Page 1 of 1
How do I calibrate the channels on my TX?
Posted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 3:24 am
by shaymus
When I look at the GUI, all my channels are centered around 1500. However, the minimum values I get are around 1200 and the max is around 1800. I can't arm the control board unless I use the trims to lower the throttle and increase the yaw to the right. I am also not able to disarm the board / motors.
I've tried to increase the travel on my radio (Hitec Aurora) to 150%, but that does not have any effect. Is this something that I need to edit in the sketch?
Thanks!
Re: How do I calibrate the channels on my TX?
Posted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:20 am
by PatrikE
If you can't fix it in the radio.
Modify in Multiwii Tab.
Code: Select all
// ******************
// rc functions
// ******************
#define MINCHECK 1100
#define MAXCHECK 1900
Re: How do I calibrate the channels on my TX?
Posted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 5:06 am
by shaymus
Thanks, I'll try that next. Will that one setting apply to all the channels, or do I need to do that for each?
Re: How do I calibrate the channels on my TX?
Posted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 5:12 am
by shaymus
I just checked and this is what is in the sketch and uploaded to my WMC:
// ******************
// rc functions
// ******************
#define MINCHECK 1100
#define MAXCHECK 1900
When I have the GUI loaded I can only see values between 1200 and 1800.
Re: How do I calibrate the channels on my TX?
Posted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 5:44 am
by PatrikE
Try to set 1250 & 1750.
It will apply on all channels.
Re: How do I calibrate the channels on my TX?
Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 6:31 pm
by shaymus
This worked, and after some experimentation, it seems that the lowest value I can use that still arms the board is 1150.
Now, however, I have another problem. When the board arms, the motors spin up and I can't make them stop unless I disarm the board. No amount of down trim on the throttle has an effect.
If I plug the speed controllers directly into the receiver, it operates normally.
Another issue I have is the one of the motors is making more power than the others. I have recalibrated the ESCs but that does not have any effect. Any ideas? See attached image.
Thanks in advance.
Re: How do I calibrate the channels on my TX?
Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:56 pm
by KeesvR
This is normal, you can use the motorstop function to stop the motors at low throttle.
/* motors will not spin when the throttle command is in low position
this is an alternative method to stop immediately the motors */
#define MOTOR_STOP
Re: How do I calibrate the channels on my TX?
Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 11:02 pm
by shaymus
That worked, thanks!
Getting closer. It flies ok. Need to tune now.