PID settings for EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
-
- Posts: 506
- Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 8:13 am
- Location: Slovenia
PID settings for EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
Hello.
Question for those that are using EXT_MOTOR_RANGE! What are some workable PID settings for different kind of setups?
If I understand correctly we have now 2 different kinds of EXT_MOTOR_RANGE types: on ProMini we have 8bit PWM from 2 to 254 (252 steps(, and on mega we have 16bit PWM (??steps)?!
Regards
Andrej
Question for those that are using EXT_MOTOR_RANGE! What are some workable PID settings for different kind of setups?
If I understand correctly we have now 2 different kinds of EXT_MOTOR_RANGE types: on ProMini we have 8bit PWM from 2 to 254 (252 steps(, and on mega we have 16bit PWM (??steps)?!
Regards
Andrej
Re: PID settings for EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
Hi,
in dev 225 there is just EXT_MOTOR_RANGE witch changes the signal range to near ~0 - 2ms. it can only be used with reflashed ESC's viewtopic.php?f=13&t=516
mega and promicro have some 11 & 16 bit timer active now but MWC uses just 11 bit intern (witch is enough) so
without EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
promini:
- motor 1-4 HW PWM 8bit (7used) = 125-250 (1-2ms) == 125 steps resolution
- motor 5-8 SW PWM 8bit (8used) = 5-245 (1-2ms) == 240 steps resolution <- isnt better then HW PWM eaven with higher resolution
promicro
- motor 1-4 HW PWM 11bit (10used) = 1000-2000 (1-2ms) == 1000 steps resolution
- motor 5-8 SW PWM 11bit (10used) = ~1040-~1960 (1-2ms) == ~920 steps resolution
mega
- motor 1-6 HW PWM 11bit (10used) = 1000-2000 (1-2ms) == 1000 steps resolution
- motor 7-8 HW PWM 8bit (7used) = 125-250 (1-2ms) == 125 steps resolution
with EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
promini:
- motor 1-4 HW PWM 8bit (8used) = 2-252 (~0-2ms) == 250 steps resolution
- motor 5-8 SW PWM 8bit (8used) = 5-245 (1-2ms) == 240 steps resolution
promicro
- no support for EXT_MOTOR_RANGE atm.
mega
- motor 1-6 HW PWM 11bit (11used) =16-2016 (~0-2ms) == 2000 steps resolution (MWC dont uses more then 1000 atm.)
- motor 7-8 HW PWM 8bit (8used) = 2-252 (~0-2ms) == 250 steps resolution
regards
Felix
in dev 225 there is just EXT_MOTOR_RANGE witch changes the signal range to near ~0 - 2ms. it can only be used with reflashed ESC's viewtopic.php?f=13&t=516
mega and promicro have some 11 & 16 bit timer active now but MWC uses just 11 bit intern (witch is enough) so
without EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
promini:
- motor 1-4 HW PWM 8bit (7used) = 125-250 (1-2ms) == 125 steps resolution
- motor 5-8 SW PWM 8bit (8used) = 5-245 (1-2ms) == 240 steps resolution <- isnt better then HW PWM eaven with higher resolution
promicro
- motor 1-4 HW PWM 11bit (10used) = 1000-2000 (1-2ms) == 1000 steps resolution
- motor 5-8 SW PWM 11bit (10used) = ~1040-~1960 (1-2ms) == ~920 steps resolution
mega
- motor 1-6 HW PWM 11bit (10used) = 1000-2000 (1-2ms) == 1000 steps resolution
- motor 7-8 HW PWM 8bit (7used) = 125-250 (1-2ms) == 125 steps resolution
with EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
promini:
- motor 1-4 HW PWM 8bit (8used) = 2-252 (~0-2ms) == 250 steps resolution
- motor 5-8 SW PWM 8bit (8used) = 5-245 (1-2ms) == 240 steps resolution
promicro
- no support for EXT_MOTOR_RANGE atm.
mega
- motor 1-6 HW PWM 11bit (11used) =16-2016 (~0-2ms) == 2000 steps resolution (MWC dont uses more then 1000 atm.)
- motor 7-8 HW PWM 8bit (8used) = 2-252 (~0-2ms) == 250 steps resolution
regards
Felix
Re: PID settings for EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
And where we can define EXT_MOTOR_RANGE?
Thanks you for reply.
regards
Stanley
Thanks you for reply.
regards
Stanley
Re: PID settings for EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
If and only if you have these reflasehd ESCs
in config.h
You can about double P for roll and pitch to start with.
Code: Select all
#define EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
You can about double P for roll and pitch to start with.
Re: PID settings for EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
hi Stanley, you are right there is no entry in config.h for it ...
but you can do it with wirite
to it
regards
felix
but you can do it with wirite
Code: Select all
#define EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
to it
regards
felix
Re: PID settings for EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
hi everyone,
i just have a question about the EXT_MOTOR_RANGE option,
i posted the same question here
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=2024
i missed this post.
i'm using a quadrino zoom rev 1e which is based on the Nano ATmega328
can it support the EXT_MOTOR_RANGE option, and if no why?
if i enable this option , do i need to re calibrate my escs?
thx everyone
i just have a question about the EXT_MOTOR_RANGE option,
i posted the same question here
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=2024
i missed this post.
i'm using a quadrino zoom rev 1e which is based on the Nano ATmega328
can it support the EXT_MOTOR_RANGE option, and if no why?
if i enable this option , do i need to re calibrate my escs?
thx everyone
Re: PID settings for EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
ronco wrote:hi Stanley, you are right there is no entry in config.h for it ...
ah, but it is.
It is right at the beginning of section 7 in config.h
Re: PID settings for EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
crashlander wrote:Hello.
Question for those that are using EXT_MOTOR_RANGE! What are some workable PID settings for different kind of setups?
Andrej,
as rule of thumb I found I can double the P for nick&roll when converting to mwii-esc. On my TRIs with mwii-esc flashed ESCs I have P at 7 to 8.
-
- Posts: 506
- Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 8:13 am
- Location: Slovenia
Re: PID settings for EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
p25o1 wrote:hi everyone,
i just have a question about the EXT_MOTOR_RANGE option,
i posted the same question here
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=2024
i missed this post.
i'm using a quadrino zoom rev 1e which is based on the Nano ATmega328
can it support the EXT_MOTOR_RANGE option, and if no why?
if i enable this option , do i need to re calibrate my escs?
thx everyone
Hello, it seems somebody resurrected that old post

