Page 2 of 3

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Sat Jun 07, 2014 8:11 pm
by PatrikE
Hi Kev,

Looks like correct procedure.
Make full throws for Roll & Elevator in both ways.

You can test the Gui included in this dev version for Arduino FC.
https://multiwii.googlecode.com/svn/bra ... 140402.zip
It have a software TX built in witch i use for testing on the bench.

Good luck.

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2014 1:24 pm
by tanman
will the RTH still work for planes without rudder?

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2014 11:14 pm
by PatrikE
tanman wrote:will the RTH still work for planes without rudder?

Yes no problems.
I only fly with Ailerons Elevator on my planes.
But i have heard from others it flies better using Rudder for Navigation.

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 12:04 am
by tanman
PatrikE wrote:
tanman wrote:will the RTH still work for planes without rudder?

Yes no problems.
I only fly with Ailerons Elevator on my planes.
But i have heard from others it flies better using Rudder for Navigation.


Thanks very much Patrike. One more question I have configured my ublox gps for UBx+NMEA for both protocol in and out as configuring it just for ublox does not make it work (gps is a ublox Neo-6M) what GPS type do I need to set in CLI?

Cheers

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 7:24 am
by crashlander
In my experience you can set UBX in cli and Baseflight will took care of setting actual module!

Regards
Andrej

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 9:40 am
by scrat
set gps_type=1

and reset your gps to default in u-blox center software. Baseflight FW will take care of settings.

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 12:57 pm
by tanman
thanks to all. will test this soon

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 6:25 pm
by crashlander
@PatrikE: I can see in code that limits for max correction are from -450 to 450
cli.c

Code: Select all

{ "gps_maxcorr", VAR_INT16, &cfg.gps_maxcorr, -450, 450 },
    { "gps_rudder", VAR_INT16, &cfg.gps_rudder,  -450, 450 },
    { "gps_maxclimb", VAR_INT16, &cfg.gps_maxclimb,  -450, 450 },
    { "gps_maxdive", VAR_INT16, &cfg.gps_maxdive,  -450, 450 },


Are those absolute servo pulses from mid (or current stable) or are those degrees *10?

And after that they get multiplied again in fw_nav.c (same as original MWII)

Code: Select all

GPS_angle[PITCH] = constrain(altDiff/10,-cfg.gps_maxclimb*10,cfg.gps_maxdive*10) + ALT_deltaSum;
    GPS_angle[ROLL]  = constrain(navDiff/10,-cfg.gps_maxcorr*10, cfg.gps_maxcorr*10) + NAV_deltaSum;
    GPS_angle[YAW]   = constrain(navDiff/10,-cfg.gps_rudder*10,  cfg.gps_rudder*10 ) + NAV_deltaSum;


Is there any difference between BaseFlight and MWII or are those CLI values (limits) wrong?

Regards
Andrej

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 11:10 pm
by PatrikE
Hi Andrej,
The limit for Gps is 45degrees *10.
That part is a direct copy from MWii 8bit version.
And you are correct, it should be +/- 45 in cli.c...( Degrees *1 )
In the constrain's the limits should be degrees *10.

As long as cli values is low it should work fine anyway.
Normal values should be 20-40 degrees.

Good catch.
I'll correct it after weekend.

/Patrik

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 2:44 pm
by alistairr
Has this code been added to Baseflight?

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 3:12 pm
by timecop
Not yet, but it should be soon

Posted: Tue Jun 17, 2014 11:21 am
by theailer
Best thing I've read this week

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Tue Jun 17, 2014 11:58 am
by alistairr
Very cool

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Fri Jul 11, 2014 11:12 am
by alistairr
test flew today a Balsa/Ply built up mid wing plane today with Rev4 acro and $20 Ublox NEO6 with Patrick's programming and it worked flawlessly straight away. I've always used Eagle Tree for my fixed wings in the past but this Naze32 and GPS set up is so compact/light and cheap I'm so impressed. Just need to sort out a way to decode the GPS for antenna tracking...lol but really this is so small it could be fitted to anything. Love it :D

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 9:27 am
by scrat
alistairr wrote:test flew today a Balsa/Ply built up mid wing plane today with Rev4 acro and $20 Ublox NEO6 with Patrick's programming and it worked flawlessly straight away. I've always used Eagle Tree for my fixed wings in the past but this Naze32 and GPS set up is so compact/light and cheap I'm so impressed. Just need to sort out a way to decode the GPS for antenna tracking...lol but really this is so small it could be fitted to anything. Love it :D


Could you be so kind and post a picture of everytnih connected on the plane and what version of Airplane RTH BF did you use. THX!

