Page 2 of 65

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 8:54 am
by LeoWie
Thanks TC.

Besides:
- Now r205 flashed.
- Because of high test intervalls I started using nicodh's Configuration software / GUI http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1667516 ... it's great! :) ... and now have cables on bootloader pins (easy to short it).
- 2nd test GPS - Crius CN-06 GPS Receiver Module - still not arrived. :|

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 9:05 am
by timecop
Bootloader shorting shouldn't be necessary unless you killed the existing firmware, the proper/easy way is sending 'R' then doing flash load.

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 9:13 am
by LeoWie
timecop wrote:Bootloader shorting shouldn't be necessary unless you killed the existing firmware, the proper/easy way is sending 'R' then doing flash load.

... hm: for serial / CLI I use hercules software.
Entering ## to sende the # works fine, but R or RR never worked.
Maybe I should enter #R to tranfer this R ?

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 9:24 am
by timecop
No, just R with nothing else. # needs to be doubled because # means start of hex char for the hercules entry box.

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 5:25 pm
by a944734
timecop wrote:OK, so does manually sending something like "$PMTK251,115200*1F" to your gps dongle witih usb>serial converter switch it to 115200 baud mode? If you're getting data at 9600, there are two possibilities:

1) tx signal to gps isn't working / connected correctly
2) those MTK init strings are wrong / aren't accepted by your gps

when using gps_type = 0 (raw nmea), you have to pre-configure the GPS to the gps_baudrate value first - there's no automatic way to set that, so that explains why no data at other baudrates with type = 0.


Yes, using a Sparkfun FTDI I can set the baudrate with $PMTK251 strings, set the refresh rate with $PMTK300 strings and I do get data back after.
Also working is MiniGPS to set everything
(only thing I can't do is store default settings to my liking, the module I received has flash write protected - how lucky can you get ....)

So .... any other ideas ?

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 5:43 pm
by Scotth72
If you re-install the 115200 5hz firmware, you will get those settings installed, and also have opportunities to change the settings using Mini GPS. There are some firmware downloads on Eosbandi's gps site.

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 11:10 am
by rocketray
LeoWie wrote:
timecop wrote:Bootloader shorting shouldn't be necessary unless you killed the existing firmware, the proper/easy way is sending 'R' then doing flash load.

... hm: for serial / CLI I use hercules software.
Entering ## to sende the # works fine, but R or RR never worked.
Maybe I should enter #R to tranfer this R ?



I have a single R in one of the hex boxes at the bottom then all i have to do is press send.

RAY :) ;)

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 12:47 pm
by tcarnal
Hi all,

I have a Question about Telemetry,
I have a Turnigy 9x with Frsky on its way and have found al the things i need to do to make Telemetry working from my Naze32.
The FrSky converter from AbusMark (TC) is already mounted on.
One thing is just not clear to me there was alot of info on the Telemetry on RCGroups but no direct answhere on the Voltage Meter.

Is the Naze able to send the Lipo Voltage (if connectect ofcource) to the Frsky unit?

And i realy want to experiment with GPS and i see alot of units passing but wich do you guys recommend to work with the Naze?

thx
Thijs

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 12:53 pm
by timecop
Battery voltage can be transmitted. Currently, it's not, but I'm going to add this real soon, because I already have some fixes queued for telemetry. FrSky LCD can view 2 sensors - the amp/voltage sensor which reports only one voltage and the "cell" split voltage, obviously I can't find individual cell voltage, so I'll be emulating the current/voltage sensor output.

The value is taken from VBAT sense on naze32 - so you'd have to connect that to your power distro/battery and configure vbatscale in cli until you are getting correct readings. default divider value should work though, to +- 0.2V or so.

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 1:13 pm
by tcarnal
That's great news :)

When do you think this is available?
Can't wait for my transmitter to arrive.
Just sold my DX6i and my hands are itching :)

thx

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 1:58 pm
by tcarnal
Just out of curiosity

What's the diferents between the baseflight and the baseflightplus?
I wasn't able to find an answer on the big bad internet.

