MultiWii 328p - proper way to attach remote control

Izhido

MultiWii 328p - proper way to attach remote control

Post by Izhido »

Hello everyone!

Recently I got interested in RC vehicles, specifically quadcopters. I wanted to build one by myself, and in the meantime attempt to understand how the various components work and interact with each other. I have never done anything like this before, so this is an all-new experience to me.

I went to this page: http://yameb.blogspot.com/2013/05/my-first-quadrotor-parts-selection-and.html (which I know now it's incomplete and a bit outdated), and then to Amazon to buy most of those components - or ones that match closely the ones mentioned: the frame, 4 motors + ESCs w/linear BECs, a MultiWii 328p, a 2200mAh 3S battery, a so-called "balanced" battery charger, the power distribution board, a battery low voltage alarm, you know, the whole package (or so I thought).

I then went and started reading about how all those components work, while waiting for the components to arrive. I learned about brushless motors and the PWM mechanism used by ESCs. It was a real surprise for me to find out that the flight controller is actually powered by the ESCs, if correctly wired. A few hours ago, I learned about how to calibrate the whole system using MultiWiiConf.

Then it hit me.

I can build and wire the quadcopter, I can configure the flight controller, and I can calibrate the whole thing. However, I completely forgot to provide a way to send commands remotely to the vehicle!

I've trying to find out for a while about this, to no avail. Either my google-fu skills are meh, or I'm not asking the correct questions. I'm at a loss about what to do to integrate somehow a remote control to the board, wirelessly or otherwise.