FPV Blues

FPV Blues

Postby PonoBill » Thu Dec 20, 2012 10:56 pm

I've been flying my Quadcopter (Scarab QUAD X Stealth-FPV Reconn) visually for a while, but it's time to get the FPV working. I bought Carbonbird goggles and powered up the transmitter on the copter. I get indication of a carrier but no video (some channels have a non-static screen). I tried playing with the channel select DIPs on the transmitter, and I can move the non-static screen to different channels, but still no video. I've disconnected everything and checked the integrity of the wiring, but I'm at a bit of a loss as to how to tell if the camera is working (the Sony color camera supplied with the kit).

Any help and/or suggestions would be helpful. I also haven't figured out what DIP switch setting choose which channels. The sticker on the transmitter is not very helpful.
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 10:42 pm

Re: FPV Blues

Postby PonoBill » Fri Dec 21, 2012 2:11 am

I've experimented some more, connected a GoPro camera in place of the little sony one that comes with the reconn. With that connected I get some kind of signal--a rolling, unsynced picture I guess, with lots of flashes and random stuff. moving the camera changes the video though it's not really recognizable. I can see some recognizable color. The transmitter is the ts351 video transmitter I suspect, or some variation of that. The goggles I bought are supposed to be compatible. I have another 5.8 Mhz receiver and a car back seat video monitor--can't get anything with that either. Connecting power to the transmitter causes that video monitor to wake briefly, but just blue screen, and then it goes off.

Sure is frustrating.
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 10:42 pm

Re: FPV Blues

Postby crashlander » Fri Dec 21, 2012 6:28 pm

you are probably on the wrong forum for FPV video specific stuff! :)

But! Have you tried to change video system/standard in your GoPro (PAL to NTSC or into other direction)?

Posts: 506
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 8:13 am
Location: Slovenia

FPV Blues

Postby Mystic3D » Fri Jan 25, 2013 12:42 am

The switch settings on the Tx in all the manuals on mine were wrong.
Set SW1 on Tx to ON, all others Off.
See if you get a picture..
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 2:33 am

Return to Shields, boards and sensors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest