Does ACC get disabled under high stick movements?

Re: Does ACC get disabled under high stick movements?

Postby PatrikE » Mon Aug 20, 2012 4:41 pm

I uploaded it in _shared.
It's a mode suitable for Arial Photography and i named it....
/************************ AP FlightMode **********************************/
/* Temporarily Disables GPS_HOLD_MODE to be make it possible to adjust the Hold-position when moving the sticks.*/
//#define AP_MODE 10 // Create a deadspan for GPS.

It disables.
Baro and GPS modes

@ crashlander
Can you verify the function?
PatrikE
 
Posts: 1948
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:35 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Does ACC get disabled under high stick movements?

Postby Alexinparis » Tue Aug 21, 2012 10:08 am

PatrikE wrote:
I have tested the HORIZON mode.
I like the mode for flying around.
Then it works fine.

But i don't like the behaivor when i do a flip in one axis.
Once it's tilted over 90 degrees it starts compensate for the other axis.
Result...
It will return in level but 180 degrees rotated.
Can be cofusing when you suddenly face it nose in after recovery.

Maby it can be combined with ahe acrotrainer to shut of the other axis to?


Ok, I understand why.
The proportion factor should depend on the max of both axis and should not be a per axis view. I will change this.
Alexinparis
 
Posts: 1630
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 9:07 pm

Re: Does ACC get disabled under high stick movements?

Postby crashlander » Tue Aug 21, 2012 11:07 am

@PatrikE
Today I briefly tested (one pack only) r1072 and AP_MODE and it works as expected.
Only change I made to code is to disable disabling :) f.BARO_MODE=0. If alt hold is properly tuned it can be used in slow FF (or in any direction) and can be useful for FPV.

Regards Andrej
crashlander
 
Posts: 506
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 8:13 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: Does ACC get disabled under high stick movements?

Postby crashlander » Tue Sep 25, 2012 7:24 am

@PatrikE
After "uber cool" mahowik's implementation of ALT. HOLD. I believe it is a shame to turn it off (ever) :) when AP_MODE kicks in so it is probably better to remove disabling f.BARO_MODE with AP_MODE in default code (or at least make it configurable in define.h).

Regards Andrej
crashlander
 
Posts: 506
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 8:13 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: Does ACC get disabled under high stick movements?

Postby PatrikE » Tue Sep 25, 2012 7:56 am

I'll loo at it.;)

Have the new ALT. HOLD been imlemented in _shared yet?
PatrikE
 
Posts: 1948
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:35 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Does ACC get disabled under high stick movements?

Postby crashlander » Tue Sep 25, 2012 8:11 am

Alexinparis ported/reimplemented... it in _shared with r1122...
crashlander
 
Posts: 506
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 8:13 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: Does ACC get disabled under high stick movements?

Postby PatrikE » Tue Sep 25, 2012 8:16 am

Cool I'lll test it later today. <:o)
PatrikE
 
Posts: 1948
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:35 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Does ACC get disabled under high stick movements?

Postby Termic1 » Tue Oct 09, 2012 7:51 pm

crashlander wrote:@PatrikE
After "uber cool" mahowik's implementation of ALT. HOLD. I believe it is a shame to turn it off (ever) :) when AP_MODE kicks in so it is probably better to remove disabling f.BARO_MODE with AP_MODE in default code (or at least make it configurable in define.h).

Regards Andrej


AP_MODE is a good idea and it is working properly. Thanks a lot to the developers of this nice function.
I've tested it in rel r1129 and r1143.
Too bad that it disables BARO too. It should temporarily disable only GPS HOLD and not ALT HOLD. With the new Mahowik implementation GPS HOLD and ALT HOLD together make the multicopter pretty still in stable flight but if I move the multicopter just a little with the sticks it changes altitude drammatically.

Is there a way to disable this behaviour?

Luciano
Termic1
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 11:14 am

Re: Does ACC get disabled under high stick movements?

Postby PatrikE » Tue Oct 09, 2012 8:05 pm

Search for AP_MODE in multiwii.ino
Code: Select all
  #if defined(AP_MODE)
    if(f.ANGLE_MODE || f.HORIZON_MODE){
      if (abs(rcCommand[ROLL])>= AP_MODE || abs(rcCommand[PITCH]) >= AP_MODE) {
        f.BARO_MODE=0;
        f.GPS_HOME_MODE=0;
        f.GPS_HOLD_MODE=0;
      }
    }
  #endi

Comment or remove f.BARO_MODE=0;.

Should maby be removed in _shared.
PatrikE
 
Posts: 1948
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:35 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Does ACC get disabled under high stick movements?

Postby Termic1 » Tue Oct 09, 2012 8:14 pm

PatrikE wrote:Search for AP_MODE in multiwii.ino
Code: Select all
  #if defined(AP_MODE)
    if(f.ANGLE_MODE || f.HORIZON_MODE){
      if (abs(rcCommand[ROLL])>= AP_MODE || abs(rcCommand[PITCH]) >= AP_MODE) {
        f.BARO_MODE=0;
        f.GPS_HOME_MODE=0;
        f.GPS_HOLD_MODE=0;
      }
    }
  #endi

Comment or remove f.BARO_MODE=0;.

Should maby be removed in _shared.


GREAT! thank you! I'm going to test it tomorrow!

Luciano
Termic1
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 11:14 am

Re: Does ACC get disabled under high stick movements?

