HOW-TO: Update FMP04

Post Reply
shufflez
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 5:26 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: HOW-TO: Update FMP04

Post by shufflez »

Hi Rollinolin,

First off; I'd advice to get a simple FTDI, as they don't cost that much and greatly help with all kinds of multirotor stuff.
AFAIK, there isn't (yet) a possibility within MultiWii to program sensors (or ESC's for that matter) via the FC board.

Secondly; I would suggest using a BoB, like the one I'm using for example, from Paul/Goofy23/Flyduino.net.
There's an onboard power regulator (5V from serial to 3.3V for GPS) on mine, which is quite handy.
It fits nicely above the other boards (and away from interference). And I like the looks :)
See here for more details: http://flyduino.net/Flyduino-FMP04-GPS-Bob_1.

Regarding connecting the GPS; I don't believe the Seeeduino uses a specific connector (like Flyduino MEGA does) for serial 2, so just connect the wires to their corresponding counterparts.
My remark regarding the 'crossing' of TX and RX depend on what sensor/BoB/FC you use. Some BoB & FTDI's already have the connections switches/reversed.
Therefore some cases need to connect TX->TX, other cases need TX->RX (which is the 'logical' way for me).
So you might need to connect the TX from the GPS sensor (or BoB) to the RX from the FC/FTDI (Transmit -> Receive) and vice versa.

Go for trial-and-error, as long as you don't(!) connect 5V from board to any of the TX/RX ports, I guess you'll be fine. The firmware-software will let you know if it can find the GPS sensor to upload firmware (via FTDI).
Just to be sure, always check power-connections first (polarity, right connector) and then let them be.

Hope this helps, because the procedure doesn't get dumbed down much I think, as this is what needs to be done to get firmware on your GPS sensor.
Again, just make sure power connections are good first, then connect TX and RX cables the way you think is right. Try to upload firmware. If this fails, switch/reverse/cross TX/RX and try again.

By the way, did you already get GPS working on the FC?

rollinolin
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 11:04 pm

Re: HOW-TO: Update FMP04

Post by rollinolin »

no not yet, i have not tried to attatch it yet since i dont have a bob. I think i will wait untill i get one to do it. Thanks for the help.

User avatar
fr3d
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 11:21 am
Location: Cappelle la grande near the ch'ti village
Contact:

Re: HOW-TO: Update FMP04

Post by fr3d »

why is it better to update gps to 10hz ?
how much should be the ideal serial for 10hz gps ?(9600,38400,56000,115200)
thx for your help.

User avatar
mbrak
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 8:08 pm
Location: Germany, Lemgo

Re: HOW-TO: Update FMP04

Post by mbrak »

fr3d wrote:why is it better to update gps to 10hz ?
how much should be the ideal serial for 10hz gps ?(9600,38400,56000,115200)
thx for your help.



for 10hz you need 115200 baud!

flying fast with less than 10hz will give the flightcontrol not a really correct position at every time of calculation.
the other advantage of 10hz is also that you can filter the values to smooth the position (gps-filter).

User avatar
brettwal
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 4:51 pm
Location: Louisiana

Re: HOW-TO: Update FMP04

Post by brettwal »

Anyone know how to get by a sync error in FlashTool? I get the red bar then the sync error, no blue or green bar. All connections correct , as are files.

User avatar
fr3d
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 11:21 am
Location: Cappelle la grande near the ch'ti village
Contact:

Re: HOW-TO: Update FMP04

Post by fr3d »

I've succeed in update my fmp04 on a flyduino gps bob I'd set flashtool with 9600 bps

taka
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 3:19 am

Re: HOW-TO: Update FMP04

Post by taka »

Hi Fr3d,

Are you saying you first comm the computer with the gps bob @ 9600 baud, then you configure the FMP04 for 10Hz output @ 115200 baud ?

shufflez
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 5:26 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands

Re: HOW-TO: Update FMP04

Post by shufflez »

Taka;
I think that might be just what Fr3d meant, as some USB TTL converters don't play nice on higher baudrates with some devices.
Or at least that's my experience with them.

Brettwal: can you maybe post a screenshot or detailed error message regarding the GPS sync failure?
Have you tried the other version of the tool?

User avatar
mr.sneezy
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 12:00 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: HOW-TO: Update FMP04

Post by mr.sneezy »

I updated my FMP04 from firmware version from the original AXN_1.30 1009 to the one on the original post here, and now the MKT MiniGPS app reports firmware version AXN_1.50 0320. GPS works fine I think (on the test bench).

Not being a MTK GPS guru I'm not sure if that version is the latest and greatest now, or if there is a reason to flash anything newer. Can anyone fill me in on what's the latest version for what we do here (Multicopters).
I'm running BaseFlight (32bit MultiWii port) BTW on my Quad.

Cheers,
Martin

henfri
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 10:12 pm

Re: HOW-TO: Update FMP04

Post by henfri »

Hello,

I have an FMP04 that I bought used. Thus, I don't know whether it is flashed to 5Mhz/10Mhz and to what baudrate.
I use a Flyduino Mega and a Flyduino Break Out Board for the GPS.

Unfortunately, with all three Baud-Rates (9600, 38400, 115200) the MultiWiiConf does not show me a GPS Fix -I am inside, but close to an outside wall. Probably I should try again outside.. After what time should I get a fix, i.e. how long should I wait until I try the next setting?

Is there a robust way to find the current state of the FMP04s Baud-Rate?

Or should I just flash again? The problem: There seem to be two versions (before mid 2012 and aft) and I don't know which one I have. Besides, I would need a bit of soldering until I have those tiny wires connected to the FTDI -and again to get it back to the normal socket. Or is it possible to redirect all data from Serial 1 to Serial 2 on the Arduino and to flash with the Arduino in the loop?

Here my settings

Code: Select all

    #define GPS_SERIAL 2         // should be 2 for flyduino v2. It's the serial port number on arduino MEGA
    #define GPS_BAUD   38400


I appreciate your help. Thanks in advance.

BTW: Can someone provide me the Manual of the Break Out Board/FMP04?

Greetings,
Hendrik

capt
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:54 pm

Re: HOW-TO: Update FMP04

Post by capt »

http://www.f-tech.com.tw/uploads/publis ... RevA04.pdf

http://www.f-tech.com.tw/modules/publis ... p?itemid=5

Did you figure this out?
I have the same GPS, it only works with 38400 set in the ConfigH, I would like to run it at 115200 since it is a 10hz GPS.

Post Reply