True beginner here, please help!

dazboh

True beginner here, please help!

Post by dazboh »

Hi guys,

I am completely new to everything Arduino/Multiwii/Quadcopters/RC..... I only discovered the idea of making my own quadcopter through reading about the Arduino.

Since deciding I want to make my own, I have read and read and read about it. To make the basic drone, seems fairly simple however, if I am going to build one, I want a camera on it, GPS, return to home, FPV etc. Again, the theory doesn't seem too complicated, but getting it all together and working seems to be. I have been bamboozled with various different ways to do this and now I am just lost!

My first idea was to use my Arduino Uno/Nano, then buy the accellerometer/magnetometer/barometer addon card (9dof? MP6050 off the top of my head?), get a GPS addon such as a Ublox 6m GPS. Then I realised I need something like the Multiwii so that I can use the Multiwii software to tune the controls. But, things have become confusing now so are any of these setups correct? -

1) Arduino Uno + Multiwii (which type?) + Ublox (+4 x ESCs with BEC, 4 x 10" props, 4 x Brushless motors, 2 x 3700mah Zippy Lipo Batts 3s, Frame, Gopro Gimble with 2 servos-self levelling, Tx/Rx unit Multiwii/arduino software)
2) JUST Multiwii MEGA All in one, + Ublox (or similar), (+4 x ESCs with BEC, 4 x 10" props, 4 x Brushless motors, 2 x 3700mah Zippy Lipo Batts 3s, Frame, Gopro Gimble with 2 servos-self levelling, Tx/Rx unit, Multiwii/arduino software)
3) Arduino Uno/Nano + MP6050 + Ublox (or similar) + Multiwii /Arduino IDE software.

If I just use the Arduino with the MP6050, then where can I get hold of the code for it so that it includes GPS return to home functions as well?

In the end, this was an Arduino project for me so I am happy to use my arduino.

Thanks very much in advance

Darren

dazboh

Re: True beginner here, please help!

Post by dazboh »

More info -

Here is my parts list so far -

Motors: 4x FC 28-22 (1200kv)