my MultiWii with Atmega2561

Buzo

my MultiWii with Atmega2561

Post by Buzo »

Hi everyone,

I just started in this R/C flying stuff. I bought a little RTF quadcopter just to feel If this is what i want and yes! it was so exciting so I put an order for just everything I need to build a DYI -and bigger- quadcopter.

Then found this site, I have some background in electronics and AVRs. I normally use to write my software in AtmelStudio and program my chips with a SPI programmer.

I am new to Quadcopters, MultiWii and to the Arduino world as well. I only have Atmega128's and 2561's in inventory so the first step was to create a board definition for those AVRs to be recognized by Arduino. Then I modified the MultiWii code to suit my new defined pins, timers etc.

I'll be building the frame while I wait for the stuff to arrive, so hopefully I can start flying into a couple of ... weeks or months, whatever should be OK.

I am sure there will be a lot of questions as the build progress, that's why I am introducing myself here hopping you guys can help me out when in troubles.

So far I succesfully compiled the multiwii firmware and downloaded it to the Atmega2561 with no problems, I tested the serial communication port, the PWM outputs, etc and everything seems to be working OK.

PS. Just to be safe, I included a small original Arduino board (a 328P I guess) in my order as backup plan, but the whole Idea is to create my own board and give a good usage to those several AVRs in my drawer.

Thanks for this great forum/project.
Buzo.

tovrin

Re: my MultiWii with Atmega2561

Post by tovrin »

good luck, keep us posted, show pictures/video as you can!

Buzo

Post by Buzo »

The mechanical part of the quadcopter is done. I took pics of everything so I will upload them later.

I forgot to order the R/C receiver so I am going to use my RTF quadcopter control and receiver.
This RTF has four DC motors which are controlled by a 4.1 Khz PWM signal going from 0 to 99% range