MultiWii Lite 1.0 no header pins

snbarry19

MultiWii Lite 1.0 no header pins

Post by snbarry19 »

Hi all,

I'm new to multirotors and the forum and I've a couple of questions to help me on my way to complete my first Quadcopter build. I purchased a MultiWii Lite 1.0 FC board w/ FTDI from Hobby King but it came without the header pins soldered to the board nor any documentation (should have paid more close attention and explains why it was so cheap). It does have the FTDI pins on the board though. Details of the particular FC can be found at http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__27109__MultiWii_Lite_V1_0_Flight_Controller_w_FTDI.html

Anyway, here are my questions:

1. Do I have to solder all the pins to the board as per http://img.dxcdn.com/productimages/sku_177025_1.jpg? Or can I "get away" with less? Any tips or tricks to make it less painful?
2. Regarding wiring up the FC to RX (Turnigy XR7000), as I understand it, only one servo lead needs to provide power to RX. For the rest of the connections, I only have 3-pin male-to-male servo leads, should snip the + and - and just leave signal or it is possible to turn the leads "sideways" (think I read that somewhere). If anyone has a link to an image of the RX and FC wiring and connections for the Lite 1.0 board I'd greatly appreciate it.

If I've left any details out, please ask away and I'll clarify. Thanks in advance.

Kbev5709

Re: MultiWii Lite 1.0 no header pins

Post by Kbev5709 »

snbarry19 wrote:1. Do I have to solder all the pins to the board as per http://img.dxcdn.com/productimages/sku_177025_1.jpg? Or can I "get away" with less? Any tips or tricks to make it less painful?