HK Talon.

Andy7

HK Talon.

Post by Andy7 »

Does anyone else have problems with the motor mounts / 'talons' twisting after a heavy landing? I'm forever having to adjust mine. I'm a little afraid of crushing the carbon fibre tubes with the brackets if I tighten too much.

I can always tell if one goes out of square by the crazy yaw.

Wonder if it might be worth putting a little aluminium collet inside the tube to help me to get a tighter grip.

TheFernMan

HK Talon.

Post by TheFernMan »

Yea it's an issue. Sold mine and went to square tube.

Admeister

Re: HK Talon.

Post by Admeister »

I have been using the talon frame for about 8 months now and, yes it is twisty. I do get the crazy yaw as well after a 'heavy landing'. I found that a drop of ca glue keeps the arms in place but then they snap during a crash. I have tried using aluminium tubes which are even worse. I still replace my arms every month or so. A pain in the rear for sure

cardboard

Post by cardboard »

you can add a layer of thin double sided tape to the boom before clamping the motor mounts on. It wont stop them rotating in a really big hit but it'll help with normal use.

o_lampe

Post by o_lampe »

My Talon came with a set of grub screws to lock the motormounts. I didn't use them and they twisted every now and then. I liked it better that way, than to buy new booms all the time.
I installed a crab landing gear and now twisted motors are history
Before that I had 2 broken motormounts and 2 that were bent. Crappy aluminum quality....
Anyone else had this problem?

nechaus

Post by nechaus »

I don't think its the crappy aluminium... its more the design...

If you have access to a 3d printer, you can make some better motor mounts which cover more surface area on the arms..
Even on my big tarot hex, After a crash i need to double check the motor mounts to make sure they are still aligned.. 9 times out of 10 they are out..