Setting up MS5611-01BA

Post Reply
nhadrian
Posts: 421
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 9:25 am

Setting up MS5611-01BA

Post by nhadrian »

Hi all,

I've just bought an MS5611 board from drotek:
http://www.drotek.fr/shop/en/44-ms5611- ... board.html

I soldered the jumpers as showed there, and for CSB-high (0x76)

I have a Quadrino board with onboard BMP085 and I wan't remove that sensor (that's why I'm using CSB high because CSB low would mean the same address as for BMP085, if I'm right)

After GUI and MWI starts, ALT displayes 0.0 then a second or so it jumps to -1516.8 and continously stays there. In MWI code I defined this address:

Code: Select all

#if !defined(MS561101BA_ADDRESS) 
  //#define MS561101BA_ADDRESS 0xEE //CBR=0 0xEE I2C address when pin CSB is connected to LOW (GND)
  #define MS561101BA_ADDRESS 0xEF //CBR=1 0xEF I2C address when pin CSB is connected to HIGH (VCC)
#endif


Please help what is wrong with my setup.

BR
Adrian

RolfS
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 9:04 am

Re: Setting up MS5611-01BA

Post by RolfS »

Try using 0xEC for the device address:

Code: Select all

#define MS561101BA_ADDRESS 0xEC //CBR=1 0xEC I2C address when pin CSB is connected to HIGH (VCC)


Rolf

nhadrian
Posts: 421
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 9:25 am

Re: Setting up MS5611-01BA

Post by nhadrian »

MANY thanks ROLF!

That was the problem!!!!!

BR
Adrian

nhadrian
Posts: 421
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 9:25 am

Re: Setting up MS5611-01BA

Post by nhadrian »

I was trying to start ALT hold woth MS5611 but finally I realized that something is definitelly wrong with the code since ALT value is negative!!!!!
I checked the calculation of compensated pressure in the code regarding to the manual, it seems to be ok, so maybe there is something with the reading of calibration datas.

Here is the manual:
http://www.meas-spec.com/downloads/MS5611-01BA01.pdf

Could somebody confirm that the part of the code which reads out calibration data is OK??? I don't think so but can't find the problem!!!

nhadrian
Posts: 421
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 9:25 am

Re: Setting up MS5611-01BA

Post by nhadrian »

Hi all,

still no solution!
Any ideas?
Does anybody have MS5611 with valid ALT data? I mean who uses it on 0xEC address...

BR
Adrian

mlebret
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 9:12 am

Re: Setting up MS5611-01BA

Post by mlebret »

Hello,

I managed to have some success (according to MultiWiiConfig screen) with my Drotek MS5611. Solder Jumper is in the purple position (should be 0X77 I2C address).

Working arduino code "sensors section" is

#if !defined(MS561101BA_ADDRESS)
#define MS561101BA_ADDRESS 0xEE //CBR=0 0xEE I2C address when pin CSB is connected to LOW (GND)
//#define MS561101BA_ADDRESS 0xEF //CBR=1 0xEF I2C address when pin CSB is connected to HIGH (VCC)
#endif

0X76, 0X77, 0XEC, OXEF are not working (high I2C debug count).

I have a Paris v4 interface with Sirius navigator. Drotek is on the same I2C bus.

Altitude control not yet tested in flight (Wind and rain...).

Had a short flight since. Not bad but certainly perfectible. If it really works, its really better than with the BMP085 yoYO.
Attachments
Drotek MS5611
Drotek MS5611

nhadrian
Posts: 421
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 9:25 am

Re: Setting up MS5611-01BA

Post by nhadrian »

0XEC address is only works when CSB pin is soldered to VCC. I have tu use this because the I have on-board BMP085 which uses the 0XEE address.
On your screenshot I see only 0.0 in ALT value. It doesn't looks like it works properly... Could you post a screenshot with real values?

mlebret
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 9:12 am

Re: Setting up MS5611-01BA

Post by mlebret »

nhadrian wrote:0XEC address is only works when CSB pin is soldered to VCC. I have tu use this because the I have on-board BMP085 which uses the 0XEE address.
On your screenshot I see only 0.0 in ALT value. It doesn't looks like it works properly... Could you post a screenshot with real values?



Values are low 0.1, 0.2, or 0.0 as on the Screen.

Here is another one with only Alt info mapped. Variations are from moving my Quad Up and down.

VarioData.png

nhadrian
Posts: 421
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 9:25 am

Re: Setting up MS5611-01BA

Post by nhadrian »

I printed out the six constants (ms561101ba_ctx_c[1] - [6]) to debug panels, with the following results:

C1: -24616
C2: -28665
C3: 25338
C4: 23274
C5: -31830
C6: 27614

It is really strange because the manual says it have to be between 0 and 65535, so no negative values allowed!!!
BTW, values are similar to the ones in the manual.

Any idea????????

Post Reply