Flight data recording

Christian

Flight data recording

Post by Christian »

Hello there,

I am quite new with programing but I want to use my Multiwii board to record Flight data from my flights. So I wonder if it is a good idea to safe the attitude and some I2C data on the board's EPROM memory or better to safe it in an external EPROM or other.

Also I already tryed to read what's in the EPROM memory following the Arduino tutorials, but it seems that there is a problem using Arduino´s Serial library to print the data on the serial monitor. As soon as I put in loop any Serial comand the sketch wont work.

As I said, I am very new in this :oops:

Thanks for any help!!!

Hamburger

Re: Flight data recording

Post by Hamburger »

eeprom is only 1k or 2k, so very limited for collecting inflight data for analysis.
Some new boards come with more storage or sd-card socket but MWii has no interfacing code yet? If it is not too much data, you can send it over serial-wireless to another device and record data there.

for eeprom and serial handling in MWii, you can look at the PERMANENT_LOG implementation. Could get you started.

QuadBow

Post by QuadBow »

Hamburger wrote:Some new boards come with more storage or sd-card socket but MWii has no interfacing code yet?

Currently, I am thinking and testing to implement a sd-card logger. The access to the sd-card is quite slow, so it will not support a sample rate of 3ms.
My idea is to integrate the sd-card to an i2c-gps device, because there are nearly 200ms time between two gps frames at a frequency of 5Hz.

Unfortunately, I am still struggling since the sd-lib does not seem to be compatible with the twi code used.
Is there someone else who has already developed a solution?

Christian

Post by Christian »