Postby PatrikE » Wed Oct 10, 2012 12:08 pm

f.BARO_MODE=0 is now removed from _shared. r_1179
PatrikE
 
Posts: 1948
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:35 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Does ACC get disabled under high stick movements?

Postby Termic1 » Wed Oct 10, 2012 5:07 pm

PatrikE wrote:Search for AP_MODE in multiwii.ino
Code: Select all
  #if defined(AP_MODE)
    if(f.ANGLE_MODE || f.HORIZON_MODE){
      if (abs(rcCommand[ROLL])>= AP_MODE || abs(rcCommand[PITCH]) >= AP_MODE) {
        f.BARO_MODE=0;
        f.GPS_HOME_MODE=0;
        f.GPS_HOLD_MODE=0;
      }
    }
  #endi

Comment or remove f.BARO_MODE=0;.


Tested today.
Commented the BARO line and now AP mode together with GPS Hold and ALT Hold works great!!
Thanks Patrik

Luciano
Termic1
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 11:14 am

Re: Does ACC get disabled under high stick movements?

Postby p25o1 » Tue Oct 16, 2012 3:28 am

i used acrotraining mode some time back , and i really enjoyed the flips,

can we now assign it to aux channel in the gui ?

if not will it behave in this way

if i activate it , will it only work in angle mode, and will it be disabled if i switch to horizon mode ?

thx
p25o1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 3:19 pm

Re: Does ACC get disabled under high stick movements?

Postby crashlander » Tue Oct 16, 2012 9:15 am

At least in r1184 ACROTRAINER_MODE will activate only in ANGLE_MODE and not in Horizon mode, which makes sense since Horizon mode is acro enabled by design.

Code: Select all
 #if defined(ACROTRAINER_MODE)
    if(f.ANGLE_MODE){...


Regards Andrej
crashlander
 
Posts: 506
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 8:13 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: Does ACC get disabled under high stick movements?

Postby Tizzy » Wed Oct 24, 2012 10:21 am

wilco1967 wrote:
Alexinparis wrote:Sorry Patrik,

But I ask you to unmerge it.
We can't add new things during the consolidation step to 2.1


The good news is.... I got it working from the transmitter (ER9X), so no need to change any multiwii code if you're the lucky owner of a reflashed 9X....

To just fly around it's a bitch, but for doing flips it's amazing.... in a moment of desorientation, you don't need to find your level switch as before. just let go of the sticks, and voilla :o all sorted.

I tried it today, and it spun so violently, it must have sheared a motor off in flight (or a prop blade broke off in flight.... not sure what happened first).... I only fixed the motors with tyraps to the arms, so they can break off easily in a crash rather than bending a shaft.... Anyway.... with this acro/level trick, I was confident it would sort itself out no matter what mess I made...
It did work fine multiple times, until the motor/prop came off..... no level mode is going to safe that :roll:
Damage: 1 prop, 2 bend arms (already bend back), and a 16 tyraps.... (the resulting crash took all motors off) :roll:

I programmed the Tx, so levelmode = active (my CH6 mid = level mode on) when |roll| < 10, and |pitch|<10, and RUD switch = on (so I can enable/disable this function), OR THR switch on (this is my 'normal' level mode switch.
.
.
.

EDIT...
Zip works, thanks PatrikE

The interesting part is under switches (in eepe)
in this configuration, channel 6 at mid (1500) enables level mode
All the other channels are my defaults.... yours are probably different....

Originally, my THR switch (the large one left bottom corner) would enable level mode.
The RUD switch (above it) is now used to 'enable' this 'acro trainer' feature.
The first line of the logic checks if elevator (pitch) is smaller than +/- 10 %.
The second line does the same for aileron (roll)
the 3rd line combines both of them
the 4rd line checks if the RUD switch is on.... if not on, all the above has no effect. (you can change the RUD switch to whatever switch you prefer)
the 5th line is used to enable LEVEL mode either on above (sticks within 10% from centre, AND 'RUD' switch on), OR your normal LEVEL switch (THR in my case).

So if SW5 (line5) is true, level mode must be on.

in your mixes, just replace the physical switch you're normally using for level mode, with the SW5 logic switch.

Test thoroughly your configuration before flying.... Don't blame me if you crash it ;)
This looks like it could be excellent but opening the eepe file just gives an error "cannot open General settinggs from eepe file". Perhaps I'm not opening it properly (File\open) or perhaps it needs an older version of the eepe executable? The general settings are stored in an eepg file, perhaps that's something to be loaded from somewhere else? All help appreciated.

EDIT
Found it, the contained file has an .eepe extension. Renaming it to .eepm allows it to be opened properly.
Tizzy
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 7:15 pm

Re: Does ACC get disabled under high stick movements?

Postby PatrikE » Wed Oct 24, 2012 10:27 am

I always read the eeprom from TX to have the latest changes iw'e made when flying.
Save to disc as a backup with the date in name.
modify and upload back to the TX.
Never save a untested eeprom as backup!
It can bite your back next time you test it!...;)
PatrikE
 
Posts: 1948
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:35 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Does ACC get disabled under high stick movements?

Postby jy0933 » Sat Feb 23, 2013 7:52 pm

it works really well.... one thing that bothers me a bit is if i want to use this quad.. i'll have to re upload fw to disable the feature

it will be awesome if it becomes a optional mode in gui... like alt hold, arm.. so we can change it to regular use?


:)
jy0933
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 4:24 pm

Next

Return to General discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron