Page 1 of 2

10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 5:00 am
by haydent
Update: please also review discussion on second page regarding NMEA & Binary Protocol's and their 10hz support within a module...
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1881&start=10


Feel free to post links to different 10hz capable gps. :D

Preferably with break outs.

Be aware what type you need.

Serial:
http://www.flytron.com/15-simpleosd-gps-module.html
http://www.adafruit.com/products/746
http://store.diydrones.com/MediaTek_MT3 ... 329-02.htm

I2C:
http://www.flytron.com/sensors/180-i2c- ... thers.html
http://qcrc.ca/shop/index.php?main_page ... ucts_id=41
http://www.dsscircuits.com/i2c-gps-shield.html

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:34 am
by Jonit

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:02 pm
by dr.tom

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 6:34 pm
by Wayne
I have had good luck with…
SERIAL:
10 Hz - FMP04-TLP GPS module at: http://www.ohararp.com/products.html
BOB at: http://flyduino.net/Flyduino-FMP04-GPS-Bob_1

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 10:33 pm
by haydent
thanks guys !

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 10:49 pm
by haydent


AFAIK these ublox modules only support ~5hz but can still work with multiwii if you comment out a line of code related to filtering.

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:00 pm
by copterrichie
This is an excellent Reference Thread.

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Wed Jul 04, 2012 9:17 pm
by TermicOne
haydent wrote:


AFAIK these ublox modules only support ~5hz but can still work with multiwii if you comment out a line of code related to filtering.


Haydent ...I've ordered this GPS/Ublox from RCtimer and I'm waiting for delivery. Can you be so kind to give me some detail about the line to be commented in order to make this GPS functioning on the new ALL IN ONE PRO shield from RCTIMER? Thanks!

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 2:25 pm
by JustasM
Please correct me if i'm wrong. If i buy an I2C GPS for use with my Crius SE board, i'll only have to solder 4 cables (some directly to the board) and it'll be enough ? I prefer not to need to have serial port occupied or need to disconnect stuff when connecting to PC/bluetooth.

Thanks

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 3:20 pm
by Pyrofer
Yes, i2c GPS needs only Power/ground and the 2 i2c lines.

It leaves Serial port free.

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2012 8:51 am
by haydent
i ended up buying a skylab mt3329 w/ 3.3v-5v translater. for the price and availability

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 10:27 pm
by EOSBandi
10Hz is OK if your gps module really supports that frequency. I tested a couple of modules and it seems that the ones that claims 10Hz is really work at 10Hz when outputting NMEA data (which has resolution issues, so this is why I implemented the GPS FILTERING.) When used in binary mode the usable refresh rate is only 5Hz. But in that case you don't need GPS_FILTERING so 5Hz is OK.
Ublox 6 and MTK3329 based modules are supported (or will be supported shortly) for binary mode.
I'm also planning to buy some SkyTraq and NVS modules to test them (NVS NV08C-CSM is quite exciting, since it support not only GPS but GLONASS which means twice the number of sats in europe)

LLC is not needed for most of the modules, even if they need 3.3v supply, since TX line can drive an 5V input and for RX you need only a 10K resistor in serial.

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 1:57 am
by haydent
so 10hz binary is best if available, though most "10hz gps" only do it with nmea, otherwise if running nmea you need to enable filtering ? have i understood what you say correct ? thans for the resistor tip.

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 10:06 am
by aircopter
Air Studio GPS Board
MT3339 serial 10Hz with supercap. Supports NMEA and binary modes.

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 2:07 pm
by EOSBandi
aircopter wrote:Air Studio GPS Board
MT3339 serial 10Hz with supercap. Supports NMEA and binary modes.


same was said for the 3329, but in binary mode at 10hz it jumps all over in a 1x1m box, but at 5hz it is smooth.
and sbas works only up to 5hz.

