.
With Minigps set it to 115200 and 10hrz also tried 5hrz.

With NMEA protocol it's working fine, but with Binary protocol I see nothing in the GUI.

What am I doing wrong, or is it not possible with my GPS ?
What are the settings for I2C GPS Config.H and MultiWii Config.H ?

Thanks.

felixrising
Posts: 244
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 12:34 am
Location: Australia

Re: GPS integration

Post by felixrising »

Sounds like some PID tuning is required to reduce the strength of corrections.. there are a few posts on position hold tuning.. use the search and google to find EOSBandi's older but still valuable pdf document on PH and RTH nav tuning.

felixrising
Posts: 244
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 12:34 am
Location: Australia

Re: GPS integration

Post by felixrising »

KeesvR wrote:I have a Flytron Navigator V1 GPS.
I'm trying to get my GPS working with binary protocol, but it's not working.
I've flashed the gps with 1.9 firmware.
With Minigps set it to 115200 and 10hrz also tried 5hrz.

With NMEA protocol it's working fine, but with Binary protocol I see nothing in the GUI.

What am I doing wrong, or is it not possible with my GPS ?
What are the settings for I2C GPS Config.H and MultiWii Config.H ?

Thanks.


Hi,

I'm not sure about binary protocol vs NMEA. As I understand it, if you are using a I2C-GPS-Nav module, you should just modify the config.h file as follows uncomment the "#define I2C_GPS" and optionally "#define GPS_LEAD_FILTER" and configure MAG_DECLINATION (which btw you can get from the Android MultiWii EZ-GUI app under the Dashboard GPS button).

Perhaps I'm misunderstanding your question.. is it the binary mode data transfer between the GPS module and I2C-GPS-NAV module that's not working?

EDIT: I'm looking at the I2C-GPS-NAV_v2_2 code, the two binary mode transfers the GPS supports look like MTK specific stuff. I assume if you set BAUD rate to the 38400 and define NMEA along with INIT_MTK_GPS it should be auto-configured, you could try changing the NMEA define to each of the binary modes and see whether it automagically gets configured and works, if it doesn't work just go back to NMEA. I assume your GPS module is this one? (http://www.flytron.com/osd-headtrackers ... odule.html) which is indeed a MeditaTek unit, but I can't find any information about switching it to use MTK Binary protocol 16 or 19 manually if the auto define INIT_MTK_GPS doesn't work.. This document indicates it does RTCM(?) and NMEA 0183 v3.01 as well as two others: http://www.flytron.com/pdf/OPA6B.pdf.. if you have a I2C-GPS-NAV board, then unless it's really not keeping up with NMEA sentence parsing as well as the NAV code, then I'd be happy with NMEA at 10hz... Personally I find the NEO-6M module from Crius (CN-06 v2) which talks ublox and can be had for as little as $25 is very easy to integrate and works well. Another interesting thread which mentions your GPS here: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=649&start=1030.

scrat
Posts: 925
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:47 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: GPS integration

Post by scrat »

Hi guys.

Is this still valid for uBlox GPS from rctimer v2?

from config.h file MWii v2.2 - UBLOX - U-Blox binary protocol, use the ublox config file (u-blox-config.ublox.txt) from the source tree

Thanks.

Kayle
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 6:45 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by Kayle »

Hello,

i use i2c nav board mit the newest firmware and a PA6C Global Tec GPS. GPS is set to 115k2, 10Hz, NMEA. In GUI i get 3D FIX with 7 SATS. But ALT is shown as "113m". This can´t be correct. ALT is in my tests only 3m. Why shows multiwii 113m ? Can someone help me ?

Kayle

User avatar
EOSBandi
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Re: GPS integration

Post by EOSBandi »

Kayle wrote:Hello,

i use i2c nav board mit the newest firmware and a PA6C Global Tec GPS. GPS is set to 115k2, 10Hz, NMEA. In GUI i get 3D FIX with 7 SATS. But ALT is shown as "113m". This can´t be correct. ALT is in my tests only 3m. Why shows multiwii 113m ? Can someone help me ?