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 2:01 pm
by timecop
bfp is very much work in progress. unless you're willing to build the firmware and read the source for documentation, it's probably not for you.

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 2:11 pm
by tcarnal
Aah oke i am all but a programmer :)

thx

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 4:01 pm
by a944734
Scotth72 wrote:If you re-install the 115200 5hz firmware, you will get those settings installed, and also have opportunities to change the settings using Mini GPS. There are some firmware downloads on Eosbandi's gps site.


I could probably to that. However I (and probably other MTK users) would much rather have the Naze send the needed settings to the unit on startup
Would simplify matters a lot ..

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 4:11 pm
by timecop
It does send needed settings. I'll test it with my MTK FMP04 breakout sometime soon.

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 7:49 am
by Gaijin
LeoWie wrote:GPS Test Report r204

HW:
Rabbit GPS Receiver w/ u-blox GPS module
(label " ublox Neo 6M 0 001", never set to something via usb)

Settings:
CLI
gps_type = 1
gps_baudrate = 19200
(data not visible in WiiConf with gps_type = 0 or 2 and ot higler gps_baudrate)

Connection:
GPS:Rx-FC:3:TX + GPS:Tx-FC:4:RX works: see green [GPS] in MultiWiiConf (not Tx-Tx + Rx-Rx).

Switches:
(1) ACC / GPSHold+ACC+MAG / GPSHome+ACC+MAG
(2) - / BARO
(see green in MultiWiiConf when switched on)

Flight test:
Leveled ACC flight ok.
When switched to GPS copter levels about 5 degrees away from hold/home

Test quality:
high (no wind, 5+ tries)

Impression:
Like GPS params work in the opposit direction ... and very weak ... or not(?)


I need to add to this having also flight tested r205, the copter shows no sign of POS hold or RTH when activated, if anything it tends to drift off in the same direction regardless of orientation.

Tested with a UBlox Neo6 Module @ 11520 which definately has a lock (confirmed via telemetry) on a Hex and MicroQuad, something isn't quite meshing in the code

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 9:16 am
by timecop
I think I nailed the GPS stuff (for those who are getting a lock, at least) with latest commit.
http://code.google.com/p/afrodevices/so ... tail?r=209
Still haven't looked at MTK stuff or at people having trouble getting actual hardware to work - that is likely something about your config.

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 9:32 am
by JUERGEN_
.
EEPROM is an advantage?
Necessary or Not?
as in "CN-06 GPS Receiver V2.0"
- http://www.rctimer.com/index.php?gOo=go ... oductname=

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 9:43 am
by timecop
More expensive and not relevant if hw is auto-configured on startup, no?

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 10:59 am
by LeoWie
rocketray wrote:
LeoWie wrote:
timecop wrote:Bootloader shorting shouldn't be necessary unless you killed the existing firmware, the proper/easy way is sending 'R' then doing flash load.

... hm: for serial / CLI I use hercules software.
Entering ## to sende the # works fine, but R or RR never worked.
Maybe I should enter #R to tranfer this R ?



I have a single R in one of the hex boxes at the bottom then all i have to do is press send.

RAY :) ;)


thx ray ... but i could not flash after sending the R ... so I tried to replace the uart...dll and made a full system scan for it (Win 7)... and the search result was, that in Nicohd's great tool "Naze32 AIO" (win: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1667516 ) there is a stmloader (a command line version?) integrated in his GUI ... it works; .hex is selectable, says [updating 1-... s] in a button text while flashing ... this is perfect.
So: solved. :D

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 11:19 am
by LeoWie
@ GPS Task Force :mrgreen: : ... after flashing r209 I saw, that there is a change in the GUI: now there is 'ANGLE' + 'HORIZON' ... and my 3 [ACC] toggles where not set after upgrading + loading the (old) config files ... so take care for ACC = HORIZON (I think [?]). What is ANGLE?

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 12:10 pm
by enots
ANGLE is old ACC mode.
HORIZON something like ACRO (gyro only) but with ACC care.

