MultiWii_dev_20120528
Re: MultiWii_dev_20120528
Hi
in the GUI
green/red- on/off Button for AUX2 is not activ
and i can't see the Channel bars on the right side ?
andix
in the GUI
green/red- on/off Button for AUX2 is not activ
and i can't see the Channel bars on the right side ?
andix
-
- Posts: 1630
- Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 9:07 pm
Re: MultiWii_dev_20120528
nhadrian wrote:And another one... :
With this I get false MAG calibration, N and S are ok, but E and W have 5-6 degrees error:Code: Select all
#if defined(HMC5883)
magCal[ROLL] = 1160.0 / abs(magADC[ROLL]);
magCal[PITCH] = 1160.0 / abs(magADC[PITCH]);
magCal[YAW] = 1080.0 / abs(magADC[YAW]);
#else
So I had to change to this for proper mag working:
magCal[ROLL] = 1000.0 / abs(magADC[ROLL]);
magCal[PITCH] = 1000.0 / abs(magADC[PITCH]);
magCal[YAW] = 1080.0 / abs(magADC[YAW]);
#else[/code]
I don't know why...
BR
Adrian
Could someone else could reproduce also this problem ?
It was changed thanks to this info:
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=1387&p=10658
Re: MultiWii_dev_20120528
Hi,
after reading the link you posted and followed this method, now it works with 1160/1160/1080 :
- rotate yaw 360 degree (x,y calibration)
- rotate pitch 360 degree (y z calibration)
- point multicopter west
- roll 360 degree (x z calibration)
So, the code is OK, but the method I used till now (rotate the copter around all axes, but in level) may result false calibration, so the methon mentioned above must followed!!!
BR
Adrian
after reading the link you posted and followed this method, now it works with 1160/1160/1080 :
- rotate yaw 360 degree (x,y calibration)
- rotate pitch 360 degree (y z calibration)
- point multicopter west
- roll 360 degree (x z calibration)
So, the code is OK, but the method I used till now (rotate the copter around all axes, but in level) may result false calibration, so the methon mentioned above must followed!!!
BR
Adrian
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 11:50 am
Re: MultiWii_dev_20120528
Hallo
i tested airplane mode but all servos go crazy .
i have the same setup as in aero heli .
in the gui every think looks fine.
thanks jan
i tested airplane mode but all servos go crazy .
i have the same setup as in aero heli .
in the gui every think looks fine.
thanks jan
Re: MultiWii_dev_20120528
[quote="mbrak"]hi
new dev wont compile with bmp085 and oled selected.
got some errors from lcd.ino
I just commented the lines where the PIDVEL was used and compiled :
new dev wont compile with bmp085 and oled selected.
got some errors from lcd.ino
Code: Select all
LCD:766: error: 'lcd_param_text14' was not declared in this scope
LCD:766: error: 'PIDVEL' was not declared in this scope
LCD:767: error: 'lcd_param_text15' was not declared in this scope
LCD:767: error: 'PIDVEL' was not declared in this scope
LCD:768: error: 'lcd_param_text16' was not declared in this scope
LCD:768: error: 'PIDVEL' was not declared in this scope
I just commented the lines where the PIDVEL was used and compiled :
Code: Select all
#if BARO
&lcd_param_text11, &conf.P8[PIDALT], &__P,
&lcd_param_text12, &conf.I8[PIDALT], &__I,
&lcd_param_text13, &conf.D8[PIDALT], &__D,
//&lcd_param_text14, &conf.P8[PIDVEL], &__P,
//&lcd_param_text15, &conf.I8[PIDVEL], &__I,
//&lcd_param_text16, &conf.D8[PIDVEL], &__D,
#endif
-
- Posts: 1630
- Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 9:07 pm
Re: MultiWii_dev_20120528
nhadrian wrote:Hi,
after reading the link you posted and followed this method, now it works with 1160/1160/1080 :
- rotate yaw 360 degree (x,y calibration)
- rotate pitch 360 degree (y z calibration)
- point multicopter west
- roll 360 degree (x z calibration)
So, the code is OK, but the method I used till now (rotate the copter around all axes, but in level) may result false calibration, so the methon mentioned above must followed!!!
BR
Adrian
Just to understand:
Where did you read that the copter must be leveled while rotating the copter around all axes.
so the methon mentioned above must followed!!!
False: there is no need to respect a specific order as long as you cover all directions.
Re: MultiWii_dev_20120528
Hi, just to explain a bit. A time ago it was said that copter must turn into any direction. My idea was that in level I turned around yaw, roll, pitch axes while copter pointed to north, then when copter pointed to west. Theoretically I covered all directions. I thought.
But, I forgot to copy a sentence into my previous post:
- point to the north 3d in your zone (for europe point north and down, it is near 45 degree down to earth)
When I turn the copter around all axes in level, there will be some positions which are not covered as when the copter points to north 3D. (yaw axis)
So I would say previously that I got good calibration only when I made the turns while pointing to the real north 3D direction (to north and 45-50 degrees down).
But, I forgot to copy a sentence into my previous post:
- point to the north 3d in your zone (for europe point north and down, it is near 45 degree down to earth)
When I turn the copter around all axes in level, there will be some positions which are not covered as when the copter points to north 3D. (yaw axis)
So I would say previously that I got good calibration only when I made the turns while pointing to the real north 3D direction (to north and 45-50 degrees down).
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 7:26 pm
Re: MultiWii_dev_20120528
Hello, Is there a mistake in recognizing WMP + NC. In version 2.0 works fine but there is no choice for WMP + NC.
While defining dev_20120528 added to WMP and NC, and now soft does not correctly detect this configuration.
What a pity
there is Airplane mode
While defining dev_20120528 added to WMP and NC, and now soft does not correctly detect this configuration.
What a pity