Kayle

Are you live in Netherland ? GPS alt is MSL alt....

Kayle
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 6:45 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by Kayle »

EOSBandi wrote:
Kayle wrote:Hello,

i use i2c nav board mit the newest firmware and a PA6C Global Tec GPS. GPS is set to 115k2, 10Hz, NMEA. In GUI i get 3D FIX with 7 SATS. But ALT is shown as "113m". This can´t be correct. ALT is in my tests only 3m. Why shows multiwii 113m ? Can someone help me ?

Kayle

Are you live in Netherland ? GPS alt is MSL alt....


Hi,

no i live in Germany. Does multiwii zero the alt at arming ?

Kayle

scrat
Posts: 925
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:47 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: GPS integration

Post by scrat »

scrat wrote:Hi guys.

Is this still valid for uBlox GPS from rctimer v2?

from config.h file MWii v2.2 - UBLOX - U-Blox binary protocol, use the ublox config file (u-blox-config.ublox.txt) from the source tree

Thanks.


EOSBandi neighbour :) pliz help me with this answer.

snowzach
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 4:19 pm

Re: GPS integration

Post by snowzach »

scrat wrote:
scrat wrote:Hi guys.

Is this still valid for uBlox GPS from rctimer v2?

from config.h file MWii v2.2 - UBLOX - U-Blox binary protocol, use the ublox config file (u-blox-config.ublox.txt) from the source tree

Thanks.


EOSBandi neighbour :) pliz help me with this answer.


Yes, that's probably still true. From within the uBlox control center there's an option where you can send a GPS config.

I know there is this one: http://code.google.com/p/i2c-gps-nav/source/browse/trunk/I2C_GPS_NAV/u-blox-config.ublox.txt

It basically tells the GPS to send at 115200, uBlox binary format.

scrat
Posts: 925
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:47 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: GPS integration

Post by scrat »

Thanks for answer.

But I just want to know if I still need to upload this file to my GPS with MWii v2.2 or not because GPS on my quad works pretty good.

tryss
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 11:01 am

Re: GPS integration

Post by tryss »

Hi guys !!

I'm a bit disapointed because of my GPM MTK (1.9 or 1.6) from DIYDRONES who doesn't work on my AIO PRO V2 (RCTIMER) with Multiwii 2.2
please what i have to do for it works ?
This post is really huge and i'm not so courageous guy to read all the posts.

Another question ? what bring the last R1391 ??? i cannot found any read me file about this release ??

Thanks for your kindly responses.

felixrising
Posts: 244
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 12:34 am
Location: Australia

Re: GPS integration

Post by felixrising »

Hi Tryss,

Code changes/commits can be found here: https://code.google.com/p/multiwii/source/list

I don't have a MediaTek, so I'm inferring here.
The MediaTek MT3329 (please confirm that is the one you have), talks NMEA (you can try the binary modes though which I think it better than NMEA) you should only have to connect it to Serial 2 and uncomment '#define GPS_SERIAL 2', '#define GPS_BAUD 115200', '#define NMEA', '#define INIT_MTK_GPS'. You may need to update your GPS firmware to get the BINARY modes.

Do some thread searches for your GPS model number. Some more on MTK_BINARYxx here http://www.multiwii.com/forum/search.php?keywords=MTK_BINARY&t=649&sf=msgonly

crashlander
Posts: 506
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 8:13 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: GPS integration

Post by crashlander »

scrat wrote:Thanks for answer.

But I just want to know if I still need to upload this file to my GPS with MWii v2.2 or not because GPS on my quad works pretty good.

After 2.1 Eos and Alex implemented full NEO configuration directly into MWII (serial version at least). It means no additional configuration of NEO modules is necessary.

