My First Quadrocopter Design

doublemind

My First Quadrocopter Design

Post by doublemind »

Hello everybody!

I'm completly new to the world of Multicopters. I got a lot of experience in RC modeling and a little experience in Arduino. I'm absolutly fascinated by those great Multi(Wii)Copters.
Cause I'm a design engineer and own my own cnc mill, I started my first design of a Quardocopter based on the MultiWii enviroment.

light05.jpg

The frame is made of 3mm plywood.

Diagonal distance of the motors is 775mm. The Props have a diameter of 9" ==> 230mm.
I'm not interested in any aerobatics. The only thing i would like to do is, some chilled flying and some nice aerial photos.

For the sensors I used the Wii Motion+ and a nunchuck. Placed both on a "Lochraster" Pcb together with an Arduino Pro Mini.
Yesterday I ordered the battery. 2200mAh 2S 30C. The motors are Turnigy 2830 1000KV. First measurements showed a maximum current of 8-9A per motor.

Kind regards
Carsten

tovrin

Re: My First Quadrocopter Design

Post by tovrin »

nice looking design!

Th0rsten

Post by Th0rsten »

Shouldn't it be 3S?
I tried to fly a 2S - way to slow.

doublemind

Post by doublemind »

Cause I'm not interested in winnig a air race, I hope 2S will be okay.
As far as the thrust will be enough. ;)
Some images of current status. Awaiting the middle part before the end of the week.

20111105_12_43_5.jpg

20111105_12_42_4.jpg

20111105_09_48_3.jpg

20111105_09_45_1.jpg

greets Carsten

PatrikE

Post by PatrikE »

2S vs 3S...

With 2S the throttle position for hovering will be close to full throw.
With 3S the throttle position for hovering will be around midstick.

2S will give wery little spare power to compensation.

/Patrik

Th0rsten

Post by Th0rsten »

Nice FC. Did it almost the same way. :)
Used an Arduino Mini.
BTW: Do only connect 1x ESC to supply 5V and leave the others unconnected.
Attachments
shield.JPG

zviratko

Post by zviratko »