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 2:07 pm
by EOSBandi
haydent wrote:so 10hz binary is best if available, though most "10hz gps" only do it with nmea, otherwise if running nmea you need to enable filtering ? have i understood what you say correct ? thans for the resistor tip.

exactly

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 2:13 pm
by EOSBandi
in case you missed it :
http://code.google.com/p/i2c-gps-nav/do ... -hacks.pdf

some hacks and ideas about using ublox neo6m modules.

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:40 pm
by flyrobot
Hi EOSbandi,

This is very good info. I saw on ublox datasheet the eeprom address must be set to address 0xA0. Is the default address of all recommended eeprom already set on that address or we need manually set?

Thanks,

John

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 10:26 pm
by EOSBandi
flyrobot wrote:Hi EOSbandi,

This is very good info. I saw on ublox datasheet the eeprom address must be set to address 0xA0. Is the default address of all recommended eeprom already set on that address or we need manually set?

Thanks,

John

See the hack guide, yo have to tie all address lines to GND for A0

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 8:51 am
by flyrobot
Ok many thanks.
I dont know why no gps board maker never use eeprom.

John

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Thu Aug 02, 2012 1:46 am
by haydent
i got my gps now, and its working fine via ftdi and minigps

it appears not to support saving settings though.

A- should i go about configuring it for multiwii by either init code on power up or firmware change ?

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Fri Aug 03, 2012 1:05 pm
by haydent
is binary only supported with i2c gps ? as i flashed binary firmware but multiwii gui reports no sats ... is there a setting somewhere to choose binary or nmea in multiwii code ?

[edit]
it must not support my model, as at 38400 baud i get $PGACK,003,-1*71 message

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Fri Aug 03, 2012 1:14 pm
by haydent
i just flashed MTK3329_A1.5E_20110118_10Hz_115200.bin and i now have 8 saves available in the minigps test tab where i had none before ... hope they work :)

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Fri Aug 03, 2012 1:24 pm
by haydent
this is what minigps looks like after flashing, it says i have 8 saves left, and im wondering if its worth trying to change anything, (like is there unnecessary nmea sentences i could disable, or can i enable dgps) to use one of my saves ?

im thinking though that this might also reset it back to 5hz though... ill leav it for now and give it a fly tommorow. :)

Capture.JPG

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 3:48 pm
by flyboy_____
Hi haydent

I used the MTK3329_A1.5E_20110118_10Hz_115200.bin but changed the NMEA Output Settings to Default and then confirmed it.
Also I deactivated SBAS.
Don't know if I'm doing the right thing?

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 11:22 am
by haydent
sounds ok, wasnt sbas off to begin it was with mine ? also after you saved it does it still say it is running at 10hz ?

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 1:59 pm
by flyboy_____
Since my last post I've tested also U-Center and noticed that the GPS signal was intermittent (did not tested in Multiwii).
So I decided to use has I said the DEFAULT BUTTON ON NMEA OUTPUT SETTING.
That button change GLL to 1 and GSV to 1. Is this good? were can I find the meaning for these abbreviations?

Yes. SBAS was disabled by default.

After save it remains in 10Hz. OK

In TEST tab I also used the option to save the values.

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 10:56 am
by haydent
http://www.gpsinformation.org/dale/nmea.htm#nmea <- definitions

form multiwii eos says you need is GGA, GSA and RMC sentences . but you may also want GSV (i think its this one) to get the lock strength data in minigps but not needed in multiwii though

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Sat Aug 11, 2012 12:50 pm
by bill516
I've gone and bought one of these, now I'm thinking will it work, I'm sure that I read somewhere yesterday that it would but can I find it today. So does anybody know if it will work or have I bought another piece of of electronic junk.

http://www.pvelectronics.co.uk/index.ph ... ucts_id=64

Gives more of an idea if you paste the link.

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Sat Aug 11, 2012 1:30 pm
by haydent
that should be fine, its the same chipset i have ( MT3329 ) if you get stuck just post. just put it together and flash it with the 10hz firmware https://code.google.com/p/i2c-gps-nav/d ... p&can=2&q=

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Sat Aug 11, 2012 2:12 pm
by bill516
Thanks for that, I'm sure I'll be doing an Arnie, I'll be back.

