How to use Serial Ports 1, 2, 3

This forum is dedicated to all issues and questions related to your individual setups and configurations
Post Reply
Nicksdesign
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 6:49 am

How to use Serial Ports 1, 2, 3

Post by Nicksdesign »

I have a 2560 based FC and would like to be able to have a bluetooth module connected to serial 1, GPS to serial 2, and an OSD connected to serial 3. The release notes for 2.2 say that it is possible to use all serial ports for a GUI connection. I've went through config.h and I can see how to define a serial port for a GPS and a LCD config module, but nothing about how to use the other serial ports for a GUI type use. I would like to retain serial 0 for programing and USB GUI connection.

So, could someone help?

Nick

crashlander
Posts: 506
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 8:13 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: How to use Serial Ports 1, 2, 3

Post by crashlander »

Hello!
All serial ports will comunicate with MSP devices by default (nothing to set). Only thing you can change per port is its baud if you need to use device that is not 115200bps compatible.

Regards
Andrej

Nicksdesign
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 6:49 am

Re: How to use Serial Ports 1, 2, 3

Post by Nicksdesign »

Thanks for that. I wondered if that was the case. Now I know.

Nick

User avatar
jevermeister
Posts: 708
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 8:56 am
Contact:

Re: How to use Serial Ports 1, 2, 3

Post by jevermeister »

Similar Question here:

I use a Flyduino Mega and I cosntantly use a Mobidrone OSD on the serial port that connects to ftdi, and have to disconnect it in order to connect ftdi.
I also use GPS on Serial2 (White connector) and use a serial3 for the sum input of my RX.

Although I am not using the GPS most of the time, the port does not seem wot work with OSB while GPS is compiled in the code
Is there a way to use FTDI/GPS/OSB while using sumPPM?



Nils

just4einstein
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 3:16 pm

Re: How to use Serial Ports 1, 2, 3

Post by just4einstein »

similar question,

I use
serial 1 for s-bus
serial 2 for gps
nice to have serial 3 for minimosd.

how to change osd-port serial1 to serial3 ???

Louis

just4einstein
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 3:16 pm

Re: How to use Serial Ports 1, 2, 3

Post by just4einstein »

additional:
how to change osd-port serial1 to serial3 on Multiwii V2.3 ???

User avatar
Hamburger
Posts: 2562
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 2:14 pm
Location: air
Contact:

Re: How to use Serial Ports 1, 2, 3

Post by Hamburger »

If it uses msp you simply connect it and it should just work.

just4einstein
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 3:16 pm

Re: How to use Serial Ports 1, 2, 3

Post by just4einstein »

Thanx, the minimOSD is working now on Serial3 on Crius AIO V2.

It was working on serial0, not on serial3.
The problem was the KV-Team-Software on osd. After uploading again, reset all, it's working on serial3.

Louis

Post Reply