@p25o1 like it was said before you can use extended motor range ONLY WITH SPECIALY PROGRAMMED (REFLASHED) ESC, and of course than you don't need to calibrate ESC's because they are already calibrated.
Regards Andrej
Re: PID settings for EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
i have simon Flashed esc,,, will they do the job/work?
i enabled the option it but the motors didn’t work initially.
after applying full throttle they started to spin,
i'm asking since i see in the code
with EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
"promicro
- no support for EXT_MOTOR_RANGE atm."
i just wanted to know if this is a hardware limitation , or it will come in time/development .
i enabled the option it but the motors didn’t work initially.
after applying full throttle they started to spin,
i'm asking since i see in the code
with EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
"promicro
- no support for EXT_MOTOR_RANGE atm."
i just wanted to know if this is a hardware limitation , or it will come in time/development .
Re: PID settings for EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
simonk flashed ESC are fine, but do not work with EXT_MOTOR_RANGE. Set minthrottle as described in config.h.
Re: PID settings for EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
simonk flashed ESC work fine with my setup
but as you pointed out it will not work with EXT_MOTOR_RANGE ,
when I enable it with the same simonk flashed ESC , it only spins the motor when i give it full throttle.
no issues, i'll leave this option for now,
but as you pointed out it will not work with EXT_MOTOR_RANGE ,
when I enable it with the same simonk flashed ESC , it only spins the motor when i give it full throttle.
no issues, i'll leave this option for now,
Re: PID settings for EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
p25o1 wrote:i have simon Flashed esc,,, will they do the job/work?
i enabled the option it but the motors didn’t work initially.
after applying full throttle they started to spin,
i'm asking since i see in the code
with EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
"promicro
- no support for EXT_MOTOR_RANGE atm."
i just wanted to know if this is a hardware limitation , or it will come in time/development .
its no HW limitation .. it is just not implementet yet .. i thought it wa snot needed because it has a quite high resolution in normal configuration .. but as alex said .. its also good for brushed motors .. so ill implement it soon

regards felix
Re: PID settings for EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
.. i added it now .. its in r975
regards felix
regards felix
Re: PID settings for EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
oh , cool ,
i'll give it a try anyways to see how the esc respond with it
i'll give it a try anyways to see how the esc respond with it

Re: PID settings for EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
Hi,
I´m just a bit confused about using Ext_Motor_Range or not. ??
Its a combo of Flyduino 25A - Simonk firmware ESCs connected to Nanowii (Promicro)
Actually Ext_Motor_Range is activated in my config.h , and the copter is running absolutely normal and fine ??
Hamburger wrote that the SimonK ESC do not work when Ext_Motor_Range is activated. ?
Is it better to remove this def ?
thank you
Georg
I´m just a bit confused about using Ext_Motor_Range or not. ??
Its a combo of Flyduino 25A - Simonk firmware ESCs connected to Nanowii (Promicro)
Actually Ext_Motor_Range is activated in my config.h , and the copter is running absolutely normal and fine ??
Hamburger wrote that the SimonK ESC do not work when Ext_Motor_Range is activated. ?
Is it better to remove this def ?
thank you
Georg
Re: PID settings for EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
polo_fly2 wrote:I´m just a bit confused about using Ext_Motor_Range or not. ??
Its a combo of Flyduino 25A - Simonk firmware ESCs ...
I wrote
simonk flashed ESC are fine, but do not work with EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
what question is left?
for brushless ESCs: If and only if you have wii-esc flashed ESCs use EXT_MOTOR_RANGE. In all other cases, do not use it.
Re: PID settings for EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
polo_fly2 wrote:Hi,
I´m just a bit confused about using Ext_Motor_Range or not. ??
Its a combo of Flyduino 25A - Simonk firmware ESCs connected to Nanowii (Promicro)
Actually Ext_Motor_Range is activated in my config.h , and the copter is running absolutely normal and fine ??
Hamburger wrote that the SimonK ESC do not work when Ext_Motor_Range is activated. ?
Is it better to remove this def ?
thank you
Georg
that is because in all MWC versions before r975 EXT_MOTOR_RANGE has no effekt on a promicro..
regards felix
Re: PID settings for EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
hi and thanks, its clear now.. 
Georg

Georg
Re: PID settings for EXT_MOTOR_RANGE
Ok. Have fun clying.
And simonk esc is good.
And simonk esc is good.