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Sun Aug 12, 2012 5:57 pm
by bill516
I bought this module and I havnt got a clue how to wire it to my mega board. I know it will need a + and _ ve but what else, looking at the data sheet for the unit it has 10 connections but which ones are needed and which can be left out. It might makes sense if I had the unit in front of me but I wont get that till Tuesday but I do like to be prepared, that way there is no suprises or other bits I might need.

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:16 am
by haydent
you just need vcc, gnd, and the tx from the module.

as multiwii only recieves data from gps and not send its

but when you are connecting the module to computer via ftdi/usb to flash it you connect up both rx and tx.

with these, if you find it not working try switching tx and rx, as sometimes to gps goes to fc rx pin, sometimes tx to tx

btw you have to hook it up to serial port 0 on your mega

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 8:48 pm
by bill516
Thanks for that , I'm guessing Tx 0 and Rx 0, pins 1 and 0 are the serial port 0 connections. You answered my other query about flashing before I even asked it, now if I can get the conf tool working on my notepad in linux I will be on a winning streak.

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:39 am
by haydent
maybe best to just access a win box temporarily for that unless you have wine but even then...

tx0 and rx0 sound like it. i dont have those labels as my serial0 is labelled as ftdi and has 6 pins which threw me off originally, but my last 2 ports have tx2,rx2 and tx3,rx3 which helped me reverse deduce my 0 one

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2012 10:27 am
by bill516
I'm making my assumptions based on this doc. Its actually the best info I've come across as it shows a picture as well as saying that its got umpteen of this and lots of that.

www.mantech.co.za/datasheets/products/A000047.pdf

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 10:48 pm
by haydent
is that your actual mega board ?

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Sat Aug 18, 2012 12:43 pm
by bill516
Sorry I never noticed your reply, been busy with Linux. That pdf is not my actual board as the one I have is a clone but the pic is the same, mine says Sainsmart where the pic shows Arduino every thing else is the same.

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Sun Aug 19, 2012 10:47 pm
by bill516
Picked up the soldering iron and welded this chip to the break out board. Flashed it and set it up with mini gps NMEA set to default fix update rate at 10, Baudrate at 115200, DGPS di-
sable but the Datum I dont have a clue about. I can see satellites in mini gps and they have a lock but I'm moving about 0.5km/hr sat in the house, not the best place for gps signals. Away plugged it into my mega board set up gps in config.h loaded it and fired up the MW conf nothing, not a blip or dip from the GPS, I put an led on the breakout board so I could tell if it was working and it indicated that it was but no lock on satellites. Even tried it with the multiwiiwin gui and same result, so what have I done wrong.

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:39 pm
by bill516
What have I done wrong, nothing apart from not connecting a battery to vback and board Tx to Serial 2 Rx. I was struggling to get this thing to work and read through about 100 pages in the other thread when I thought sod it I'm going to try a battery on vback and that did the trick now all I have to do is make a board for the v back battery.

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 8:47 pm
by dramida
Upgraded GPS Ublox Neo 6M from RCtimer with EEprom. From now on, the settings won't be lost anymore. http://www.rctimer.com/index.php?gOo=go ... oductname=

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 1:25 pm
by brettwal
dramida wrote:Upgraded GPS Ublox Neo 6M from RCtimer with EEprom. From now on, the settings won't be lost anymore. http://www.rctimer.com/index.php?gOo=go ... oductname=



It also has a larger 25x25 antenna. I ordered one last week. We'll see how it behaves.

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 4:15 pm
by vpb
It's the same as previous ublox, just with new big antenna, eeprom. Looks like they follow EOSBandi solutions :P, just like the AIO board's usb re-inforcement. Cheap price, good quanlity and always try to fix.