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 4:42 pm
by alistairr
Google fixed base flight for rc groups thread. It is Patricks firmware. I'll post pic in the next week but it's nothing special. Acro board using ppm feature GPS. Gps powered from spare motor outputs and gps tx and rx to inputs 3 and 4

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Wed Jul 16, 2014 4:45 pm
by alistairr
I've got an afromini in a blunt Nose teksumo but not ready to fly yet. Been distracted by new blackout h quad lol

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 3:41 pm
by IceWind
Just got some afromini to load in a wing.
So test will start soonnnn. :)

Does the .hex file in 1st post is still the newest (tested hopefully) version available?

Thanks!

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Sun Aug 10, 2014 1:53 pm
by alistairr
Plane with no ailerons



Hi
I've set up a normal 4 channel plane with an acro naze 32 and a blunt nose Teksumo with afro mini. Both have NEO6 GPS and both fly great!! Now I'm playing with a friends FPV plane that only has rudder and elevator (no ailerons) and was wondering what settings will need to be changed to put roll corrections through the rudder for stabilization and GPS navigation. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I've gone back through much of this forum as I thought I had read something but I can't find it.


Thanks

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Sun Aug 10, 2014 9:31 pm
by PatrikE
I'm not sure but you would probably need a new Mixtable.
Navigation can be done with rudder only.
But the code wouldn't be able to compensate for Roll in that case.

Or maybe connect rudder to aileron port and reduce Maxcorr to 10 degrees.
I think it might work but i can't guarantee it.
Roll compensation will then be added to the rudder.
Only way is to test how it behaves.

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 5:06 am
by cherokee180c
I already have an AcroNaze 32 board and a full Naze 32 board that I am familiar with for quads. What would I need to do as far as firmware to use for a glider? Does the normal baseflight program have the code or do I need to flash with new hex? Also, can the Naze handle separate L/R aileron channels? Lastly is there a way to enable and disable stabilization via aux channel? I was really looking to test and then just use in Loss of sight RTH scenario until I could see glider again. Do you need the mag and barometer especially if you don't need altitude hold,or can you just add GPS to the Acro board?

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 7:29 am
by PatrikE
The regular Baseflight works only as a flight stabilizer.
For RTH function on a plane you need to use my modified version.
Separate L/R ailerons is supported.
If you use a Arduino board you can even setup Crowbreaks and flaperons in the controller.(Removed in BF)

You can set up Passthru on a AUX channel for manual control without stabilizing.
The code works without Mag & Baro.
Gps data is used instead.
AcroBoard + GPS works fine.

Maxclimb is set to 15 degrees and is probably not a good value for a glider.
It can be hard to climb without motor.

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 12:31 pm
by scrat
Why can't we implement failsafe RTH to original baseflight and use it with multicopter?

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2014 10:56 pm
by cherokee180c
PatrikE wrote:The regular Baseflight works only as a flight stabilizer.
For RTH function on a plane you need to use my modified version.
Separate L/R ailerons is supported.
If you use a Arduino board you can even setup Crowbreaks and flaperons in the controller.(Removed in BF)

You can set up Passthru on a AUX channel for manual control without stabilizing.
The code works without Mag & Baro.
Gps data is used instead.
AcroBoard + GPS works fine.

Maxclimb is set to 15 degrees and is probably not a good value for a glider.
It can be hard to climb without motor.


Thanks for the reply. Is the file on post 1 still the latest version? Also I have programmed in crow, so would like to keep that in pass through mode. Is pass through mode just basically a software switch off an aux channel so all the inputs and outputs all go through Naze32 still, just with no stabilization? I will be trying on myFlip32+ first. What is the correct way to set up the separate L/R ailerons? The Naze/Flip can be set up without using PPM for inputs correct? The taranis X8R receivers do not support PPM anymore without adding a converter which is out of stock. If I don't use PPM, how should I connect the Ublox 6M GPS, as I think on the flip it needs to be connected via pins 3 or 4, but it also has an I2C connection. Thanks for all the help. I hope to flash the Flip tonight with your hex if all goes well.

