Baseflight custom motor mix?

Post Reply
wayno
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2014 12:51 pm

Baseflight custom motor mix?

Post by wayno »

Hi all, first off apologies in advance if the searching i have already done missed out the obvious. :oops:

I'm looking to set a custom motor mix to match my non standard quad x motor layout* on a Naze32, through my research i have worked out the motors position and the code needed to be added. Everything i can find is all 8 bit relative, if i could use the arduino IDE i'd have been away and flying by now. Is there a way to add my motor mix using baseflight?

In the manual for the Naze32 it mentions custom motor mixes and refers to the serial chapter but I cant find the specific instructions.

Any help really appreciated and thanks in advance. :)






*yes it is a tbs discovery frame, NO I am not using DJI arms ;) I'm using custom printed boom blocks and 16mm carbon booms, the front arms are slightly longer than standard.

Pierre_A
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 9:32 am

Re: Baseflight custom motor mix?

Post by Pierre_A »

Hi wayno,

in Baseflight through CLI :

you first enter
≠ mixer custom
{you get
Mixer set to custom}

then you can preload your mixer (or skip that step), for example
≠ cmix load Y4
{you get
Loaded Y4 mix...
Custom mixer:
Motor Thr Roll Pitch Yaw
≠1: 1.000 0.000 1.000 -1.000
≠2: 1.000 -1.000 -1.000 0.000
≠3: 1.000 0.000 1.000 1.000
≠4: 1.000 1.000 -1.000 0.000
Sanity check: OK OK OK
}

then enter your own mixer values
≠cmix n x1 x2 x3 x4
{with n = motor number
x1..x4 your values (space separated)
and you get same answer as in the previous step with your own values for motor n}

hope this helps

timecop
Posts: 1880
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 4:48 pm

Re: Baseflight custom motor mix?

Post by timecop »

You can just use "cmix" in cli, to make your own mix. You don't need to compile anything or add any code.
You can even number motors in sane way, like clock or counterclockwise.

The mixing is same as custom mix in MikroKopter, DJI, etc.
The difference here is values are between -1.0 and +1.0 in cmix, where in MK they're -64 to +64 and I think DJI uses -100 to 100%. But principle is same.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showpost ... ount=15361

If you want an example (but with shitty motor order) mix, you can do something like 'cmix load quadx' and take a look at the numbers.

oops, looks like the guy above have beat me to it.

wayno
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2014 12:51 pm

Re: Baseflight custom motor mix?

Post by wayno »

Thank you guys! Will give that a go as soon as I get time to sit down with baseflight again, busy busy!

Pierre_A
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 9:32 am

Re: Baseflight custom motor mix?

Post by Pierre_A »

You're welcome and have a good flight !

Vertigo
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 6:58 pm

Re: Baseflight custom motor mix?

Post by Vertigo »

I assume this works the same for servo's? And is there anyway to mix in other channels besides the default 4 channels?
Im building a Tcopter with dual yaw servo's. The servo's both move in the same direction for yaw (props tilt opposite), currently simply using a Y cable. But Id like to use another tx channel to have the motors both tilt forwards or backwards (servo's moving opposite). Is there any way to achieve this besides using an external (hardware) mixer?

timecop
Posts: 1880
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 4:48 pm

Re: Baseflight custom motor mix?

Post by timecop »

Servos don't have a custom mixer.
It would be nice to have, but right now, its hardcoded.

greencardigan
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 12:34 am

Re: Baseflight custom motor mix?

Post by greencardigan »

So I assume you're saying a quad with 2 x yaw servos is not currently possible with the naze32?

I have been adding yaw servos to my KK2.1 quads and was thinking of switching to a naze32.

TopNotch
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 6:01 pm

Re: Baseflight custom motor mix?

Post by TopNotch »

Hi all. So I need to set up custom mix as well. I'm using a Tarot 250 frame that has everything built in. The problem is now that I have everything soldered up my issue is this...

Baseflight Motor 1 = Motor 4 on the Quad
Baseflight Motor 2 = Motor 2 on the Quad
Baseflight Motor 3 = Motor 1 on the Quad
Baseflight Motor 4 = Motor 3 on the Quad

Could someone walk me through what I need to do? I'm very unclear on the CLI part of the program and what everything means. Thanks in advance.

PatrikE
Posts: 1976
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:35 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Baseflight custom motor mix?

Post by PatrikE »


TopNotch
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 6:01 pm

Re: Baseflight custom motor mix?

Post by TopNotch »

PatrikE wrote:Online Mixer
http://www.iforce2d.net/mixercalc/


Thanks so if I have used the tool to get my mix settings then all I need to do in the CLI is the following correct?

cmix reset
cmix 1 1 -1 0.842 -1
cmix 2 1 -1 -0.842 1
cmix 3 1 1 0.842 1
cmix 4 1 1 -0.842 -1

Will I need to use the command cmix load quadx since this is the layout? Also does it matter that my motors aren't in the order of the diagram of Baseflight?

TopNotch
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2015 6:01 pm

Re: Baseflight custom motor mix?

Post by TopNotch »

Gave it try and I can't power up the motors...

Post Reply