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 10:55 am
by hexjump

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2012 11:45 pm
by weisseruebe
Hi,

I'm trying to set my Drotek PA6C to 10Hz / 115.200, but it always outputs nonsense after doing that.

I tried:
-Setting 115.200 in MiniGPS. After that, and setting the comport-speed to 115.200 as well, I only receive rubbish.
Setting back doesn't work, only way is to remove the battery.

-Setting 115.200 with the Terminal with same result

-Uploaded 115.200 / 10Hz Firmware. FW-Tool v122 says "Success", but I only get rubbish through the Uart.

I tried all baudrates, but couldn't get NMEA sentences any more.

I flashed the 38400/5Hz Firmware (Power cycling needed to flash!) and it works again.

Any ideas? Is my MT3339 faulty?

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 6:13 am
by higear
EOSBandi, thanks for the hack pdf! I noticed that you display 2 different gps boards. The last board (blue) does not have the devices labeled and they are in different positions. Does this (blue) board also need to be modded? Are those like early v1 boards?

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Sat Nov 10, 2012 1:56 pm
by haley0918
Hi,

I have a UP501 module with MT3329. I've tested it previously in normal NMEA mode using previous version of I2C_GPS_NAV and it works with 10Hz.

From what I see, most people use the GTPA010/GTPA013 modules that confirms with binary mode.

Would UP501 be able to work in binary mode? I'm only getting "$PGACK,003,-1*71" after flashing firmware AXN1.51_2272.

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 11:56 pm
by EOSBandi
haley0918 wrote:Hi,

I have a UP501 module with MT3329. I've tested it previously in normal NMEA mode using previous version of I2C_GPS_NAV and it works with 10Hz.

From what I see, most people use the GTPA010/GTPA013 modules that confirms with binary mode.

Would UP501 be able to work in binary mode? I'm only getting "$PGACK,003,-1*71" after flashing firmware AXN1.51_2272.


AXN firmware is intended to use only on PA6B modules. Other MTK3329 based modules could work but there is no guarantee, and chances that you are bricking your module is high (for example locosys modules DOES NOT WORK with AXN fw).

Get a UBLOX module, it's cheap and way more better than an MTK module could be.

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 11:59 pm
by EOSBandi
higear wrote:EOSBandi, thanks for the hack pdf! I noticed that you display 2 different gps boards. The last board (blue) does not have the devices labeled and they are in different positions. Does this (blue) board also need to be modded? Are those like early v1 boards?

The "blue" board has correct battery circuity so no modifications are needed. (except adding a EEPROM)
EOS

Re: 10Hz GPS thread

Posted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 11:57 am
by Vaattari
brettwal wrote:
dramida wrote:Upgraded GPS Ublox Neo 6M from RCtimer with EEprom. From now on, the settings won't be lost anymore. http://www.rctimer.com/index.php?gOo=go ... oductname=



It also has a larger 25x25 antenna. I ordered one last week. We'll see how it behaves.


Got my Ublox Neo 6M from RCtimer with EEprom working after tweaking the new I2C GPS code made by EOSBandi: http://code.google.com/p/i2c-gps-nav/downloads/list

For some reason the UBlox initialization needed to be reversed i.e. first send the Ublox configuration (hex stuff) using 9600baud and after that changed the baud rate to 115200. Hopefully this does the same trick as EOSBandi's original init :|
If I first change the baud rate 9600-->11500 the GPS does nothing with the Ublox config (hex stuff). :?:
The command to change the baud rate to 115200 in EOSBandi code did not work so I needed to change that as well. I do not know why the format is different with my RCTimer GPS so better not to troll here. You can see the correct message format with u-center UBlox messages when you send the baud change message to GPS.

Also I noticed that I could not save all of the configuration into the GPS EEprom. For example baud rate was always 9600 after power off/on. NMEA will be enabled after power off/on.. :roll:

Can anyone help how to save all the config data into the EEprom permanently? U-center messages are tried. Maybe a custom message is needed??