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Wed Aug 20, 2014 2:51 am
by PatrikE
http://www.abusemark.com/downloads/naze32_rev3.pdf
From NAZE32 manual wrote:When GPS feature is enabled, channels 3 and 4 are are used for 3.3V GPS connection.
(3:TX, 4:RX). with CPPM receiver, these are normally unused, with standard receiver,
connect AIL to 1, ELE to 2, THR to 5, RUD to 6, and AUX1/2 to channels 7 and 8.
BaseFlight don't support I2C GPS.

BF handles the mixing.
If Passthru is active The channels will be sent thru the mixer without sensor influence.
BaseFlight don't have mixing for handling ailerons as flaps.

The Transmitter must be setup for normal 4 channel without mixing.
Some of the AUX channels can be connected direct to servos.(Flaps,Towhook release & Airbrakes etc)

To use Crowmix a new mixing function must be added.

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Wed Aug 20, 2014 3:10 am
by cherokee180c
Thanks again. I learned a ton tonight and was able to flash your hex file into the flip32+. I also enabled mixer airplane and saw how to set up the additional ailerons. I also decided it was best from a physical and programming standpoint to just buy the SBUS to CPPM converter for the FrSky X8R, so now I can easily hook up in CPPM mode. The number of questions I have is dropping rapidly.

Crow should not be a problem, because I only use Crow during landing mode, and I can simply put the Flip into passthrough mode when my landing mode switch is enabled, does that make sense? I think you are recommending for me to have the flap channels go direct to the servos and bypass the Flip controller entirely, correct?
On the ailerons, they work as normal, but have a bias forced in from a curve if camber or reflex is enabled. All this really does is move the center point of the output up for reflex and down for camber. Will the Flip just see this as a normal forced signal and control from that point? I also have aileron differential built in through mixing, but I assume that may be a problem as well? What I don't understand is that the Flip controller can only see the incoming PPM signal for that channel. How does it know if the signal is from mixing or stick movement?

If all this is a problem, I may have to disable stabilization totally when flying normal and then just set everything to off when RTH is enabled.

Is the base PID's close for starting purposes in airplane mode?

Flying Wing

Posted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 8:41 am
by kaysee
Hi guys.

I don't know if this thread still active or not, but want to try my luck.

I'm a hardcore mini multirotor fpv'er and recently trying to get back in flying fixed wing and successfully had a couple of fpv flight with a flying wing. Being a enthusiast in trying something new I would like to give this firmware a try on my flying wing using an afromini.
But until now I can't figure out how to get the mixing right. I've flashed Patrick's latest rth baseflight firmware. As for the settings, I'm using Multiwii Conf 2.3 (current baseflight conf require 2.31 to be able to connect) and I use Putty for CLI.
My problem is, I can't get the servos to mix right for nick/elevator. I only get roll/aileron mix weather I'm moving the roll stick or the elevator, only its in the other direction.

Can somebody help me with this. Cant seem to find the answer I'm looking for after a couple of weeks searching.

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 9:49 am
by IceWind
Go here, that is where the action is now >> http://fpvlab.com/forums/showthread.php ... fixed-wing.

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 12:11 pm
by kaysee
thanx man.

btw I solved my problem by trial n error ;)

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 12:16 pm
by PatrikE
There is a newer version for Baseflihgt.
baseflight_FW_RTH.rar

You must enable Live mode in the servo tab.
Click the boxes to change direction per servo and axis.
Save to eeprom when you are satisfied.
Explained in the Howto for MWii but the function is the same for Baseflight.
http://fotoflygarn.blogspot.se/2012/03/ ... -same.html

And Yes The FpvLab thread is more active.

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 2:30 am
by kaysee
I don't know how I can missed that when I did the research. It's all there!
Thank you very much PatrikE. Can't wait to give it a try.

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 10:23 am
by Shual
Are this .hex file can work correctly on stm32F103c8t6 (with 64K flash) based boards or on stm32F103c8t6 (with 128K flash), only ?

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 11:18 am
by scrat
128k only.

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 1:54 pm
by PatrikE
The size of the hexfile is >200.

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Tue Nov 25, 2014 2:49 pm
by Shual
Which level of GPS support exist in this code ? Is it can fly on airplane by WP, correctly ? Or RTH only ?

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Tue Nov 25, 2014 3:01 pm
by PatrikE
RTH & PH...
It's been included in Baseflight master now.
Select use developer firmware in the flasher window.