Re: MultiWii_dev_20120528
In the newest Dev wmp and nb is not default.
They must be defined as any other sensors.
It saves some memory if other sensors is used
They must be defined as any other sensors.
It saves some memory if other sensors is used
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 7:26 pm
Re: MultiWii_dev_20120528
Hi Patrik. I know that you need to define, but after defining WMP + NC can not read data from the sensors properly. Do DEV ran in this configuration? Can you paste the lines to activate the WMP + NC. Maybe it's me behaving badly 

-
- Posts: 2261
- Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:30 pm
Re: MultiWii_dev_20120528
Personally I believe it is time to consider moving to an ATmega1280, ATmega2560 or something more radical like a ST32 processor. The Atmega328 has served this community well and deserve a proper retirement. 

Re: MultiWii_dev_20120528
I don't have access to pin 19 on my Mega, and I would like to use PPM sum. I used to use this code to move the ppm pin to pin 2, but I can't find the pin order in the new code.
changing this:
#define PPM_PIN_INTERRUPT attachInterrupt(4, rxInt, RISING); //PIN 19
#define MOTOR_ORDER 3,5,6,2,7,8 //for a quad+: rear,right,left,front //+ for y6: 7:under right 8:under left
to this:
#define PPM_PIN_INTERRUPT attachInterrupt(0, rxInt, RISING); //PIN 2
#define MOTOR_ORDER 3,5,6,9,7,8 //for a quad+: rear,right,left,front //+ for y6: 7:under right 8:under left
How would I achieve the same result in the new code?
Thanks.
changing this:
#define PPM_PIN_INTERRUPT attachInterrupt(4, rxInt, RISING); //PIN 19
#define MOTOR_ORDER 3,5,6,2,7,8 //for a quad+: rear,right,left,front //+ for y6: 7:under right 8:under left
to this:
#define PPM_PIN_INTERRUPT attachInterrupt(0, rxInt, RISING); //PIN 2
#define MOTOR_ORDER 3,5,6,9,7,8 //for a quad+: rear,right,left,front //+ for y6: 7:under right 8:under left
How would I achieve the same result in the new code?
Thanks.
-
- Posts: 178
- Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:32 pm
- Location: Czech Republic, Prague
Re: MultiWii_dev_20120528
I'm trying to compile MultiWii_dev_20120528 for flying wing stabilization and I want to use "old" Pro Mini 168 board+WMP for that. With attached config it compiles for 168 board without error saying "Binary sketch size: 14252 bytes (of a 14336 byte maximum)" but then doesn't work (servos locked in the endposition and doesn't connect to GUI).
The same set Pro Mini 168 + WMP worked well with 1.9 and the same build works on Pro Mini 328+the same WMP. Is there any explanation?
Additional questions:
-Are servo outputs for flying wing still using A0,A1 pins? Can it be easily remapped to another pins to allow using also gimbal at the same time?
-Is it planned that advanced parameters (like servo centrepoints) currently reachable only by LCD will be soon accessible via GUI?
Thanks!
Roman
The same set Pro Mini 168 + WMP worked well with 1.9 and the same build works on Pro Mini 328+the same WMP. Is there any explanation?
Additional questions:
-Are servo outputs for flying wing still using A0,A1 pins? Can it be easily remapped to another pins to allow using also gimbal at the same time?
-Is it planned that advanced parameters (like servo centrepoints) currently reachable only by LCD will be soon accessible via GUI?
Thanks!
Roman
- Attachments
-
- config.zip
- (14.7 KiB) Downloaded 205 times
-
- Posts: 178
- Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:32 pm
- Location: Czech Republic, Prague
Re: MultiWii_dev_20120528
Pro Mini 168 5V 16MHz. I used exactly the same source and settings, only 168 or 328.
Roman
Roman
Re: MultiWii_dev_20120528
rbirdie001 wrote:-Is it planned that advanced parameters (like servo centrepoints) currently reachable only by LCD will be soon accessible via GUI?
confirmative maybe. I will probably do it together with the same task for helicopter - airplane and flying wing will come as a byproduct.
You can use the 'LCD configuration code' without an lcd or a smartphone by compiling it in (best use lcd.textstar) and then use the terminal from within the arduino.ide to connect to your arduino . Simply ignore some control characters.
about 168p - read up on the specs of this mcu what is different from 328p, that may help you identify the root of your problem. Way easier to invest in a 328p arduino, imho.
Re: MultiWii_dev_20120528
Hamburger wrote:about 168p - read up on the specs of this mcu what is different from 328p, that may help you identify the root of your problem. Way easier to invest in a 328p arduino, imho.
We have to support all different board and mcu .. i do not own any 168p , but i would gladly help if posible