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 12:27 pm
by timecop
Also please make sure to 'defaults' in CLI after loading latest revision. I think I changed something in settings and maybe forgot to bump config struct version again - on 2 of my test models I got randomized channel MAP as a result, could be other side effects too. Better start off with 'defaults'

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 1:06 pm
by LeoWie
I'm out testing r209. Thx got it. No problems so far...
Edit 1: GPS hold + home works :) Video later.

~~~ Edit 2 ~~~

Test Report r209 Summary:
... it was a windy day (12+km/h ...) and Rabbit GPS on a Naze32 with Test r209 ... WORKS FINE. :)

... and more (sorry @ Rabbit):
The Naze32 GPS Hold + Home (with a Rabbit GPS Module) is better than that from Rabbit FC ever was.
I am ABSOLUTELY SURE in this point, because I have been testing at this location 50+ times with all my copters ... and 3 different Rabbits.

... and after 2 lipos something inside me began to trust in this GPS software + hardware configuration: there was no problem.

In the moment I can not say, if there should be adjustment in some GPS parameters (there was too much wind).
But if there is wind like today I want the setting like it is.

Many thanks to TimeCop + MutliWii + the "GPS Task Force" ;-)

See the test vid (sorry: a wingcam in my mouth only - quality):
http://youtu.be/nPzfuw4eYlA

All data is shared / attached.

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 3:14 pm
by jihlein
I finally upgraded my archaic radios systems, added a Spektrum module to my 20 some odd year old JR PCM10. Planning on using the satellite RX. Where's a good place to pull 3.3 volts off the board to power the satellite?

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 3:21 pm
by timecop
Grab them from the right side of leds (the end closer to edge of board). There's 3.3V there.

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 6:07 pm
by JUERGEN_
LeoWie wrote:... and more (sorry @ Rabbit):
The Naze32 GPS Hold + Home (with a Rabbit GPS Module) is better than that from Rabbit FC ever was.
I am ABSOLUTELY SURE in this point, because I have been testing at this location 50+ times with all my copters.

... and after 2 lipos something inside me began to trust in this GPS software + hardware configuration: there was no problem.

In the moment I can not say, if there should be adjustment in some GPS parameters (there was too much wind).
But if there is wind like today I want the setting like it is.

Many thanks to TimeCop + MutliWii + the "GPS Task Force" ;-)


on the cheerful rabbit hunting. :mrgreen:
.

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 6:37 pm
by LeoWie
JUERGEN_ wrote:...
on the cheerful rabbit hunting. :mrgreen:
.

... ja - but do not shoot at the Rabbit GPS Modules please. :lol:

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 7:14 pm
by JUERGEN_
LeoWie wrote:... ja - but do not shoot at the Rabbit GPS Modules please. :lol:

is not it the same μ-BLOX-6 - NEO-6M chip as here :?:
:arrow: http://www.rctimer.com/index.php?gOo=go ... oductname=

.

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 7:30 pm
by LeoWie
JUERGEN_ wrote:
LeoWie wrote:... ja - but do not shoot at the Rabbit GPS Modules please. :lol:

is not it the same μ-BLOX-6 - NEO-6M chip as here :?:
:arrow: http://www.rctimer.com/index.php?gOo=go ... oductname=

.


... there is a label "ublox Neo 6M 0 001" on the Rabbit GPS I used, so I think yes - the same chipset.
(but the Rabbit module looks different: http://www.goodluckbuy.com/rabbit-gps-r ... oller.html ).

... and in some days I will test http://www.goodluckbuy.com/crius-cn-06- ... odule.html .

PS: pic of Rabbit GPS added in my prev post.

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 7:42 pm
by copterrichie
JUERGEN_ wrote:
LeoWie wrote:... ja - but do not shoot at the Rabbit GPS Modules please. :lol:

is not it the same μ-BLOX-6 - NEO-6M chip as here :?:
:arrow: http://www.rctimer.com/index.php?gOo=go ... oductname=

.


Just Curious, is this the same unit from a difference source?

http://dx.com/p/cn-06-gps-receiver-supe ... 6&u=149340

