How do I change the Channel values in code?

This forum is dedicated to all issues and questions related to your individual setups and configurations
Spacenaut

How do I change the Channel values in code?

Post by Spacenaut »

I'm new to this and I'm trying to use multiwii with bluetooth. Rather than connecting the bluetooth to multiwii through ppm, I'd rather have it independent and be able to change the value of the channels (Throttle,yaw,roll,pitch etc) through software but I cant find a way to edit the channel variables. Could someone please help me with this.
Last edited by Spacenaut on Tue May 12, 2015 12:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

Cereal_Killer

Re: How do I change the Channel values in software?

Post by Cereal_Killer »

I'm afraid you're confused about what BT is used for on multiwii...

BT connects to the serial port and is used for configuring / setup / telemetry, no RC data is transmitted from the phone over BT and into the MW. Also there's no way to get a PPM steam out of the BT module.

MaxTakeoff

Post by MaxTakeoff »

IIUC you want to use bluetooth to transmit the RC controls, like using a PS3 controller to fly the copter? I think the bluetooth range is only about 30ft, is that going to be a problem for you? If not, I think the default sketch reads the rx information on pins 2,4,5,6 for throttle, ailerons, elevators and yaw, you would have to alter it to instead read the values sent over bluetooth. Sorry, I have quickly reached the edge of my knowledgebase but you probably need to search through the whole sketch to find where the rc inputs are defined.
I just had a quick look in MW version 2.0 that I am gaining familiarity with and found this in the MultiWii_2_0 file,
/*********** RC alias *****************/
#define ROLL 0
#define PITCH 1
#define YAW 2
#define THROTTLE 3
#define AUX1 4
#define AUX2 5
#define AUX3 6
#define AUX4 7