-
- Posts: 178
- Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:32 pm
- Location: Czech Republic, Prague
Re: MultiWii_dev_20120528
thanks Hamburger,
from your post I understood that there is some way accessing advanced parameters using smartphone... As I have one (at least one smart
) I'll try to read more about it and use it. (Direct link could save me time...Thanks!).
About 168 - I agree with you and it's already a "retired" board, I was just curious what it can be. I believed that when it compiles without error, it must work in the board... O.K. -maybe I'm naive
Roman
from your post I understood that there is some way accessing advanced parameters using smartphone... As I have one (at least one smart

About 168 - I agree with you and it's already a "retired" board, I was just curious what it can be. I believed that when it compiles without error, it must work in the board... O.K. -maybe I'm naive

Roman
Re: MultiWii_dev_20120528
Scotth72 wrote:I don't have access to pin 19 on my Mega, and I would like to use PPM sum. I used to use this code to move the ppm pin to pin 2, but I can't find the pin order in the new code.
changing this:
#define PPM_PIN_INTERRUPT attachInterrupt(4, rxInt, RISING); //PIN 19
#define MOTOR_ORDER 3,5,6,2,7,8 //for a quad+: rear,right,left,front //+ for y6: 7:under right 8:under left
to this:
#define PPM_PIN_INTERRUPT attachInterrupt(0, rxInt, RISING); //PIN 2
#define MOTOR_ORDER 3,5,6,9,7,8 //for a quad+: rear,right,left,front //+ for y6: 7:under right 8:under left
How would I achieve the same result in the new code?
Thanks.
I have a Mega with a 1280 chip . I haven't used PPM on it but my board has PIN 19 taken out to RX1 and
should be quite easy to use. I think it's the same on the 2560 version.
Re: MultiWii_dev_20120528
I have the old Flyduino, where pin 19 is out to that tiny jst connector. Makes it useless. I would like to use serial 2 or 3, which do have regular pins.
Re: MultiWii_dev_20120528
Scotth72 wrote:I have the old Flyduino, where pin 19 is out to that tiny jst connector. Makes it useless. I would like to use serial 2 or 3, which do have regular pins.
You should have said that in the first place. I have the same Flyduino and it's very easy to solder a small wire on the jst connector for your signal and then plug in the power and ground wires on the servo lead to the nearby connector. See photo.
-
- Posts: 2261
- Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:30 pm
Re: MultiWii_dev_20120528
Thank you Rob, I have the same board.
Re: MultiWii_dev_20120528
I know I could solder a wire to the connector, but I would like to do it in code. The gps has a #define for which serial port, why not for ppm?
Re: MultiWii_dev_20120528
OK Scott. I don't know much about coding so I can't help you there. I can verify that the wiring does work and is easy to implement so
if you're looking to get it flying , try it. You're welcome Reverend .
if you're looking to get it flying , try it. You're welcome Reverend .