Regards
Andrej
Last edited by crashlander on Tue May 07, 2013 8:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

scrat
Posts: 925
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:47 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: GPS integration

Post by scrat »

crashlander wrote:
scrat wrote:Thanks for answer.

But I just want to know if I still need to upload this file to my GPS with MWii v2.2 or not because GPS on my quad works pretty good.

After 2.1 Eos and Alex implemented full NEO configuration directly into MWII (serial version at least). It means no additional configuration of NEO modules are necessary.

Regards
Andrej


Hvala - Thanks.

tryss
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 11:01 am

Re: GPS integration

Post by tryss »

Thanks felix for all these infos :)

User avatar
alll
Posts: 220
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 9:53 am

Re: GPS integration

Post by alll »

I played for the first time with UBlox GPS rc-timer v1 (without eeprom). I uploaded the configuration file to it u-blox-config.ublox.txt
Is this one also valid?
http://diydrones.com/xn/detail/705844:Comment:1222521

Thanks,
manu

snowzach wrote:
scrat wrote:
scrat wrote:Hi guys.

Is this still valid for uBlox GPS from rctimer v2?

from config.h file MWii v2.2 - UBLOX - U-Blox binary protocol, use the ublox config file (u-blox-config.ublox.txt) from the source tree

Thanks.


EOSBandi neighbour :) pliz help me with this answer.


Yes, that's probably still true. From within the uBlox control center there's an option where you can send a GPS config.

I know there is this one: http://code.google.com/p/i2c-gps-nav/source/browse/trunk/I2C_GPS_NAV/u-blox-config.ublox.txt

It basically tells the GPS to send at 115200, uBlox binary format.

User avatar
alll
Posts: 220
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 9:53 am

Re: GPS integration

Post by alll »

I played for the first time with UBlox GPS rc-timer v1 (without eeprom). I uploaded the configuration file to it u-blox-config.ublox.txt
Is this one also valid?
http://diydrones.com/xn/detail/705844:Comment:1222521

Thanks,
manu

scrat
Posts: 925
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:47 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: GPS integration

Post by scrat »

alll wrote:I played for the first time with UBlox GPS rc-timer v1 (without eeprom). I uploaded the configuration file to it u-blox-config.ublox.txt
Is this one also valid?
http://diydrones.com/xn/detail/705844:Comment:1222521

Thanks,
manu


I don't think so. I've read that for arducopter there is different refresh rate...38400 or something. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

crashlander
Posts: 506
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 8:13 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: GPS integration

Post by crashlander »

If you select:
#define UBLOX

MWII will try all baud rates to determine GPS current one and than it will set/override whatever was set before with proper settings for ublox binary protocol, refresh rate (5Hz) and speed that you set with:

Code: Select all

#define GPS_BAUD   57600

And for ublox binary 57600bps is enough.

Regards
Andrej

felixrising
Posts: 244
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 12:34 am
Location: Australia

Re: GPS integration

Post by felixrising »

I thought ublox ucenter txt config file sets to 115200 and 10Hz update rate, but you say MW2.2 is setting it to 5Hz? I understand that having a higher GPS refresh rate doesn't necessarily give you better accuracy in the numbers coming in from the GPS, on the contrary, but thought that the recommendation was 10Hz for the uBlox NEO-6m stuff....

crashlander
Posts: 506
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 8:13 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: GPS integration

Post by crashlander »

felixrising wrote: recommendation was 10Hz for the uBlox NEO-6m stuff....

NEO 6 is by spec. 5Hz device that can also send data with 10Hz (twice same data) (was discussed a year ago in this or the thread with name "Neo6 fails to perform on mega...")

Regards
Andrej
Last edited by crashlander on Wed May 08, 2013 6:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

felixrising
Posts: 244
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 12:34 am
Location: Australia

Re: GPS integration

Post by felixrising »

Thanks! That explains a lot. I was always a bit confused why ucenter refused to set 10Hz update rate... I assumed that was a ucenter bug and not actually the limitation of NEO-6m.

Post Reply