MultiWii on Cortex M0 with 16kb flash? (toy quadcopter)

cpldcpu

MultiWii on Cortex M0 with 16kb flash? (toy quadcopter)

Post by cpldcpu »

Dear MultiWii community,

I am quite new to multiwii and have no experience with it. I recently bought a cheap chinese quadcopter (<30$, JXD 385) and was surprised to find that it worked quite well.
When I opened it, I found quite familiar hardware: A MPU6050 inertial sensor, a BK2324 (nrf24L01 clone) tranceiver and a Nuvoton MINI54ZAN MCU. The microcontroller
is a Cortex M0 with 16kb flash and 2 kb sram. Interestingly all relevant ports of the MCU have been brought out on the PCB (see attachment). It seems likely that it is possible to reprogram
it. For various reasons it would be interesting to use a custom firmware. So far, I have not been successful in locating the original firmware.

One other option of course, would be to port an existing quadcopter firmware to this device. Would it be possible to port MultiWii to this platform, given the little available memory? Is there already an existing port for the Cortex M0? I notice it has been ported to the M3..
Attachments
ports.jpg

timecop

Re: MultiWii on Cortex M0 with 16kb flash? (toy quadcopter)

Post by timecop »

If you get rid of all the configuration stuff from baseflight, it should be small enough
alternatively, you can take a look at https://github.com/trollcop/bradwii which might be a good starting point for something small that isn't bloated up yet.

Assuming the chip has some peripherals for PWM/etc it shouldn't be that hard, but you'll spend most of the time writing low-level drivers.

cpldcpu

Post by cpldcpu »

timecop wrote:If you get rid of all the configuration stuff from baseflight, it should be small enough
alternatively, you can take a look at https://github.com/trollcop/bradwii which might be a good starting point for something small that isn't bloated up yet.