My First Multirotor, Comments Requested

This forum is dedicated to all issues and questions related to your individual setups and configurations
Autonym

My First Multirotor, Comments Requested

Post by Autonym »

Hey folks,

I've started!

Many boxes filled with tiny electronics from exotic and far-flung places like Shenzhen, Texas, and California have found their way to my home. I've been busy with soldering iron and electrical tape assembling these items into something I hope someday will fly. I have made a chronology of my experiences here: Tree Dodger.

NOTE: I'm a complete newbie at this, so please, please, comment on my set-up, my selected components, posts from my blog, everything - I really don't know what I'm doing, and I'm sorta smashing things together until something works.

I intend on doing this in phases, to get my footing, so to speak, and also give my pocketbook a break. For things I provide a URL for, I've already purchased. For things I'm still needing to buy, I have a (TODO) after them. Suggestions for TODO items is greatly appreciated:

Phase 1 - Basic Frame, Visual Flight:
Genuine DJI Flame Wheel F450 ARF (2212/950 kv motors, 10x4.5 props, 30A ESC's) (Assembled)
Crius AOIP V2 Flight Control Board with ATMega 2560-16AU (Assembled)
Crius CO-16 OLED Display (Functional)
Crius AIOPIO Board (Assembled)
RCTimer Voltage & Current Sensor 90A (Installed, not Integrated)
RC Hobby 7A U-BEC UBEC (Assembled)
RCTimer AVDome Protection AntiVibration Dome (Partially Assembled, Pending Completion)
FlySky TH9X 9 Channel Radio with 8-Channel Receiver (Functional)
4000 mAh 30C 3S LiPo Batteries (Need Power Lead Adapter)

Phase 2 - Add First Person View Flight + GPS Autopilot + Telemetry:
Crius CN-06 GPS V2 (Need To Reflash to Correct Baudrate)
RCTimer MAVLink-OSD V1.0 (Pending)
433Mhz Radio Telemetry Kit (Pending)
Decent Low-Light Camera (TODO)
Decent Video Goggles (TODO)
Video Downlink (TODO)
3000 mAh 30C 3S LiPo Batteries (TODO)