multiwii offset board position - not centrally mounted

scanman

multiwii offset board position - not centrally mounted

Post by scanman »

if I use a multiwii mounted on a qaud copter in an offset position (i.e. to the left side) or mounted on one of the arms do i have to change any settings in the code?

xoxota

Re: multiwii offset board position - not centrally mounted

Post by xoxota »

I'm no expert, but at a guess, I'd say your Yaw calibration would probably be way off. I think it's best if you place the board as close to the CofG as possible, (whether that's at the center of the airframe or not is not really relevant).

For example, if you'r flying a Quad in "plus" mode, and you have the board way out on the right-hand arm, yawing left will generate a "forward" signal on the ACC, and yawing right will generate a "backward" signal on the ACC.

Rolling left would generate an "up" signal on the ACC, whereas rolling right would generate a "down" signal. You would need to rewrite the signal processing code to ignore these (in your case) irrelevant inputs. And the strength of these signals would vary according to the distance of your board from the CofG.

Supporting variable geometries like this is an interesting and tricky problem. For the most part, the MultiWii code gets around it by assuming that your board placement is at or near the CofG

*disclaimer: I'm making a lot of assumptions here, so someone please correct me if I'm wrong.

EDIT: You could maybe move the CofG closer to the board by moving the battery under the board (ie: the more "heavy stuff" nearer to the board). But that wouldn't solve the problem completely.

jevermeister

Post by jevermeister »

doesn't matter for the gyros. the angular velocity stays the same.

scanman

Post by scanman »