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 8:01 pm
by JUERGEN_
copterrichie wrote:
JUERGEN_ wrote:is not it the same μ-BLOX-6 - NEO-6M chip as here :?:
:arrow: http://www.rctimer.com/index.php?gOo=go ... oductname=

Just Curious, is this the same unit from a difference source?
http://dx.com/p/cn-06-gps-receiver-supe ... 6&u=149340

no problem.
:arrow: http://www.u-blox.com/images/downloads/ ... 005%29.pdf
:arrow: http://www.u-blox.com/images/downloads/ ... 007%29.pdf

;)

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 1:24 am
by ruffster
With a gps module connected should I expect the 'GPS' to be green in multiwiiconf (yellow arrow in pic) - I'm guessing not and that it's a case of waiting for a lock to see any confirmation within multiwiiconf that gps is working?

not sure if I've got the tx and rx the right way round and can't get a lock indoors...
gps.jpg

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 1:49 am
by timecop
Doesn't look like you're even connected in that pic, but yes, if GPS was detected (i.e. its receiving nmea/ubx/whatever data at the rate specified in settings) then GPS would be green and the NSEW compass mark would blink at the rate the data is coming (5Hz if it was configured as such). If you messed up rx/tx, if baudrate for gps_type=0 is wrong, etc, it wouldn't detect it and gpb box would be unlit.

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:33 am
by hinkel
Could it be possible in CLI to switch Gps input from channel 3 and 4 to channel 7 and 8 because i would like utilise my PWM receiver that have not accessible CPPM signal ?

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:35 am
by timecop
This is done already.
Just enable GPS with PWM receiver, and channels3/4 go to GPS, the rest work as usual.

So you have CH 1 2 5 6 7 8, connect them to A, E, T, R, AUX1, AUX2.

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:52 am
by hinkel
i did not know that ! thanks
is then command in CLI like this :
# feature GPS
# map EATR2156

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 7:54 am
by timecop
No, no changes to MAP command. The channels are just skipped. You won't have AUX3+4
It might not be so clear, but 1234 in map command is NOT the channel order, its the order of aux channels.
The actual order is the way pins are connected.

so map AETR1234 means RC1 = A, RC2 = E, RC5 = AUX1, RC6 = AUX2, etc.

so in PWM+GPS mode, you will have RC1,2,5,6,7,8 usable -> channel mapping will stil be same
AETR12 = RC1 = A, RC2 = E, RC5 = T, RC6 = R, RC7+8 = AUX1/2.

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 8:19 am
by hinkel
Ok that was confuse for me !

in CLI it is
# feature GPS
# save

and there is no change with AETR1234 ( i have Futaba )
Thanks a lot Timecop and witch GPS will you recommend me to work with Naze32 ?

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 8:45 am
by timecop
yes. no other changes.
any standard serial gps will work.
rctimer cn06 seems cheap.
works with gps_type=2.

you do need to upgrade to latest dev firmware.

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 9:31 am
by JUERGEN_
timecop wrote:Just enable GPS with PWM receiver, and channels3/4 go to GPS, the rest work as usual.
So you have CH 1 2 5 6 7 8, connect them to A, E, T, R, AUX1, AUX2.

timecop wrote:yes. no other changes.
any standard serial gps will work.
rctimer cn06 seems cheap.
works with gps_type=2.

would not be an update of the manual a good idea :?:
- http://www.abusemark.com/downloads/naze32_rev1.pdf

;)

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 9:50 am
by ruffster
I'm missing the obvious somewhere - please kick in the right direction...

First I've set my gps module via minigps software to 5Hz and 115200 and can see it outputting stuff:
Screen Shot 2012-09-09 at 09.09.30.png

Flashed the latest firmware, into cli to set all my usual settings + feature gps. Defaults of gps_type=0 & 115200. Save everything, unplug copter from pc.
Power up quad (gps module powered by one of the f20a esc bec's). Plug in the usb, open the com port in multiwiiconf and the GPS isn't showing. So close port, disconnect and power everything down and swap tx/rx cable going from module to naze32. Power up, connect usb and open in multiwiiconf and still nothing. I've repeated this with gps_type = 2 and still nothing.
