Please Help!!! Working with some kids - won't take off

This forum is dedicated to all issues and questions related to your individual setups and configurations
sdalgleish

Please Help!!! Working with some kids - won't take off

Post by sdalgleish »

I am a Destination Imagination team manager (https://www.phaseivengr.com/wp-content/ ... anager.pdf) and I'm working with a group of 8th grade kids. They built a drone for an upcoming competition and we can't get it to fly. They put a huge amount of work into this and I don't want to see them fail. They asked me to get them some "expert help".

They used the plans for an arduino MultiWii drone from YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PO7R_S7OfTs

It is an Arduino quadcopter drone using MultiWii and a gyro+accelerometer chip.

They made lots of mistakes building it - but as far as I can tell - they have addressed all of them. I am a non-practicing electrical engineer and I've dabbled with electric RC planes and I'm a pretty good technical troubleshooter - but I'm now stuck too.

The problem they are having now is just getting it to take-off. They previously could get it to get off the ground - but then if flipped over. (We found that the gyro board was 180 degrees in the wrong orientation - and fixed that). Then it would spin when it took off - and they fixed that props that were not correct for counter-rotation.

Now, when they power-up the drone, the motors oscillate when the throttle stick is not touched. If they let it sit, one or two of the props will stop turning completely.
This happens when no mode is selected (all mode boxes are blank) and when the Angle mode (3 angle boxes checked) under Aux1.