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Tue Nov 25, 2014 5:51 pm
by Shual
Position Hold ? In airplanne mode ? but how it look like in airplane ?

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Tue Nov 25, 2014 7:08 pm
by PatrikE
Sets a Waypoint in 3D and continuisly fly to it.
It will fly in a circle or figure 8 randomly to turn around to hit it again and maintaining altitude.

RTH will do the same after it hit home Pos.
Unless it's in failsafe..
Then it will Disarm and circle down.

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Tue Nov 25, 2014 7:51 pm
by Shual
Hi Patrik. You good know baseflight code. How difficult add to it " navigation of single waypoint". Just flight in one a predetermined point from any current position
it's almost like holding the position, but the plane flies to the point that not remember, but at the coordinates are specified in advance. for example through the RC protocol of MW. Point cord are set via serialRC and and periodically check is it reach this point via serialRC/

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Tue Nov 25, 2014 8:53 pm
by PatrikE
I guess you can use MSP_WP to set a WP even for Baseflight.
You should be able to use the MWii EZ-Gui for android to test.

I have not tested it but it might work.


Otherwise hard coded position but that's not practical in field.

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:23 am
by Shual
Hi Patrik. I want to try develop fork of yours code with extended GPS functions, and some other sweet things. But code on trunk where yours code changes are merged, do not compiling correctly. Do I can found yours current code in some other repository ?

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 12:14 pm
by PatrikE
Check out official baseflight from git.
It's merged to master branch now.

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2014 2:15 pm
by Shual
thanks, problem solved. I just change my toolchain from codebench to standard GNU-arm and all compiling good. Problem was because I have no Keil and use Eclipse for development. In first time I try make it via description on rcgroups forum but this instructions to old for compiling current baseflight code

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2014 2:28 pm
by Shual
Now I planing add USB support in code, as alternate way for setup device... and fo serialRC so

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2014 3:47 pm
by PatrikE
SerialRC already works.
But not like in MWii where MSP_RC works direct and overwrites PPM/PWM channels.

I have modified MWiiGui with a Software TX.
https://db.tt/68d9KJeZ
I use this Gui for benchtesting.
Without props!...

To enable SerialRC in CLI.

Code: Select all

feature SERIALRX
set serialrx_type=4


https://github.com/multiwii/baseflight/ ... upner-SUMD

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2014 5:28 pm
by Shual
I know. I already using serialRC from gamepad in mwii via serial and via IP, from my modified version mwiiconf(viewtopic.php?f=8&t=4953&p=53732&hilit=joystick#p53731) But for that I was made little change in wii code, so - for prevent "pulsing mixing" data from RC and serial RC (just disable usual RC via additional #define and it check in next code, but this not best way)
I want to add serialRC not only via seral, and so via USB/ I think this will be useful, for some features. I know cleanflight already have usb VCP support, but I don`t know is it can work with GPS in airplane mode :?

But what differ in serialRC baseflight compare to multiwii ?

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2014 11:28 pm
by PatrikE
If you activate serial RC in baseflight i think RX based is disabled and only Serial is active.

In MWii Serial will replace the channels if they have valid data.
It means you can use both at the same time.
ex.
Let a normal TX with PPM send 8 channels and control everything.
If you start the serial and send zero as command on the first 6 channels and valid inputs on ch 7&8.
Serial will overwrite the two last channels to control a gimbal or headtracker...

Almost like a DualCommand system.
And BF can only handle one at a time.

You can send the serialRC data on USB port on BF.

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Mon Dec 01, 2014 8:15 am
by Shual
Hi Patrik/ On weekend I added usb-vcp support to my hardware in cleanflight code. ( in there it was for stm32F3XX devices, only/ I added it for stm32F1XX, too)/ I think do repeat this for baseflight, but not shure is the interesting for author (timecop) porting baseflight code for nonafro hardware. What do you thunk about porting yours code for airplane to cleanflшght ? If you agree, do I can try it to do ?

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Mon Dec 01, 2014 12:33 pm
by PatrikE
I have looked at cleanflight but i get confused by all the fragmented code.
You're welcome to port it.
As long as you follow open source rules it's ok.

Re: Airplane RTH BaseFlight

Posted: Mon Dec 01, 2014 1:10 pm
by Shual
Ok, but first questions: how I can find yours changes in basic baseflight code. For simplifying this, do you can say me in which basefligt files you puts this changes, (if you no difficult, so)