Screen Shot 2012-09-09 at 09.33.46.png

20120909_093524.jpg

Am I missing a step somewhere or do I need to change the stuff being sent by the module?

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 9:55 am
by hinkel
timecop wrote:yes. no other changes.
any standard serial gps will work.
rctimer cn06 seems cheap.
works with gps_type=2.

you do need to upgrade to latest dev firmware.


Thanks Timecop for your Fast replys this is fine ;) :) :)

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 10:05 am
by timecop
@y6 guy - swap TX. rx?

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 10:34 am
by JUERGEN_
ruffster wrote:Image
Am I missing a step somewhere or do I need to change the stuff being sent by the module?

it is not a good idea, the video-tx
over the GPS antenna.

;)

Another Naze32 Test-Copter ;-)

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 11:00 am
by LeoWie
Project working title:
"Naze32 Micro GPS-Module + KeyCam - Heavy Lifter" :lol:

Axis 160mm (mot. - mot.)
Weight <200g (tow)

Components:
TURNIGY Plush 6A /.8bec/6g Speed Controller
HobbyKing 1612 Brushless Outrunner 3200KV
5030 Propellers (Red + Black)
Turnigy nano-tech 850mah 2S 25~40C Lipo Pack (... max. ~ 1300 mAh)
DSM2 6Ch 2.4Ghz RX

Frame:
8 CFK round 2mm, l=250mm + some extra (RX ...)
1 CFK plate 0,7mm, 55 x 55mm,
8 Wood 4x4mm l=50mm, painted black,
100 cable ties 100x2,5mm black (do NOT glue the cable ties @ the motors),
... some cm of a bicycle racing hose ;-)

Maiden Flight Video:
http://youtu.be/5CWISUnl2hA

Maiden + GPS test report:
- Maiden Flight: was very good, just yaw's P maybe a little too high (had no time too change it on the field, ... too dark).
- GPS test PWM receiver r212 development test-version:
GPS Hold: workes fine, just a little param tuning to do (have to learn what params to change first ... makes circles / spirals closer to the desired point ~ o.k.).
GPS Home: there is a bug I think: copter begins to turn to one side (left) and has some problems when crossing the point ... looks like copter gets confused data sometimes: wants to yaw ... had this 5+ times, 3 times I had 3 harder landings when testing GPS Home (remark: with a copter like this / < 200g I think we have to redefine the word 'crash' to 'falling down softly' or something like this: there was no damage, even no props. I think it's close to the point where the feather effect takes place). Possibly it has to do with the a little too high Yaw P(?) ... problem: it was a copter maiden + GPS test in one.
Never a problem when GPS switched off ... and the new Baro / Height Hold works fine.

~~~ edit 2012-09-10 ~~~
Test report for r213: exactly like r212

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 1:14 pm
by ruffster
timecop wrote:@y6 guy - swap TX. rx?

Tried that with gps_type=0 and gps_type=2 - any other suggestions - or should I just get another module ;)

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 1:47 pm
by timecop
What exactly module is it? MTK? or else why would you be trying type2?
If you configured it for 115200 and it actually STORES that setting and it outputs GPGGA and GPRMC by default, it should work.

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 1:58 pm
by ruffster
This one: http://www.flytron.com/osd-headtrackers/15-simpleosd-gps-module.html
It stores the 5hz - 115200 setting, I can cycle power and reconnect via mini gps at 115200 and see it outputting stuff...

Re: Naze32 hardware discussion thread

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 3:07 pm
by timecop
Just tried my MTK (FMP04 breakout from ohararp http://ohararp.com/products.html) which was pre-configured to 115200/10Hz output and it works with gps_type=0 (nmea). By "works" i mean compass blinks and serial data is incoming.

I see something on the flytron page about needing a hack for 3.3V operation, I wonder if that's related?
It's pretty hard to have serial "not work" so I'm going to have to shrug this one off as 'user error' unless someone has better ideas.